We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for the client satisfaction!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Boutique Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dan Boutique Jerusalem to your Saves list
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Hebron Road, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% Discount for 4 Nights
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Looking for the client satisfaction!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located if you want to be in a calm place and not far from the old city.
Well communicated to the King George, BenYehuda, Mea Shearim, Gueoula, Mahane Yehuda thru the buses that can be taken at 3mn from the hotel.
There are also taxis dedicated to this hotel and a shuttle to the airport very convenient (65 shq instead of 320 of the cab).
Rooms are very clean and modern, and the service is always willing to help.
Wifi is available, breakfast is complete with a lot of products of quality.
This is the second time I go back to this hotel and probably will be returning BH.
Also, even if we arrive very early in the morning due to flight timetable, we were given the room around 10 in the morning while normally checkin starts at 14:00. Also as we were leaving very early in the morning they prepared us breakfast bags, which is very appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Fred S

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts of the hotel.

It is comments such as these that make the hard work all worthwhile.
We're pleased you enjoyed our Israeli breakfast, as well as our Central location, and all that the local area had to offer.

Thank you for your comments with regards to our happy team attitude at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your warm words to our team as a whole.

We hope to welcome you back soon, we're happy to expand our little Dan Boutique family.


Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    270
    112
    28
    17
See reviews for
177
292
45
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Despite receiving a confirmation for a two-night stay at the Dan Boutique, the reservation office called to say that a four-night minimum would be required as the hotel was almost full and management decided to only accommodate longer stays. After unsuccessfully trying to get a reservation elsewhere, we decided to book the four days as we really wanted to go to Jerusalem and did not have enough flexibility in our schedule to go at another time. I was assured that given the circumstances, we would receive the best possible room and service for our inconvenience. We did received a platter of fresh fruit from the management but that was the only good thing that could be said for our stay. The hotel's public areas are dark as are the rooms and all would benefit from a major update. Individual staff members were friendly and helpful, but not all, and there were significant problems in getting access to taxis at the hotel. Furthermore the hotel turned out to be occupied at only 70% capacity -- not full as represented to us when our confirmed reservation was nullified. It would appear that the business decisions at the Dan Boutique are based upon criteria other than providing good customer service or convenience. Needless to say, we will make a different choice of hotels next time we are in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear SLOIady,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences; it is truly through guest's feedback such as this that we are able to develop our offerings for the future.
Throughout Dan Hotels, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest experience and service at all times and it is always a regret when guests feel that we have fallen short. Having read your review it is certainly a shame that we did not meet during your stay, I would have liked the chance to understand a little better since your experiences are certainly not in keeping with the usual standards we strive to acheive.
I invite you to please be in touch with me directly so I may be able to welcome you back to enjoy an experience more in keeping with our satisfied guests.
With thanks and kind regards,

Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
Shimrit.ohana@danhotels.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very decent and reasonably priced hotel with more then sufficient breakfast bar, rooms are on smaller size but with nice, modern decor. Hotel is placed outside of Old City but only by 5 minutes cab drive.There are few restaurant in walking distance( one of them "Colony" open on sabbath). The staff was always willing to help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear dahela21,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent stay with us at the Dan Boutique Hotel.
As noted, our hotel is in a great location to enjoy many of Jerusalem's attractions and local restaurants, thank you for sharing.
Special attention is made to individualized service and the unique atmosphere, ensuring all our visitors feel they receive good value for money.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a bittersweet review. I really want to give this hotel 4.5 stars, but i have to be completely honest about my experience. First of all

THE GOOD:
The hotel is very very clean and well kept. I was impressed with the bathroom (spacious) and the bedroom was spacious as well. It has a very trendy modernistic vibe to it.

Free wifi in the lobby and restaurant area: I enjoyed the speed of the wifi. I had an ipad and an iphone and the wifi was almost as fast as my home wifi. I was able to make VOIP calls through my cell phone for free to relatives back home to keep them up to date on my trip.

Very large and comfortable lobby area.There is a bar and pool table in the lobby area as well. Enough room to accomodate many many guests. I enjoyed this aspect.

The outdoor deck on the third floor. Unbelievable panoramic view of the old city. Very scenic, especially in the evening as the sun is setting. The colors are amazing. Although it was a bit chilly during my stay i spent two hours outside at night reading and studying while taking in the view of a quiet Jerusalem night. Stunning views

The breakfast: Very good robust breakfast. They provide you with PLENTY of food to load up on carbs and protein for those tours. Lots of fresh fish, a myriad of different cheeses, breads, pastries and sweets....And tons of fresh fruit. I even took an apple or two with me to snack on durning the day. It was pretty good. I've seen better but i don't think its fair to compare the buffets of Italian hotels to anything else. I'm biased towards Italy. Barring that the buffet was excellent and the waiters were friendly.

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- The front desk staff- Not very accommodating. For the most part they are not exactly friendly: I'm not sure if i caught them on a bad day but i was surprised at how unfriendly the counter staff was. Upon check-in I pretty much received the bare essentials. Your Room # and Key. I'm used to getting a map and an explanation of what is in the surrounding area. When i asked where restaurants were in the area i received a vague answer. I felt like they wanted me to already know the answer. I walked down the street to the Mount Zion hotel to get a better idea and they pointed me to a fabulous mediterranean restaurant nearby (Levan)

- The location is close to east jerusalem so keep that in mind if visiting from America. Just being honest.

- The front desk staff gave short answers. When i asked about different location to see in the city the answers were vague and i felt like i was annoying them. You should be an expert at telling people what your city offers. As a hotel guest i should not have to be apprehensive about asking basic questions about attractions and tours. They really need to work on this. Its like they'd rather not be bothered.

The Hotel Staff is the only reason i rated this hotel lower than what i would like to have given. The facility itself was pleasant and the location, while not the greatest was acceptable. If you are with a large group that has their trip completely planned out, i would recommend this hotel. If this is your first time to Israel, please try another spot closer to the City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Shaun R,

Thank you very much for posting you experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you appreciate the hotel cleanliness and enjoyed our rich Israeli breakfast.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel location, opposite Mount Zion and the Old City Walls; our guests certainly enjoy the spectacular views of magnificent Jerusalem from our Beautiful 3rd floor large terrace.

At the Dan Boutique hotel providing warm and friendly service is our main goal. We are sorry that this did not seem to be the case on this occasion. We are studying your comments for improvement. I have been sure to pass on your comments to the Reception Manager for his thorough attention.

We sincerely hope you might give us another opportunity of showing you we can do so much better and look forward to welcome you back, should you decide to try us again.


Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. The rooms are nice and not too small. The views are unbelievable. I don't know why they call it boutique. Is it because of the comic book poster in the room? It's also quite far to walk to the old city. Breakfast was not great (compared to other hotels in Jerusalem).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the old city- it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear NB_NY
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We find that the unique personalized, intimate service of the team and the quiet comforting atmosphere make our hotel a boutique.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the stunning old city view from your room. We appreciate your comments regarding Breakfast and I have been sure to pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for his further attention, thank you for highlighting this experience.
Looking forward to welcome you back.

With regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here while visiting my daughter who is studying in Israel this year. This is my second visit to Israel, and the first time the hotel we stayed in (I forget which one) was nothing to write home about. We were pleasantly surprised with Dan Boutique. The rooms were spacious for an Israeli hotel, the bathroom was fine. The lack of American TV channels was a minor annoyance. The bar area was nice, never very busy. We were only a short walk to the old city and the bus stop. The breakfast buffet was very nice and always plentiful. The staff was always friendly and willing to help, answer questions, get taxis, etc.... Free WIFI in the lobby was appreciated, and we were able to sometimes get it in our second floor room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lardan23,
Your thoughtful review and observations are thoroughly appreciated, thank you.
We're very proud of our personalized service and unique ambiance and so pleased you enjoyed it. Our team go above and beyond to make our guests stay in Jerusalem memorable, thank you for enabling us to give credit where it is indeed due.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon,
with regards,
Shimrit - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arriving in the hotel late evening, we have recieved a tiny room with a window half a meter lower then the parking place, the view was spectacular - the wheels of the parking cars.

My wife has been so upset, she has decided she wants to leave immidiately.

evetually, we have been upgaded to a delux room with a view to the old city. the view was lovely, the room was too red for our taste, and the paining on the wall was bizzare. the bathroom was so cold, it felt like going into a freezer. there was no heater in the bathroom as well.

Room Tip: high floor, room facing the old city, dont dare take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Avner,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experiences here at the Dan Boutique; it is through guest feedback such as this that enables us to further develop our services.
Every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest comfort at all times so we are always very sorry to hear when a guest feels that we have fallen short. We are pleased we managed to improve the room view for you but sorry to hear that you were colder than expected; Jerusalem was experiencing some unexpectedly colder weather than usual. Thank you for highlighting the necessity to check all heating systems.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can ensure of a better experience.
Please do contact me directly so I may be able to assist,
with warm regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
Shimrit.Ohana@danhotels.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Boutique Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Boutique Jerusalem

Address: 31 Hebron Road, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Boutique Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel located opposite Mt Zion and the Old City of Jerusalem, within easy reach of many tourist attractions. The spacious, contemporary guest rooms and suites offer every modern comfort along with state-of-he-art technology. The exquisite interior design skillfully combines eastern and western motifs to create a warm and soothing atmosphere. The guest rooms boast stunning views of Jerusalem’s cityscape, Old City and Mount Zion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dan Boutique Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Boutique Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Dan Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Boutique Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.