We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant secondary attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower of David Museum

Tower of David Museum
Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem, Israel
972 2626 5333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 175 Attractions in Jerusalem
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the restored ancient Citadel, this museum traces the long and turbulent history of Jerusalem using audiovisual presentations, models, maps, holograms and videos.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Brilliant secondary attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Because of how important Jerusalem is for world history, and how many blockbuster attractions it has, the Tower of David gets treated a bit like chopped liver. It is, however, a really well laid-out museum with many conceptual exhibits to help the visitor understand the history, and the great views. Allow 60-90 minutes or more if you like to take your time. Don't skip the 19th century model in the basement.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    170
    52
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit, especially the historical exhibition.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We didn't manage to get tickets to the evening show, but the visit is worth it anyway. The place is nice and the exhibition, that shows a brief history of Jerusalem, is well worth the time. It's just beside the Jaffa Gate of the Old City, so you can do it on the way in or when you are leaving the Old City.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice views and learn some history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Tower and museum are very nice. I wouldn't say there is a ton of things to see or do inside but there are wonderful views of the city from the viewing areas above. You can also learn some of the history inside the museum and rooms. I am glad to have visited and if you are close you should take a trip here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Now I understand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was hoping to have a guided tour of the tower, but was told that they didn't do that anymore. I took the audio guide and tried to follow it carefully. The audio guide was fine, but the route inside the tower was a little confusing. After a few missteps I managed to find my way through the grounds and tower. It was well worth the time money and effort. I thought the historical narrative on the audio guide was very good, but the insider comments about how things came together when putting the exhibits together was a little hokey. The modern day context was brought home when you stood on the ramparts and were directed to look down on the street. This street used to be the border between Israel and Jordan. There was really no noman's land. I could now understand why the Israelis needed to take posession of that tract of land. You can look at things on map and in pictures, but you can't really understand it until you stand there and see it for yourself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the night show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

very interesting and exciting. A great performance, describing the history of the town. Well arranged and organised.
Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower of David Museum also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Tower of David Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower of David Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.