We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 7 Arches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The 7 Arches Hotel to your Saves list
The 7 Arches Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount of Olives Place | PO Box 19585, Jerusalem 91190, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

good hotel with good standart. There were beautiful view on Jerusalem from the hotel. Meals were very delicious. I was at the end of january and there was a little cold, however it wasn't a problem.
worth for stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    10
    12
    7
See reviews for
8
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

This hotel was part of our package for Hajj and our visit to Jerusalem.
Hotel was in a nice location of mount of the olives or jabel e zaytun.
beautiful view of the city, from where allot of news reporters use as it has a fabulous view of the city and the Al-aqsa mosque(Dome of the Rock).
the rooms in very bad condition, no heating and the bathrooms were in poor conditions.
service was the ok.
Food wasn't too bad had a a ok selection for breakfast and dinner, not the best.
It looks like the hotel is still in the 60's, needs a good refurb.

I don't know what the cost would be as it was part of our package.
It had allot of mature customers from the US and Europe.
We stayed here for 4 nights with the group and only were in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and putting our heads down.
would i stay here again, yes if it had a refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We have to remember that we are in another country, different culture for those that gave it less than great scores.
Actually, it wasn't 2006 that I stayed there, it was twice before, one in 2000-01 and 2003-04. Those dates weren't an option to pick.
The staff was very nice, the food was great, along with the wonderful view of what we came to see in the first place..... Israel.
I could have slept on a blanket in the street because I was thrilled to be in the land. I am glad we had the hotel instead. I think it was a very nice place and would love to go back. Also, the land is not called Palestine. It is Israel....... the land of Israel.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Spent a few nights at the 7 Arches over Christmas. It's a fine place to stay, BUT travelers must know exactly what this hotel is. First - it's the former Inter Continental built on a Jewish cemetery during the time Jordan was in control of East Jerusalem. Second - it hasn't been touched since that time - furnishing are all from the mid- 1960's - clean but old. Third - it's in an Arab section of town and very difficult to get to the Western sections of the city. Fourth - the staff is terrific and very accomodating. Fifth - the food and restuarants are not kosher - the food is very good, but just be aware that Jewish dietary laws are not observed here. Sixth - no pool. Seventh - a fine place for Christian pilgrims - but a very poor choice for anyone else.

As I said - as long as travelers know what they're getting this can be a fine hotel and make a terrific base for a good trip to the Holy Land.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington (near Manchester)
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I only stayed in Palestine for 2 days but I enjoyed my short stay there very much and it was mirrored by my time spent at the 7 Arches Hotel. I was satisfied with the standard of the hotel however I think that the service could have been improved.

I was told that you could recieve free two-pin adaptors from the reception but when I asked to recieve one inorder to charge my phone, I was told that it was too late at night and that I should try in the morning. When I did so in the morning, they told me they had run out of the adaptors! I was told by the Reception staff that I couldn't buy any in the local area and would have to go into the Old City. But because we had a tour planned for the day, I was not able to go into the Old City to buy myself an adaptor! The day after that was Friday and all of the shops in the Old City were closed! So I had walked around with a dead battery for 2 whole days and unfortunately couldnt record any videos of The Temple Mount or any of the other Sites I visited in Palestine.

However, despite the Adaptor Crisis, the staff of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. But the most spectacular thing about the 7 Arches Hotel was it's location with magical and inspiring views of the Dome of The Rock and Masjid al Aqsa!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

OK.... so far the hotel isn't that bad, but the customer service is TERRIBLE.

For starters, who ever heard of charging $ 1 dollar a minute for calling a toll free line?!!?!!? God!! That simply made me mad. If you take this into account and the condecending tone of the shift manager, you get one horrible experiencie.

Yes, you have to take into consideration that for USD 70 (that's what I paid per night), you can't expect much. But after looking into the other prices within the hotel, that's where they hit you! Not in the accomodations but in everything else you might want to try.

Anyway, if your planning on staying (just to sleep in), its marginaly decent. Either way, please, do try to avoid it.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The fact that they want to charge you an arm and a leg for everything else.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

Not a luxury place to stay at all. however, room is at least comfortable with great views. breakfast is pitiful and the service mediocre. overpiced.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 7 Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 7 Arches Hotel

Address: Mount of Olives Place | PO Box 19585, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The 7 Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seven Arches Jerusalem is situated on top of Mount Olives, not far from the Mount Scopus and looks out from the west, at the Old City of Jerusalem with perhaps one of the more beautiful views of living ancient history in the world. To the north, the hotel overlooks the backdrop of the hills of Bethlehem surrounded by large Green Garden. Our rooms are large and some of them with the best view of Jerusalem.From its hilltop location on the Mount of Olives, the 7 arches hotel looks out onto one of the most inspiring views in the world...the old city of Jerusalem. The hotel is a short distance from the ancient historical sites of the Holy City and is the perfect base for excursions to Bethlehem, Jericho, Massada, Galilee and beyond.Transportation from Ben Gurion International in Tel-Aviv to the hotel is 50Km (31-60 min. by taxi), and from the hotel to the city center of Jerusalem is 3 km (2-5min. by taxi). Official languages are Arabic and English, Hebrew is widely spoken, and many speak French, German, and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The 7 Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Arches Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 7 Arches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.