We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too long a wait” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Mount

Temple Mount
Jerusalem, Israel
Improve this listing
Visit Temple Mount like an insider
Top Rated
$99*
and up
City of David and Underground Jerusalem Day Trip...
Ranked #40 of 237 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hill in the eastern part of Old Jerusalem is of special significance to the world's three major religions. It was reputedly the site of the first and second Jewish Temple, and since the 7th century has contained two Muslim shrines.
Thornhill, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“too long a wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We waiting in the heat for over 1 1/2 hours to get to the Temple Mount. When we approached the Dome of the Rock we were told to exit immediately.
After waiting all that time we should have been told that we only had a few minutes left before they wouldn't allow any more visitors to the Mosque.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    101
    39
    12
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are not muslim don't bother.You are not welcome.You are not allowed inside the mosque.The security at the various entrances take some sort of pleasure in not allowing you to visit.We were told several different times to visit and each time we were not allowed in.The place to gain access is via the wooden bridge which is policed by israeli guards but be quick as visiting times are short.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The queue is long, there is no doubt about that but, even is you only get 15 minutes to discover Temple Mountain, it's worth the wait. We went on a Thursday which made the queueing interesting as you have a constant procession of Bar Mitzvahs going past which means people going by dancing and singing every few minutes. We were the last in for the morning session though we'd joined the queue before 9am (they close for the noon prayer) and we got asked to leave after 15 minutes but it was enough. You get a good view on the wailing wall as as you walk up, which is great as you might not feel comfortable walking up to such a holy place just for peak when you're not jewish. Once you get to the top, make sure arms and legs are well covered and you're set to walk around. You'll have groups of women everywhere : don't point your camera in their direction. The mosque is beautiful and the gold roof against the blue sky is just unbeleivable.
Overall, don't let the queue scare you away, go on a thursday and you'll at least have something to look at while you wait !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Be there EARLY, it's worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've been there around 09:00 AM and get in just before 12:00 (which is the limit).
So we had few time to visit and see everything but it was fabulous. It's huge, colors are amazing and you can see and feel Muslim people faith.
Being in Jerusalem without being there would be a shame.
Becareful not to bring Holy article from other religion with you. They will take them away from you at the check point.
You can not enter in the Mosque if you're not Muslim. A bit disappointing especially when you have wait for 3hrs

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You wil stand in awe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Temple Mount and The Wailing Wall are actually wthin a few hundred feet of each other. It is so amazing that The Holiest site of Judaism is this close to the 3rd holiest site of Islam. People from all over the world visit these grounds, which is a spectacle within itself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Mount also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Temple Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.