We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good location - Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights.

Firstly - the positive: The location of this hotel is great - close to the main shopping areas of Jerusalem and close enough for a walk to the old city (maybe 20 minutes).

The rooms are well maintained, and the TV is good.

Secondly: Unfortunately, the staff at the hotel are neither enthusiastic or helpful, and tough to get a smile out of them. I wouldn't want to rely on them for some good tourist advice.

The Internet Wi-Fi didn't work for the entire duration of my stay, which was really annoying - especially as this was a reason I selected the hotel - as it had Wi-Fi. I asked the staff on four separate occasions to address this issue and nobody every got back to me an it was not resolved. ( I am writing this from a restaurant)

The breakfast, by any standards was terrible. I stayed ad the similarly priced YMCA Hotel previously which had a magnificent breakfast. This hotel supposed to have a breakfast representing an 'Israeli Breakfast' and it was a scarce smattering of limp looking salads and one egg variation (scrambled). I'd recommend trying the breakfast across the road on the corner which was excellent.

Not a major concern - but the only soap in the bathroom was from a dispenser and they said the dispenser was soap, shampoo and conditioner all at once. I have never heard of such a thing.

I would recommend this hotel only if it was convenient, the price was ok and you didn't really have any expectations of service or a decent breakfast.

Guys - you have to fix this internet issue - I read a similar complaint previously.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you feel you did not get the level of customer service that you expected.
We try hard to give to give the best service we can, and as can be seen from previous reviews, we get plenty of compliments about our staff, but the Israeli style it is not always what people expect..
As for the WIFI in the rooms, there is an ongoing problem that is making us change the entire system in the Hotel; hopefully we will have free WIFI in the rooms by the end of this week.
Thankfully, the WIFI in the lobby is working just fine, and one can get a free laptop at the reception if needed.
Regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
58
102
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed four nights at the Montefiore Hotel. These are my impressions:

The location is excellent. You can easily walk to the old city. If you prefer to take the light rail, the station is only two blocks away. Shatz St is open for pedestrian access only. That means no scooters or horns honking below your room. The shops & cafes of Ben Yehuda street are just about around the corner.

My room was normal-sized and very clean. The bed consisted of two single beds put together. They propably do this for practical and religious reasons due to the changing needs of other guests. The TV is about 32" size and had some English channels. There was plenty of storage space, a small table and a chair. The room also had a safe.

The bathroom was also tidy. Next to the sink there is a dispenser for liquid Dove soap. There was also shower gel inside the shower, a differnt kind.

The breakfast was also nice. Scrambled Eggs (hard boiled on Saturdays), typical fruits & vegetables, pudding, bread and cereals where served.

One really nice ammenity was the free use of their netbook computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A nice simple hotel in the heart of the city. I doubt you can find better value for money in such a location. We didn't have breakfast. Take onto account that Parking is a bit of an issue. The rooms are clean and ample.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice room with a charming view on a small Jerusalem street. Situated in a center of the city, close to the Old Jerusalem. You can even walk or take a tram - just two stops - to get to the heart of old historic district and in the same tame you're not in the middle of the crowd of tourists but in a normal city, where pleople live, go shopping, walk their dogs and have breafasts in small cafes.

Room Tip: with a street view and rather higher than on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon among our returning guests.
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location was good....within walking distance to many shops and cafes.The rooms were clean and breakfast was fine. The hotel looked nice on the outside.

There were so many things that were disappointing.....The staff was not overly friendly and were sparse. The rooms seemed to not have been updated in a long time and were very cramped. The room doors were not exactly high security with only a lock on the door knob and a flimsy chain. While we were there at the end of June 2012, the police were searching for someone and went throughout the hotel knocking on doors. We called the hotel staff after our door had been knocked on and after the police had attempted to open it through the flimsy lock, and they wouldn't give out any information.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, it gives the hotel the opportunity to learn and improve itself .However, I wish that it was posted back in June, when it was relevant.

At the incident with the police that you mentioned, they came to the hotel looking for a person and knocked on doors. It had nothing to do with the hotel, they did not take no for an answer, and there was nothing we could do about it. We are sorry that you were there and for the inconvenience.

As for the rooms- The Montefiore hotel is a 3 star hotel, the room size is big by Israeli standards, and is going through constant renovations and room improvements.

Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our room here was relatively clean in comparison to other places we stayed in Israel. However, we did pay 116 euros per night for a double room with breakfast. There were a few strangely dirty areas - such as the fabric lamp shades in the room, and the back of the bathroom door. The ceiling in the bath/shower area was very low - at 190cm tall (6' 4'') I had to crouch slightly to take a shower.
Reception staff were helpful, but seemed rather clueless. Wireless internet was down for four of the five days that we stayed, and they seemed to have no idea what to do about it.
The breakfast was somewhat meagre, with dreadful coffee. On Shabbat (Saturday) morning it was much more extensive, but on the other four days, limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, the feedback we receive from our guests enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to avoid similar situations in the future.
The internet WIFI has been down for a few days due to a local problem from our internet provider , there was little we could do, however now it is working again as usual, free of charge for our hotel guests.

We apologize for your inconveniance and my best regards,

Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majestic Great Plains
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall, everything about this hotel that one expects in this price range were right on target. Room cleanliness: excellent. Electronics, fixtures, locks: all in working order. Staff: friendly and accommodating. Room size: larger than expected. Bathroom: clean, with a hot and plentiful shower. Those over 6' tall may be have to do some strategic maneuvering in the shower. This hotel omits the traditional toiletries in small bottles in favor of a shower gel. If you stay at another hotel enroute to this one, grab an extra mini bottle of shampoo and bring it along.

This hotel has some great standout points:
Elevator: Some reviewers have pointed out the erratic elevator service on the weekend. This is to honor Jewish tradition, and there is a placard on the elevator explaining this. I have included a photo. Apparently, a number of Israeli hotels do this. You can bypass this by using the stairwell nearby. The hotel is not too tall, so this is not unmanageable.

Transit and location: Just a few blocks away from the Jerusalem Light Rail which is absolutely indispensable. If you're coming from the Malha Mall train station, your best bet is to get a taxi. I echo other reviewers who remind you to ask the cab driver to use the meter. The hotel is on Schatz Street which is a pedestrians only street. This means you will likely have to walk at least 1/2 a block with luggage. The lack of traffic directly in front of the building is nice.

Breakfast: Excellent. The ripe red tomatoes alone deserve an honorable mention. Conspicuously gone are the greasy breakfast meats that Americans have become used to. It took me about 5 seconds to figure out why a Mediterranean menu leads to less heart disease and why Americans (like myself) tend to be...er, heavier.

The Room Key: Old school metal key on a large numbered key ring. Nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.