We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Festival of lighta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City of Jerusalem

Old City of Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
03-516-6699
Improve this listing
Visit Old City of Jerusalem like an insider
Special Offer
$173*
and up
Jerusalem Super Saver: Day Tours of Jerusalem and...
Ranked #1 of 238 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Characterized by narrow, winding streets and alleyways, this ancient part of the city is filled with shrines and attractions holy to Jews, Christians and Muslims including the Western Wall, Temple Mount and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Festival of lighta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Worth the time and energy, though very crowded. Cleverly situated on houses and awesome and special made "lamps".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,844
    595
    96
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

All the history, religion and politics all rolled into one. Too much to describe in a short review. But don't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“An interesting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Walking through the Old City is an eye opening experience. Each section of the Old City is different with a variety of vendors, shoppers and of course, tourists. If you are with a tour group, you will likely experience at least one quarter of the Old City (possibly more). Depending on which quarter you are in keep your bag close to you and wear comfortable shoes. It is crowded so be prepared to keep up with your group. While it was definitely not my favorite part of the tour, it should be experienced at least once.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Old Jerusalem - best seen at a walking pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Old Jerusalem is best seen at a walking pace. Interacting with the shop keepers and seeing the sights are a must. We walked from the Dung gate to the Damascus gate and then from the Damascus gate to the Jaffa gate. Good shoes are a must and be aware of pick pocketers. While we did not formally do a Via Dolorosa tour, we saw over half of the markers. A good tour guide can make the trip very interesting, make sure you see all the important high lights and keep you from getting lost. We highly recommend Jerry LePre.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stalybridge
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The centre of the world ,well maybe ,too much to mention ,an amazing place ,up thee with the must see places in the world,Venice,Paris ,London Rome,glad we came and please we felt as safe as we have anywhere we have ever been.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City of Jerusalem also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Old City of Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City of Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.