We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adhan? What adhan?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added American Colony to your Saves list
American Colony
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Adhan? What adhan?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful setting. Great atmosphere. Excellent service. Clean, comfortable room. Delicious food.

It does take a night to get used to the muezzin's morning wake-up call, but it soon fades into background noise...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are also closer to the mosque loudspeakers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    126
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
64
193
65
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The American Colony is a true luxury hotel, with all the small details attentively and thoughtfully addressed.

I stayed in Pasha Room 33 in the Palm House. There was a small entryway with historical picture of the area. The bedroom itself was huge with windows on two sides providing great ambient light. The bed and linens were comfortable. The TV had a good selection of channels. There were tons of electrical outlets all over the room, including both European and UK outlets.

The bathroom is well designed with a soaking tub with shelf on which to rest a book or a beverage. The shower stall is large and well designed with good water pressure. Two sets of toiletries are provided as well as extras like a loofah and a comb. The towels are very large and soft. There were also robes and slippers. My bathroom had a window which provided wonderful natural light.

My room had a small balcony with chairs and a table. There was a glass and screen door to the balcony, allowing the option to have just the screen door closed and fresh air into the room.

The hotel is set back from the road with beautiful gardens with lovely seating areas.

If I were going back to Jerusalem, I would not consider staying anywhere else.

The only glitch in the service that I observed was in the garden dining area. There were never enough staff and guests often had to seek someone out to show them to a table.

The breakfast is very, very good with an excellent variety of hot and cold items. The coffee was very slow to be delivered though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in late May 2013. An oasis of colonial style in the bustle of busy Jerusalem. Our room was nicely furnished though it had been recently cleaned with something resembling detol, the smell thankfully wore off quickly. Our room overlooked the airconditioning unit, so we were unable to view the beautiful gardens directly from here. We used the lovely swimming pool to relax after a hard days' sightseeing, and would have liked to have a pre-breakfast swim but it didn't open until 9am. Breakfast in the courtyard was superb, but at dinner in the evening there the service was somewhat haphazard! Dinner in the Cellar Bar was much better with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, PA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

In mid-May of 2013, we had the good pleasure of spending one night at the American Colony Hotel in Jerusalem on the last night of our nine days in Israel, and it was a perfect way to end the trip. We were coming back from a two-day road trip in the Galilee, so we were utterly exhausted. We're more Days Inn travelers than Ritz-Carlton, so it was quickly obvious that we were out of our element at this sort of high-end place, but the staff made us feel very welcome as soon as we pulled into the driveway. And there was much about our stay that continued to impress me.

First, I was pleased to find plentiful and free parking. The check-in process was simple. The room was well-appointed, spacious, and luxurious, though in a very classic sense, not 21st-century extravagance. There were books on a bookshelf above the desk, including works by Dickens. The desk was huge, which was very helpful for some of the organizational stuff that we had to do as we wrapped up our trip.

The bathroom was also well-appointed and spacious, including a funky old radio on which we belted some delightful Israeli music. The towels were huge, large enough to dry a herd of ibex (though this was not necessary). The shower stall was enclosed by a half wall, always an odd choice to me, as this allowed some water to splash onto the bathroom floor. But this really turned out to be my only gripe about the place, and nothing could be more insignificant than a little water spillage.

We were so exhausted that we didn't feel like going out for dinner after we arrived or even strolling down to the restaurant in the hotel, so we ordered room service for the first time since our honeymoon ten years ago. Much to my surprise, the food was delicious, and the quantities were plentiful, such that we were stuffed by the end of the meal.

We enjoyed a great night of sleep and were so comfortable that we slept in longer than we expected in the morning, just to soak in our luxurious surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed a delicious (and complementary) breakfast, which included not only the typical stuff that we had encountered at all of our other hotels throughout Israel (bread, yogurt, egg products) but also some Israeli rarities (bacon and smoked sausage!!) which delighted this American palate.

And when the time came when we finally needed to leave, the staff at the front desk were extremely gracious and professional. When I asked if we could leave our rental car in the parking lot for the rest of the day, even though we were checking out and no longer registered guests at the hotel, I was thrilled with an immediate "Of course!" response. And before we actually left, we spent a few minutes enjoying the beautiful garden courtyard and various sitting rooms.

We were easily able to find a taxi in the front driveway to take us to the relatively nearby Mount of Olives, and at the end of the day, it was a relatively short walk back to the American Colony from the Old City, through the Damascus Gate and past The Garden Tomb.

Paying $350 for one night was extravagant far beyond our normal travel plans, but if any place could be worth that amount of money, it would be the American Colony. The connection to Horatio Spafford, author of one of my absolute favorite hymns, was just the extra icing on the cake. If we ever return to Jerusalem, I will make every effort to spend at least one night at the American Colony, and I am happy to recommend it to anyone traveling to Jerusalem with the means to enjoy such wonderful accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here in early May 2013 for 4 nights at a rate of $255 (single) per night including breakfast. On arrival I was upgraded to a double, which was extremely comfortable (great king-sized bed) and large, with good cupboard space, a safe, a minibar, a great bathroom (and excellent cosmetics), a really strong shower, fluffy white bath-sheets and generous hot water. Truly 5 star. I have stayed in Jerusalem many times for various reasons in all kinds of hotels, but would not stay anywhere else in future. The compound of buildings, with cool, and rather understated interiors, is extremely beautifully laid out, with lush gardens, seated areas and a truly magnificent outdoor heated swimming pool (with gym). It is a place of quite and restrained refinement, and the guests seem to comprise an unusual and cosmopolitan mix of tourists, locals, academics, politicians, professionals and eccentrics. It feels sometimes as if one is stepping back in time before the country as a whole became so brash and militarized. The central attraction is the main courtyard which is an exquisite place to sit for breakfast and other meals. I ordered room service on one occasion which was quick and delicious. The breakfasts were sumptuous, and had everything from traditional Palestinian fare (humus, labne, olives, flatbreads) to Western food (eggs, bacon, cheeses, smoked salmon, fruits, enormous selection of pastries and jams, cereals and yoghurts) - all in abundance and served from 630-1030am so that you can well do without lunch. Service at breakfast was a little uneven but because its mostly a buffet it really made no difference. Management is pleasant, if a little distant, but one gets left alone to do one's own thing, which I really like. Plenty of parking, although driving in Jerusalem generally is bedevilled truly awful traffic at almost any time of the day or night. The area in which the hotel is situated, just east of the East/West "seam" is like an oasis of calm, within easy walking distance of the Old City and East Jerusalem shopping area. If you're looking for a bling-bling experience this place is not for you; this is the kind of place to relax and reflect, with a really old-fashioned refinement, and the rates are extremely reasonable for the luxury one gets. The bookshop, with an excellent stock of historical literature and fiction, is a major advantage; the assistant I met was knowledgeable and engaging. All in all, I can't fault the place, and am already planning a longer holiday there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Jerusalem is where my wife and I were born and when we enter the American Colony, it feels like we have come home!
From the moment we stepped in, the staff recognized us from our previous visits and the oriental hospitality and warmth was always there wherever we went, from the breakfast staff, to the valet, to the taxi drivers even the proprietors of the bookstore and the gift shop!
Our room overlooked the pool and was light and airy. Having breakfast in the courtyard was delightful and every morning we looked forward to this treat. One morning while having breakfast, we started to chat with one of the landscapers who had designed the courtyard gardens, he went out of his way to give us a detailed tour of the herb gardens in back of the Palm House explaining us the history of some of the olive trees that were about one thousand years old.
We had dinner at the hotel for a couple of nights and the quality of the ingredients and the flavors of the food was excellent. The American Colony is an oasis of tranquility in Jerusalem and needless to say, we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When the travel arranged hotel turned to be far less than advertised, the American Colony Hotel was able to accomodate us and our friends for our first night in Jerusalem - depsite it being during the peak holiday season.

Great service, outstanding room and very tasty food! Very personal service and definitely deserving of its five star rating. Will book here first next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Colony

Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — American Colony 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your American Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.