We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice, kosher hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean, nice, kosher hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. Middlerange. Good price and great location. Took 20 min to walk to Jaffa Gate. Near Jaffa street and the Mall. Nice staff. Breakfast having all the essiantials. Kosher. Quiet in the evenings. Airconditioned and TV on the room. I would stay here again if I return to Jerusalem. I stayed at the hotel August 10-12th 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    48
    14
    6
See reviews for
55
94
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of June 28-July 1, 2012. There were security issues at the hotel, with some guests at the front desk complaining on Friday morning about property being stolen from their room. Further, I was awaken at midnight Friday by the hotel manager and a police detective looking for someone. In addition, I was looking for a kosher meal on Friday night. The hotel recommended and made reservations at the Lev Yerushalayim hotel. The food was terrible and the dining room at the Lev Yerushalayim was a mess, the tables from earlier diners were not cleaned and they ran out of some of the entrees.

Room Tip: Recommend that the hotel replace it's key lock & chain with up to date electronic door locks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Let me start by saying that we're sorry you had a problem during your stay.
We remember that specific weekend clearly. How can we forget,when the local police enters the hotel and demands to search all the rooms looking for a fugitive that has nothing to do with us?
There was nothing we could do a bout it,they would not take no for an answer,although we tried. Thankfully,this is a very isolated incident,and we belive it could happen in any hotel.
As for the "theft",indeed there was a couple who complained about a missing item on that morning,but they called us a short time after going back to their room and apologized,as the item was found within their belongings.
Bottom line,there isn't and never has been a "security issue" at the Montefiore Hotel.
We are sorry for your discomfort,and hope to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a nice basic hotel in an amazing location. Blocks from Ben Yehuda street. We felt like we were in the middle of everything. Rooms are small, but clean and serviceable. Front desk staff is helpful. I would stay here again.Breakfast is adequate but not the typical Israeli breakfasts you hear so much about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I spent 6 nights at the hotel this July while in Jerusalem for a seminar. The hotel was chosen by the seminar sponsor. The best thing about the hotel is its central location, a very easy walk to sights, restaurants, synagogues and shopping. I shared the room with a colleague - two single beds - and it was tight, especially if you are used to American hotel rooms. Decor is old and on the surface it's clean, but the bathtub and shower could use some major re-grouting. The breakfast is OK.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We were happy to read that you had a good stay with us.
The size of the rooms at Montefiore hotel is standard size to Israel.
I agree that in America the rooms are bigger,but so is the country....:) As for the decor- a full refurbishment is planned for next year.
We hope that you will enjoy it on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July 2012. The staff was very accomodating and friendly, including helping with driving directions to another hotel on the opposite side of town to pick up friends. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The AC was great, but we also had the choice, and used, the "openable" window, which was great - overlooked a back parking lot, but the breeze and sounds of cats and birds was very pleasant. Room size was fine, as was the typical bathroom. Two twin beds were put together for a king-size, but that's also common. It's centrally located, both to shopping along Jaffa Street, and access to the tram. We walked several times to the Old City -- about 30 minutes. Parking was avaiable on a side street at parking meters, or there's a parking area about 4 blocks away. Great little coffee shop across from the hotel on the pedestrian area. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Muchas Gracias!
It was a pleasure to have you among our guests.we hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent one night with my husband last week and it was too much.
The hotel is really old and not well maintained, the room was tiny with a view on the garbage cans. It was a 2 twin beds room although in my reservation we mentionned we wanted (and paid for) a double bed. Bathroom was also very small and rusty.
The worse was the beakfast that is served in the next door barbecue restaurant. Having the smell of the barbecue for breakfast is not the best I would like in the morning...Bad coffee, plastic cutlery and glasses, old 'fresh' vegetables in aluminum cart (like in the army?), conserved fruits like in the 70's and packed cakes from the grocery next door. A pity! Especially in Israel where breakfast is typically rich and fresh.
The receptionist was just polite but not more. The breakfast staff from the old city probably was more disturbing than helping.
The location is very good, but still, comparing with other hotels for same price, the Monfefiore is really not fair and under all expectations.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Madam,
The rooms at the Montefiore are regular sized. Comparing to other hotels in the center of town the price and size are considered fair. However, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and ask you to be in touch with us for further information.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Let's start with good things about this hotel. Great location, clean rooms, fairly equipped. That's it... Pretty expensive low budget hotel.
Less pleasent things... Unprofessional and extremely unfriendly reception staff. Just look at one of recent reviews. Couple of times we applied with question and got the feeling of "well... what now?". It went even worse, when by mistake the personnel performed check-out for one of our rooms day before(!) the schedule. We came back at the evening after our son's Bar-Mizva ceremony and found clean and empty room. They collected our belongings and ... just LOST(!) them!!! The lady at the reception even haven't thought to apologize and didn't report about the incident to her managers. The next day we left the hotel. I was really stupid to trust one of managers that they'll contact us within couple of days and compensate our "losses".
Poor breakfast deserves several words as well. Under any israely standard: no salads - just sliced vegetables, conserved fruits, few kinds of cheap cheese, scrambled egg, bread, burekas... Cheap & minimalistic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
First let me appologize and tell you that we are sorry for your bad experiance at the hotel.
Due to the seriousness of your complaint it is being taking care of directly in front of you ,rather than publicly.
We are certain that at the end we will sort it out.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.