We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eldan Hotel to your Saves list
Eldan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“The BEST location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

located very close to the "MAMILA" mall,
and from there close to the OLD CITY.
food was good and vary.
stuff were very nice, polite behavior and helpful with any question.
I was with a baby, and got a bed for the baby and also the reception gave us hot water when ever we wanted.

the hotel placed is also close to the "German colony" - very nice place for walking.
The parking inside the hotel no so big, but we found free parking inside the hotel on all the weekend.
outside of the hotel, there is PAYMENT parking, which is free on FRIDAY (from 13:00 or something) and free on SATURDAY, so no problem....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    115
    43
    9
    13
See reviews for
91
82
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I want to thank Noam head chef of the Eldan Hotel for professional and excellent service.
Selection and fresh salads, fish of all kinds platter and top quality, ensuring the quality of all the food including the additions of various types and quality level of upscale gourmet restaurants.
All guests including us, only praised the great food, the beauty of the place and the polite and efficient service. All guests told me that for a long time they did not have a good meal like that even in luxurious evening events.
Thank you very much.
Davidov Familly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean, very kind helpful stuff and the best location.
The breakfast was israeli style, very tasty, a lot of food.
We had a dinner/included on the sabbat day!
important is the hotel's location. It is a short walk to the old city, new city center. One doesn't need a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

when i stayed in Eldan Hotel I suffered so much from the lousy service, that I had actually cancelled my 2nd night.

when I booked the hotel two weeks prior to arriving, I was told that the hotel provides a free parking spot. I ensured this information twice, since the parking fees in this part of jerusalem are insane.

when I got to the hotel, the parking lot had no space left and I was told I have to pay for my own parking on the street. this is an amount of approximatly 5$ per hour!!!

when I told the manager of the shift that I was told otherwise when I booked the room by phone, she didn't give a damn an yelled at me at the middle of the lobby! she threw at me a 10 NIS coin and told me to stop bothering her!!! after that she called me on the phone to my room and demanded me to go down to the lobby and return the 10 NIS she gave me!!!

I had never experienced such a lousy service in my life.

I cancelled my second night in the hotel and they did not even care. when I got back home I emailed "Eldan" company that holds the hotel, right after I talked to the hotel manager, that did not even reply to my demands for a refund for shortening my stay in Jerusalem.

Eldan company offered my a free breakfast for all the trouble instead of a money consempation. I refused.

the location of the hotel is amazing and the rooms are fine, (no free wifi), but the service made me entire stay miserable.

Room Tip: simply dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Location. Kindness. Hospitalitality. Parking. Israeli breakfast included.
The Eldan Hotel is a great hotel for a reasonable price.
The rooms are basic and clean with a flat screen TV and small refrigerator. It has a wonderful staff accommodating all our needs.
We have stayed at the Eldan many times and we are always pleased.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others and they are the same price. If this matters to you, speak up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppdal, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Few months ago we had we made a family tour and rented 3 rooms in Eldan hotel. The booking process was smooth and there were no "surprises" on arrival. The reception staff were very kind and informative. The room were very clean, cosy, quite, and on arrival we found a bowl with fresh fruits. We ate only breakfast in the hotel and breakfast is reach and tasty.
Another important advantage is the hotel's location. It is a short walk to the old city, new city center and the beautiful Mamila area and good public transportation connection to all other Jerusalem's attractions. One doesn't need a car. In addition, although it is so centrally located, it is a quite area.
In short, highly recommended.
PS - based on previous experience, sometimes the hotel is fully booked even during low season, so book well ahead.

Room Tip: Book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The Eldan Hotel is a diamond in the rough. It has one of the best locations in Jerusalem, being in between the King David Hotel and the David Citadel Hotel near entrance to the old city. It is also near the Mamlya Hotel , stores and restaurants and within easy walking distance to many great restaurants and the Ben Yehuda stores and restaurants. the Eldan Hotel is in the process of being renovated, albeit slowly. Nevertheless, many of the rooms are reasonably nice, the staff is nice and you cannot beat the value

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.