We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial

Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial
Near Herzl Blvd., Jerusalem 91034, Israel
972 2 6443400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 237 things to do in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world’s leading national Holocaust memorial and museum is a 45-acre campus comprising indoor museums, outdoor monuments, memorials, gardens, sculptures and world-class research and educational centres.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited Yad Vashem on my first day in Israel..my visit here will forever stay with me..it is at times unbelievable and without a doubt truly Unforgettable...Yad Vashem has been built with love and care and compassion and is a Memorial to the 6 million Jews who were murdered during the Holocaust...As you leave inside the Museum there is an offering box on the right hand side opposite where the guard is sat... many people just pass by without leaving a donation...there is no entry fee to Yad Vashem...please when you pass this box leave a donation...Just Because

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,827
    359
    69
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place is full of meaning and history- more than just an emotional 'tug' it yanks/ at the heart. Worth visiting but remember to take tissues- for me more questions than answers

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“An Important Experience...The Children's Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The only thing to say is it is hard place to visit-and a place that must be visited. Never close your eyes, or heart.... this museum keeps the voices of so many alive. No matter how crowded the museum was- the experience was very personal and it felt like time stood still. I could have easily stayed for hours longer. The curators did an amazing job arranging the displays and videos- providing the background so generations will never forget. I can't imagine being in Israel and not making this museum a priority visit.Walking through The Children's Memorial was one of the most moving experiences of my life.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Never leave out this site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one of the "must see" places in Jerusalem. If you have the time, hire a "site guide" to lead you through the Memorial. Also, be sure to give yourself time to visit the Children's Memorial. But, be prepared to be deeply emotionally affected.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is overwhelming. We learned so much. Our hearts still ache. These are memories that will live with us forever.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.