We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to this hotel !!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eldan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eldan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% discount on car rent
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go to this hotel !!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I paid my hotel stay with hotel.com, I checked my bill before I left, it had a zero balance. Two days later I found the Eldan Hotel had deduced my two night stay AGAIN on my creditcard. After numerous emails to the hotel and Hotel.com I have not received my refund now three months later. Please note they keep saying the refund will happen as soon as final approval is given..........RUBBISH. This hotel is dishonested...........DO NOT STAY THERE.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    104
    40
    8
    13
See reviews for
77
72
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed one night only. The hotel is in an excellent location within walking of the old city and numerous other attractions. Breakfast was the best. 4 types of smoked fish, approximately 8 different cheeses, blintzes, croissants, great rolls, 2 different green salads, other salads, fruit, 3 hot dishes.....etc. Free parking. Somewhat of a small and quiet hotel. Glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We do not know anything about this hotel and was only recommended to us by our tourist guide Mr. Eytan Tel Tsur. When we check in last March 2 the lady receptionist was very accommodating and gave all the information about the old Jerusalem which was what we need. The hotel was only like 5-7 minutes away from the Mamilla mall and the Jaffa gate of the Old Jerusalem. We just walk to the Mall and the old Jerusalem with no problem.
The hotel offers a Excellent breakfast, fast Wi-fi connection, good TV channels and the rooms are nice and clean. It is amazing that this hotel is centrally located and yet we were not disturbed by any noise coming from the street. My family found the room very comfortable. The hotel also offered a Kosher buffet dinner every Friday. My family and I enjoyed this delicious and excellent buffet. All I can say about this hotel is that their price is very reasonable,good service,very clean,wonderful breakfast and the location is Excellent.
We will definitely go back to this hotel next year with my whole family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just 5 minutes walking from oldtown, and area for shipping and restaurants.
Great breakfast, excellent cleaning, for only 55 usS per day each one.
I will choose it again, in my next trip to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for two days in this small and nice hotel. Great location, we were out all day, so we only slept there and had breakfast. Nice staff with alot of info about the city. Great value for money overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in Jerusalem in January 2013 and stayed at the Eldan Hotel. The location of this small, quiet hotel is the BEST in Jerusalem, across from the King David and next to the YMCA. It's a 5 minute walk to the Mamila Mall and about 8 minutes to the old city as well as easy walking distance (10 to 15 minutes) to downtown Jerusalem.
I found the staff to be very friendly, especially in the dining room in the morning (Ahmed and Basem are two very nice fellows). The breakfasts at the Eldan are varied and plentiful...my favorite was the "shakshuka" (egg poached in spicy tomato sauce), along with fresh veggies, olives, and cheeses. There is always a great selection of fresh crossiants and various breads.
The Eldan has been around for a while so it is not smashingly new decor, but the hotel is clean and quiet, full bathrooms (with tubs and showers...unlike some which just have showers) and safes in every room. This was all were perfect for my business/pleasure stay and about HALF the price of the other hotels on this block.
Do keep in mind that you are in the Middle East and even the rooms at the greatest hotels here are not the same as great hotel rooms in US resorts based on my experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor (i think it is a 5-story hotel). Rooms facing the old city have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is shabby and dirty. The dining room is dirty. The tables at breakfast were not cleaned unless one asked. The service overall was poor. When I asked for towels in the morning, I was told the housekeeping staff was eating breakfast. In spite of having confirmed a reservation twice, the staff could not find it. No bars of soap in the bathroom. The towels are thin and old. Some staff are rude.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.