We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small musuem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bible Lands Museum

Bible Lands Museum
25 Stefan Wise Street | Museum Row, Jerusalem 9104601, Israel
972 2 5611066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 179 attractions in Jerusalem
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bible Lands Museum Jerusalem is the only museum in the world dedicated to the history of the Ancient Near East from a biblical perspective. The core exhibition displays an extraordinary collection of ancient art and archaeology tracing the roots of monotheism from the dawn of civilization to early Christianity.The treasures on display represent the physical evidence of civilization and events described in the Bible. Traditions, rituals, religions, and cultures are revealed through ancient ivories, mosaics, jewelry, seals, terra cotta and stone sculptures. The magnificent cultures of ancient Egypt, Sumer, Assyria and Babylon come to life before you.The exhibits feature the Assyrian ivories from Nimrud (circa 800 B.C.), sarcophagus of Julia Latronilla dated from the 4th century and an impressive collection of cylinder seals and scarabs.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice small musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you want a history musuem that is small and intimate. This is it! The Israel musuem can be sometimes overwhelming. Nice gift shop, too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Went there with children, during the holidays the give special activities for children, which is very nice.
during the rest of the time - you can learn about the area and stories of the bible, I found it very interesting, and the price is quite cheep for such a museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“take the free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Docents compete for a lot giving the free tour. Each one is different. Collection is weak on provenance but strong on organization. Temporary exhibits are often outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“A facinating museum dedicated to explaining the cultures of the lands of the Bible.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I must admit in advance, my late parents were serious donors to this museum. The museum, founded, built and run by the late Dr. Elie Borowsky, his wife Batya, and her daughters, showcases Elie's superb collection of antiquities amassed from 1945 till 2000.
Some people have complained about the provenance of items, but go check the provenance of stuff in the Louvre, in Paris; the BM in London; The Met, in NYC; etc., etc., and get back to me. You'll find that EVERY museum has stuff, the acquisition of which was questionable. At least Elie didn't rip off people being sent to the gas chambers, as was done in Nazi-occupied Europe (Read "Gang of Thieves"; you won't believe the Dutch and the Swiss, especially).
One big caveat: The layout is quite complicated, so a guided tour is best, unless you just want to wander and examine the superb quality objects. If you want to make head or tail of the collection, take a guided tour; I'm a licenced tour guide in Israel, and I take the guided tour when I have guests. The cafe is nothing to write home about (go next door to Moderne, the meat restaurant at the Israel Museum for GREAT food), but the museum shop at the Biblelands has great stuff. I do gift shopping there a lot.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best For Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Definitely buy Shamshi's Comic for kids, not too expensive (25 NIS). I have never seen my children be so engaged at a museum, they had a great time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bible Lands Museum also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Bible Lands Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bible Lands Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bible Lands Museum to your Saves list