We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
sonoma county
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel was a lovely respite in Jerusalem. The staff were very warm and helpful. The breakfast was great. We loved the location, which is walking distance to just about anywhere. They also have an off site parking place that was very reasonable for storing our car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager00, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Shrink_10,
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our Hotel.
We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.
It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Montefiore Hotel a leader in excellence.
Once again dear Shrink_10, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Thank you for choosing Ayala Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ori Donzov
Executive assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    123
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
51
85
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We split our holiday between Jerusalem and tel aviv and needed a good base in the city to be able to see the sites (as well as go to Masada and the Dead Sea from)

The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean, although the room cleaning service started very early in the morning (this may have been because we were on the top floor and they work their way downwards) and the room was only given a very basic clean.

The rooms are not massive, but had a big enough bathroom, cable TV and free wifi.

The location is perfect, at the top of Hillel and King George V right near the old knesset building. It's a 20 minute walk to the Old City and maybe 30 minutes to the Knesset Building and Israel Museum. It will also be very convenient for the new light railway system that's being tested at the moment and I believe opens in the next few months.

Breakfasts were typical of a 3 star restaurant (though I was impressed with the scrambled egg, not powdery at all): Perfectly adequate, but nothing to write home about.

One minor gripe, there was an american school/youth group staying in the hotel - and the kids were incredibly noisy - I remember this being a problem with many 3 star hotels in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager00, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Meepmeep81,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. I'm so glad to hear that you were happy with your room. Its always nice to get a compliment on our hotel.
We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and look forward to hosting you again.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Yours sincerely,

Ori Donzov
Executive assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The hotel has a very good location. The quality of the services is consistent with the 3 star rating. The only problem is that the hotel seems to be frequented by teenager groups on excursion and it could create a bit of noise. The breakfast is on a modest side by Israeli standards.
Overall it's a good hotel close to the old city (10-15 min walk) if you are not terribly fussy about the comfort

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A very satisfactory mid-range hotel (we paid $US152 per night for a double room B&B in March/Apr 2011) in a convenient location in the heart of west Jerusalem.

Staff were polite, helpful, efficient and fluent in English.

This is a place you could comfortably stay for a week or longer.

GOOD POINTS

Location

You couldn’t want for a better location. It’s about 20 minutes walking distance to the Old City via the swanky new Mamilla Shopping Precinct. About a similar distance to the YMCA and the King David Hotel. 10 minutes to Ben Yehuda Street, the Leonardo Plaza Hotel (useful for tour pickups) and the landmark Lev Yerushalayim Apartment Hotel. And if you don’t feel like walking, there are plenty of buses, taxis and cheroots in nearby King George Street.


Quiet

Despite its central location, the Monte is actually situated in a pedestrian mall, which is Shatz Street, so you won’t get any traffic noise. We were lucky to get a room on the 6th floor which meant virtually no street noise either and we had a nice outlook onto the mall below. So try and get a room facing the Schatz Street mall rather than facing the car park at the back.

Rooms

We couldn’t have been more satisfied with our room. It was large by Israeli standards, very comfy and with masses of storage space. There was a huge cupboard with lots of shelves and hangars, a dresser with four drawers, a TV table with two drawers underneath and bedside tables with single drawers. And a chair and table as well. Lighting was satisfactory making reading easy, plus if you kept the curtains opened, the sunshine would stream in on a clear day. And there’s a secure lock-up safe to store your valuables.

A lovely room with everything we needed: quiet, comfortably and with more than enough storage space for two people. And the TV worked well with the full range of English news channels. This is the kind of place you look forward to coming back to after a days touring.

Cleanliness

Rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and we were quite satisfied with the level of cleanliness in the hotel generally.

Internet

There is Wi-Fi available and if you don’t have your own laptop, the hotel will generously lend you a “netbook” (there are two for loan) which you can use downstairs in the lobby free of charge. That’s a nice touch we thought.

Washing

Too easy! The hotel will take in your washing and charge you a reasonable 55 shekels (price as at April 2011) for a 5 kg load wash and fold. Bring it in the morning and you’ll have it back early the next day.

BAD POINTS

Lift

Unfortunately – and I guess this is perhaps a function of its age – there is only one lift which also doubles up as the service lift! Not a problem under normal circumstances as long as you don’t mind sharing it with trays of food or the hotel cleaners and all their gear – but definitely a problem when there are large tour groups in the hotel.


Breakfast

A tad disappointing especially since Israel is renowned for its superb hotel breakfasts! There was a limited selection and no fresh fruit.

As we are not early risers we generally get to breakfast late unless we’re going on a tour. And that put us at a distinct disadvantage at the Monte. By 9.30am, there’s not much left and the staff are already in clean-up mode, despite official breakfast time only ending at 10.00am. I felt a bit rushed and harried to finish up and clear out! So it’s best to get in early if you can.

Bathroom

Adequate with decent water pressure but lacking in storage space with no shelves.

Pickups & drop-offs

Being in a mall does have its drawbacks because there’s nowhere for your taxi to pull in to drop you off or pick you up.

Getting TO the hotel wasn’t such a problem: We caught a cab from the train station (about 50 shekels) and our driver just drove right over the curb and onto the pavement in the mall (so much for pedestrian safety!) But arranging a pickup FROM the hotel can be a problem. Not only will the taxi have to stop in a nearby street but it’s impossible to see the cab coming from the hotel lobby, so you need to hang about on the mall, and that’s a problem if it’s raining, as it was on the day we left!

So it’s probably best to walk a few metres to King George Street and hail the cab from there – just pray (oh well, you’re in the Holy City!) for good weather.

Overall though, despite the few negs, this is definitely a place that we would stay at again.

Room Tip: Get a front-facing room overlooking Shatz St mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011 via mobile

Perfect to walk round the city & yes on a quiet street. Lobby & restaurant very nice. Just let down by poor air con & old looking rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We'd recommend this hotel in a minute. It's clean, in a great location and resonably priced compared with other hotels in Jerusalem. Andrey at the desk was outstanding. He offered helpful tips, made sure we got where we needed to be and corrected a mistaken charge by a tour operator. Guests can use the office computer to check e-mail, etc. The breakfast was awful, especially compared with other hotel breakfasts.. Cooked eggs (the big event) were cold and the serving dish usually empty. Coffee was poured from one serving piece ... also usually was empty. However ... all in all ... I'd stay here again in a minute and suggest that others do the same. Some hotels suggested in the forum seems too far away from the old city and other wonderful areas.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed with my family fo 4 nights in this hotel,
The service is at 5 stars hotel not 3 stars!!! Free wifi and great location, i will come again :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.