We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply put: "awful"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Zeev Vilnai St, Kiryat Moshe, Jerusalem 96100, Israel (Givat Ram)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Hadera, Israel
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“simply put: "awful"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife was running an 8 day conference at this hotel and I stayed with her on opening night. The 50 to 60 women from all over the world were almost universal in their complaints about their rooms, the service and a general attitude from the hotel staff. From my one night experience I pity my wife for having to stay another week. Simply put, the place is awful. Reception was brusque, manned by a single man who spent half his time either on the phone at the desk or his mobile. Asked if wi fi was available the reply was "it costs." When asked if that applied only to the rooms or the lobby as well. Answser: "it costs." We to dig the price out of him (the equivalent of $2.75 for two hours or $6.00 for a day). The room was supposedly an upgraded one since my wife was one of the conference chairs. That apparently meant that we had a remote clicker for the TV--many of the women complained their rooms were not similarly gifted. The breakfast buffet was striclty budget. When asked if newspapers were avaiable the front desk (different indifferent person) replied: "no, try another hotel." The location is also not a good one and a cab is required to reach the Old City and the center of the city. The new light rail is nearby however. As both an Israeli and an American I cringe when I think what impression a tourist from abroad will have of Israeli hospitality if this is the only hotel they stay at. What a mess!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
dear guest from Hadera,

I was very sorry to see your un happy experience at the hotel.

I knew that the general manager was taken care at all the group and made a cocktail party for all the group. and at the end everyone was very happy.

I am sure your next visit will be more enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    66
    36
    25
    17
See reviews for
67
57
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

were warned and didn't expect too much, so then were happy with a spacious room to the back, simple but clean, friendly and very helpful staff at the reception and good breakfast. The tram to the old city goes directly from behind the hotel, in front is a big highway so can be a bit noisy. The hotel is big and a bit older, used by a lot of tour groups and was fully booked when we were there. The indoor pool and spa is also a bit old but nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
dear guests from Melbourne,

thank you for your nice review.
it is good you have found the good advantage of the hotel.
on this days we are renovating the hotel and next time you will be more satisfied.

Best Regards,

Sharon Kotler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was dirty, the carpet grubby (looks like it has never been shampooed ever), the dressing table had marks which shows that it never gets wiped with a wet cloth, it is very dusty, the air conditioning didn't work it just made a lot of noise, Why they come in to stretch the sheets I don't know because they don't hoover or anything else. One day I left a cotton bud on the bed when I came back the bed was made with the cotton bud where I left it they just pulled the sheet over it. The bed is hard so never got a good night's sleep. The safe didn't work. Limescale around the taps. The shower curtain was hanging off the rail the whole time. The corridor is dark and grubby looking. People can sit and smoke in the corridor and they leave the cigarette butts and cigarette ashes right there on the floor. The staff do not speak or smile to you. When we enquired about the cost of dinner they said 120 shekels per person - very pricy - Well that was it we never ate there. The only good thing about the hotel is that it is close to the light railway and a short walk to the central bus station which has lots of shops including a kosher McDonalds. It was much too expensive for the condition. I stayed in a lovely hotel in Paris for the same price as the Jersalem Gardens Hotel. DO NOT STAY THERE!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
dear traveler,

I was very disappointed to hear that your stay was so unpleasant. we will make Sure to improve the cleanness in the hotel. and I a promise you next time you will see the major difference for your last time visit.
it is to bed you didn't let any manager or clerk on your unpleasant experience.
I insist to invite you again to Jerusalem Gardens Hotel and I shell give you my personal mail and I will make everything to change your mind and to give you a different wonderful second point of view.
my mail is - salescord@jerugardens.co.il

Worm Regards,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is very clean comfortable and friendly :) a perfect location to train and CBS

The staff is very helpful and shows in particular degree of professionalism during our stay and medical emergency ( looking after my wife very very well )

Would like to mention just one Mr. Ala amongst the rest of the reception staff ...

It was so good that we returned to the hotel for am additional week of our stay in Israel ....

So thank you all .... once again

suggestion:

the WIFI should be available as a complimentary service

Kindest regards

Petr & Miroslava Krotky
Sydney Australia

PS:
did not use spa ... could not comment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
dear M/M ,
thank you for a delightful review. it was a pleasure to have a guest with a good spirit as you, and to hear that everything was so nice for you.
I will make sure Ala will get this nice review.

looking forward to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is ok. Rooms are kind of old but clean. New television and lots of programs in English. Israeli breakfast is not fancy but plentiful and ok. Staff was helpful. They have a parking garage which is very difficult to park in. They said they had free wifi but it was limited to one device so we ended up paying for a second access. Walking distace to government complex, knesset, Hebrew University Givat Ram, Israel Museum. Light rail stop very close.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your helpful review. I was glad to read that our location was good and you have managed to visit all the sites witch are very close to our hotel.
hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed there as a family- with a baby. Let's start with that it has stairs at the entrance which are not very accessible for a stroller...and then you have more stairs to get to the elevators. The elevators are small and don't all work so my older kids often used the stairs to and from our room. The room was okay. Can use Wi-fi in the room for additional cost. Breakfast is good. There is a problem with the parking space- not enough for all the guests and if you park outside you will probably get a ticket during the day.
In general, it is unfortunate that such a big hotel in a good location turns out to be that average...

Room Tip: Higher floors are better in term of noise but then you are more dependent on the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, General Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
My Dear Madam,

I am sorry to hear that you could not notice the fact that there is another entrance for the hotel at the back, just nearby the parking space - without any stairs, that leads straight to the elevators.
It is a pity you didn't contact anyone and let us know your problem.
The elevators have been renovated recently and now you will find them very useful.
As for the parking space, we are trying to make more space in the coming future =.

Thank you,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

they just completed renovation that upgraded the rooms and the lobby.
It is nice, clean but very average

The food was OK on Friday night, but they kept serving the same food the whole time

Also the hotel has many stairs - not good for old people or families with little kids

Room Tip: we got a suite and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerusalemGardens, General Manager at Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Dear Guest,

We have just finished renovate the lobby, and most of the hotel is brand-new.
We will pay more attention for the variety of meals.

Thank you,
Sharon Kotler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Zeev Vilnai St, Kiryat Moshe, Jerusalem 96100, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Givat Ram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.