We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic . amazing. great location, great people. The real place!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse
Save
You added St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse to your Saves list
PO Box 8619, 1 David Remez Street | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 91086, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Rishon Le Zion
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic . amazing. great location, great people. The real place!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

we just cane back freom there, during the film festival. The place is just great. best service. Nice people, clean authentic rooms, rich breakfast, The perfect place to stay in Jerusalem.They have a lovely privat garden and beautiful big balcony to have coffee all over the day' looking the old city walls.... mostly reccomandded!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
35
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The guest house is located in a wonderful position overlooking the old city. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was good. The room are just ok, clean but they need a complete renovation especially because of the price. In any case considering the hotel situation in Jerusalem I would reccomend to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this quaint location while travelling in Israel. I found the staff to be very helfpful and the accommodations to be clean and very nice. The guesthouse has a great view of the city. I love the library. They also make a great breakfast and will make you dinner on occassion. There was a group of us staying at the guesthouse and the they offered to make us dinner for a very low price. The chef made us a faboulous meal. It was well worth it!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you has issues with the stairs this would not be good location for you. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I would recommend the St Andrew's Guesthouse if your priority is to be within walking of the Old City and sights beyond. The rooms are very simple and could use some updating but for us, we wanted the convenience of a 15 minute walk to the Zion gate. Breakfast was chaotic but well stocked and overall we were satisfied with the guesthouse especially given that we booked last minute. We paid extra to have a balcony but found it was small, dusty and shared with another room. Take advantage of the communal balcony with excellent views of the Old City rather than paying extra for a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I just returned from my eleventh trip to Israel and Jerusalem, and for the first time stayed at St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse on the grounds of St. Andrew's Church, known to Jerusalemites as "the Scotty." And I was very much charmed by it.

The advantages:

* Truly wonderful, helpful staff who will do anything for you.
* With Israeli hotel costs skyrocketing, this is hands-down the best value in Jerusalem. A good, clean room with views of the Old City at $120 USD per night?! For budget travelers who do not need kosher accommodations, this is a really fantastic choice.
* The place has character and charm to spare -- a lovely old place overlooking the southern parts of the Old City and Mount Zion. The views are breathtaking.
* Jakoub in reception is a wonderful character and will "welcome!" you to the place about 20 times a day. I love him.

Disadvantages:

* No elevators, and the walk up to the third floor after a long day of touring got a little old. As am I. (Not really; I'm 54 -- but you get the point.)
* It's not kosher, for those who need it.
* The breakfast is adequate, but not great, for those spoiled by huge Israeli breakfast buffets.
* The proximity to the Sultan's Pool in the summer, with all of its concerts, can create noise and sleeping problems, and did so for my two friends. I slept through it.
* Unlike the YMCA, I did not see an effort to employ both Jewish and Arab staff. The Arab employees were WONDERFULLY helpful, so this is no racist venting. But I like to see diversity on a staff in Jerusalem, and I didn't. And I am Presbyterian (the American version of the Church of Scotland), so I come from the same faith tradition as this guesthouse. I also noted that when they called taxis, they only called Arab drivers, some of whom did not know sites in the New City well.

I would come back on a budget, though the renovation of the Jerusalem International YMCA is making that a good (if more expensive) choice again.

Room Tip: Be aware of the climb when booking rooms, and if you have mobility issues, ask for a lower floor. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Don't expect a luxury hotel; but the rooms and public areas are clean and comfortable and the staff charming and helpful. The bathroom was nice, but could have done with a couple of clothes hooks and a lick of paint on the (repaired) door frame. The place is redolent of old colonial atmosphere and SO restful - yet is so central that the Zion gate of the Old City is only 15 mins walk away via the footpath and bus stops are a stone's throw from the front gate. The only real negative, in an otherwise quiet stay, was the all night rave held in the vicinity on Independence night. It went on until 5am and probably kept the whole of Jerusalem awake! That said, I'd certainly choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: room 11 faces the Old City &has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good:
1. Location,
2. Views from public balconies (we got a room with a view to the back garden, which was a little bit seedy),
3. Atmosphere – Magical :-). In and out.
Could be better:
1. Breakfast was disappointing.
2. Rooms: very basic. Shower: It took the water FOREVER to get hot…

Bottom: Only If you are willing to pay for the location and atmosphere and be content with simple accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse

Address: PO Box 8619, 1 David Remez Street | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 91086, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
St. Andrew`s Scottish Guesthouse Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.