We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd Layout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of the Holy Sepulchre

Church of the Holy Sepulchre
Suq Khan e-Zeit and Christian Quarter Road. | Christian Quarter, Jerusalem, Israel
02627-3314
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$169*
and up
Jerusalem Super Saver: Day Tours of Jerusalem and...
Ranked #18 of 174 Attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in the fourth century over the site of a Roman Pagan temple, this is considered one of the world’s holiest shrines to Christians, preserving the most important moments of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Odd Layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This church is inside the old town and different sects claim responsibility for certain areas. The supposed site of crucifixion is there behind glass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    364
    176
    59
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Historic Church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This church is very meaningful to many Christian religions. It was very crowded when we visited and quite hard to walk around inside. Many steps and far too many people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A place all Christians need to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This church, which is over a 1,000 years old, is the holiest site for Christians. It is the place where Jesus was crucified and then buried. It is a must visit for Christians but also for Jews and Muslims.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro,cornwall
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You have to go but crowds off putting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Many tourists and rather pushy especially around the area reputedly where Christ was on the cross. It was too full of incense for my liking and also did not feel simple. I felt that a simple place would have been more in keeping with the whole ethos of Christ. The tomb was crowded with queues all the way around. I was not sure what the place was at first and asked a security person who did not answer but pointed me to a guide. I only wanted to know what it was there and the guide is immediately into making money guiding me. Why not just say it is Christ's tomb? It felt rather up-Christian I am afraid with the pushing and shoving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Put on your walking shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Church of The Holy Sepulchre is located deep within the walls of the Old City of Jerusalem, amidst narrow walkways and down many sets of stairs. The walk was worth it to see the church. We were privileged to see a visiting group of dignitaries from Germany including a Cardinal who processed into the church while we were there. The stairs are narrow and steep and people can be pushy so be careful!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of the Holy Sepulchre also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Church of the Holy Sepulchre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of the Holy Sepulchre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.