We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the experience at the Olive Tree hotel in Jerusalem, Israel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Tree Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olive Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Olive Tree Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 St George Street, Jerusalem, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Jerusalem
Grandy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved the experience at the Olive Tree hotel in Jerusalem, Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for the better part of 10 days while in israel. Great hotel with lots of nice shops downstairs. Including a great jewelry store run by Martin with great selection and fair pricing. The food each morning was fabulous! Always fresh and plentiful and great selection. The rooms are just ok, nothing fancy at all, but the rest of the experience more than makes up for my excellent review of this hotel. The staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    166
    65
    26
    10
See reviews for
42
74
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

On the 13.4.2013, My cash US 2000, Sing dollar $2300,and Dubai money 1500 was stolen from my room 441 of this Oliver tree hotel. As I placed the cash in the safe box but did not close it. However, the room was ensured locked before we left.

While return, a "Do not disturb" sign placed outside my room door and the room did not make up. The electrical door pad was open. The window of the room cannot be lock and able to climb in from the next door. We reported to the Hotel security and the Police.

The hotel security mention no record of person enter my room. The room cleaner said he did not enter because he saw the "Do not disturb sign" My question is, I did not place the "Do not disturb" sign, who will enter my room first?

Pls take note the above and there are no CCTV coverage on the door of guest room. There are few room window cannot be lock. The hotel also do not insure the Theft coverage. The hotel GM mention that the hotel will not responsibility for the losses happened in the locked hotel guess room. He keep on mention he invest "150,000" on the lock and the lock is a very good lock. My question is lock system manage by human, if cleaner and security clip together, can they erase the record?

Want to stay in this hotel? Up to you.

Room Tip: Take note on the security coverage of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTreeHotel, General Manager at Olive Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We have checked carefully the complaint and as you wrote in your comments there is no record of anyone opening the door during your absence including the housekeeping staff that didn't make your room due to the fact that there was a "do not disturb" sign hanging outside the door. There is no way to open the door without keeping a record in the computer report.
Also, all valuable items must be kept in the safe deposit box with the door locked. (and not with the door opened as you left it).
We are very sorry that your money disappeared but it seems that it was elsewhere and not in your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently visited Olive Tree Hotel again, I was there for about 2 weeks, one week at the end of a tour and one week on an extended tour, basically, by myself.

I recommend Olive Tree highly. This time on the second trip (previously I was there in 2010, this time end of February and first week of March. I was satisfied. The staff were generally upbeat, anxious to please, Food, won't talk about that....it was awesome! This time, my single room was a little bit disappointing, but you have to compare that price and other hotels so it was at a high acceptable rate, a little small, a little dated, but ok. My biggest complaint is the Internet Service is very expensive, but I finally learned, it was best to purchase the 32 dollar package because then you don't lose the minutes like you would with the 24 hour purchases....it is extended over days. That would saved me some money, they should explain that.

I don't consider it a 5 star, but maybe a 4 star, add the "nice" staff and that would make it a 4.5 Star!!!! Location is fanastic, too. Staff is helpful.

Room Tip: If you are there more than 3 days, go with the most expensive Internet Package, you will save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our experience at the hotel could not have been better. It was spotlessly clean and everyone rushed to help with any need we had. Several times I had to request extra help from the front desk and was always treated with courtesy and supplied with information. I wish I had asked the name of the man in the gift shop because he deserves special thanks for his trouble and time spent helping me. It was worth staying in the hotel just to see the old Olive tree growing in the center of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good buffet breakfasts and dinners. Great service. Clean comfortable rooms and beds. Several choices of gift shops. No free wifi in lobby. Easy checkin/checkout. Within walking distance of Old City, train/bus stops. Near other hotels. Enjoyed our stay there very much while on tour with E.O.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, near old city Jerusalem, with great complimentary breakfast sums it up for me.

This hotel is focused on tour groups and hosting large local meetings, and NOT vacationers, families, or buisness travelers. Meaning it has no pool, no spa, no hot tub, no gym, no work out facility or equipment, no play/children area, bathrooms are small, no workspaces in rooms, no gadet plug-ins in rooms, wi-fi is pricey and only allows one wifi device connected at a time, no room-service (food), no food allowed in rooms, no irons allowed in rooms, they only recieve laundry between 6-9am, no information packet in room to tell you anything about the hotel/services, etc.

I suppose international tour groups enjoy a place that is culturally aesthetic, a good nights sleep, and a great complimentary breakfast before heading out the door for the day - and the Olive Tree and it's staff seem dedicated to that - but not much beyond that.

I was there for a week of business and found it lacking "normal' things I expect (a place to work out each day, an in-room workspace with technology, room service-food, optoin to bring food in, and an in-room iron for wrinkles/touch-ups).

It was nice on my last day to be able to walk to the Old City and do some sight-seeing.

Next time will look for a different place better suited for my needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is comfortable and meets the standards of a modern city hotel for a short stay. Clean and reasonable size bedroom. Well decorated and good sleep except not keen on pillows and short early morning "Call To Prayers" from somewhere near to hotel.
Good evening meal buffet, thought breakfast buffet a little limited.
Bar service very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hotel

Address: 23 St George Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olive Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Jerusalem
Hotel Olive Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.