We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Well priced and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eldan Hotel to your Saves list
Eldan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location, Well priced and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Great place to stay to access the entire city on foot or other transportation. Easy walk to most parts of the city. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was ample and served early enough to get you up an out.

Room was clean, and additional towels provided with no aggravation. Rooms were cleaned daily, room safe provided and a multi day internet discount provided after 2 days (make sure you remind them before hand)

  • Liked — Locatiion
  • Disliked — Paying for the internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    115
    43
    9
    13
See reviews for
91
82
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Very helpful and friendly staff. We arrived, having stood on a freezing Jerusalem night for two hours waiting for Pres. Bush to go past, cold and more than a bit fed up. Receptionist and concierge sat us down and brought us a cup of tea and biscuit. Room clean.
Breakfast superb and food on shabbat was excellent.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I second all the other great reviews of the Eldan. Probably the best location in Jerusalem for quick access to Ben Yehuda, The Old City, and most other central attractions. It isn't fancy but is quite clean and comfortable. You also get a great deal on a car rental from Eldan, if you also book the hotel. Breakfast was average for Israel, but you aren't paying 400-500 per night for the King David while having the same great location. This will definitely continue to be my first choice in Jerusalem.

  • Liked — value, location, service
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

The Eldan Hotel is located in the best location in Jerusalem, directly across the street from the world famous King David Hotel and next to the domed YMCA hotel.

We arrived in late April 2007, post Passover, just after the high season, and stayed for a very affordable rate. As we stayed for a week, they threw in an every fourth night free deal which made the overall rate even better. When we were in Israel one dollar equaled approximately 4.10 Shekels.

Though the rooms weren't ready when we arrived, the staff was happy to hold our bags while we went to lunch (our driver drove us to Abu Gosh, where Israeli's flock to when they want a great, filling, and inexpensive meal). The driver waved his "taxi fees" for a free meal! Such a deal!

The staff was always very friendly and helpful whether telling us where to get get affordable but great Shish Kabob, find the Shuq market, figure times to visit the tunnel under the Western Wall, etc. All of the front desk staff spoke English.

The Israeli style breakfasts were fantastic. Lots of salads (fruit, vegetable), different kinds of fish, bread choices, juices, coffee,
tea, etc. Healthy, filling and tasty!

My family of four (mother, father, and two high school daughters) spent a week there in late April 2007, with the daughters in one room with two single beds with ensuite bathroom, and my wife and I stying in a room with a double bed with ensuite bathroom.
The rooms, though small, were very clean, with plenty of hot water for showers. The beds were firm. The rooms were perfect for sleeping or taking a nap between walks in the Old City. Likewise, it was a short walk to the shopping district of the
"new" Jerusalem. We did take taxis to Yad Vashem, Shrine of the Book, etc.

Entrance to the Old City via the Tower of David was a short walk. From there it is another walk to the Western Wall, the tunnel walk, and all the other Old City sights. (We are from Vermont where we get 100+ inches of snow per year so taking a walk in mild weather is always a pleasure.)

In the past year we were in London in Dec 2006, Barcelona in Feb 2007, Jerusalem in April 2007, Cancun in August 2007, and
Paris in December 2007. As we are used to traveling overseas and are mindful of our surroundings, we always felt safe. Israelis are genuinely happy to have you visit them.

We highly recommend this hotel, particularly to those who are comfortable planning their own international travel. If we return to Jerusalem, we will stay at the Eldan Hotel.

  • Liked — Location, helpful, affordable, breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Loved this place. PERFECT location, very helpful staff, amazing breakfast. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

This is a great value hotel in a top location, in easy walking distance to the Old City and Ben Yehuda shopping district. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff are friendly. A good hotel if you are staying multiple days in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This tidy hotel is a great alternative for people on a budget. It is literally across the street from the King David and a few blocks away from the Jaffa gate to the old city. Clean, updated, decent sized room. When we stayed there, it averaged $100 a night.

I have to add that we really lucked out on the room, I think it was #518-it was a corner room on the top floor, so not only was it quiet, we overlooked the old city.

Compared to some of the spreads at our other Israeli hotels, breakfasts were a little tired, skimpy, monotonous, warmed over so in that respect you get what you pay for. The staff were also a little tired, and not inclined to go too far out on a limb hospitality-wise. You are really paying for the location and the price can not be beat.

  • Liked — Location, Location
  • Disliked — Boring Breakfasts
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.