We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Gethsemane

Garden of Gethsemane
Jericho Rd, Jerusalem, Israel
02 628 3264
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 178 attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located outside the walls of Jerusalem, this beautiful garden among a grove of olive trees is thought to be the place where Jesus particularly enjoyed prayer and contemplation.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spiritual Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For me going to Gethsemane was the highlight of my pilgrimage. The old Olive trees are amazing. The Church of All Nations is nice but not what I went to see.

Our group had reserved a private area where we were able to have a service and personal time of prayer, A must for every Christian

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    151
    56
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Touching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

More biblical history come to life. I couldn't believe that here is where Jesus actually was more than 2000 years ago. And this is where he He had his agony before dying on the cross. Getting the proper tour guide will explain this significant biblical place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the garden where Jesus prayed in agony before taken away by soldiers. There is a beautiful temple besides the gardens. Liked the solemnity and historic significance of the place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Garden was just as I envisioned it from the bible. I really love how it is fenced and kept in pristine shape. The trees are beautifully shaped and it is a very serene place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“We were there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just like in the Bible. As we read the scripture we were moved. So glad that we were there and felt a feeling like it might have been that night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Gethsemane also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Garden of Gethsemane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Gethsemane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden of Gethsemane to your Saves list