We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some artsy Judaica shops and tourist souvenirs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Yehuda Street

Ben Yehuda Street
Ben Yehuda Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 237 things to do in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after Eliezer Ben Yehuda who revived Hebrew as a modern language, this busy street is filled with cafes, shops and street vendors. Visit ben-yehudah-streetDOTcom to see shops and businesses on Ben Yehuda Street
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some artsy Judaica shops and tourist souvenirs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

It was a small-ish row of small eateries and shops. I was able to find the same souvenirs in other parts of Jerusalem for the same price. The shopkeepers were pretty tourist friendly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quirky and FUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Super SHOPPING! A place to walk, eat and BUY! I Had so much FUN and of course bought special gifts for my family and friends, which brought SMILES to their hearts/faces!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Recomanded to everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This street of about one mile long is the main street to gather and shop and enjoy the restaurants.Maybe too short in order to transform the walk into an experince but it became a main center even for the tourists.
It is situated in the center of the city and lately the new tram line passes just behind the street.It's worth to visit also the surrounding area because more attractions are hidden in this area.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben--Yehudah, General Manager at Ben Yehuda Street, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Yes, the tram has brought Ben Yehuda new life. Everything is moments away now. There are many streets you can visit with shops in Israel. However Ben Yehudah is so wide and easy to navigate. Little secrets to find around every corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Walking the midrekhov”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Fun to walk up and down. Moshik's has great felafel and shewarma. Other good, inexpensive restaurants. Plenty of places to sit and people watch. Surprisingly good buskers sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben--Yehudah, General Manager at Ben Yehuda Street, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
I love to walk it as well and sit and watch Israel pass by me. It is one of my favorite things to do....day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hang Out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is the best place to eat and hang out where you are guaranteed to meet old friends and new ones.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Yehuda Street also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ben Yehuda Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Yehuda Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.