We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added American Colony to your Saves list
American Colony
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Jerusalem
johannesburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here in early May 2013 for 4 nights at a rate of $255 (single) per night including breakfast. On arrival I was upgraded to a double, which was extremely comfortable (great king-sized bed) and large, with good cupboard space, a safe, a minibar, a great bathroom (and excellent cosmetics), a really strong shower, fluffy white bath-sheets and generous hot water. Truly 5 star. I have stayed in Jerusalem many times for various reasons in all kinds of hotels, but would not stay anywhere else in future. The compound of buildings, with cool, and rather understated interiors, is extremely beautifully laid out, with lush gardens, seated areas and a truly magnificent outdoor heated swimming pool (with gym). It is a place of quite and restrained refinement, and the guests seem to comprise an unusual and cosmopolitan mix of tourists, locals, academics, politicians, professionals and eccentrics. It feels sometimes as if one is stepping back in time before the country as a whole became so brash and militarized. The central attraction is the main courtyard which is an exquisite place to sit for breakfast and other meals. I ordered room service on one occasion which was quick and delicious. The breakfasts were sumptuous, and had everything from traditional Palestinian fare (humus, labne, olives, flatbreads) to Western food (eggs, bacon, cheeses, smoked salmon, fruits, enormous selection of pastries and jams, cereals and yoghurts) - all in abundance and served from 630-1030am so that you can well do without lunch. Service at breakfast was a little uneven but because its mostly a buffet it really made no difference. Management is pleasant, if a little distant, but one gets left alone to do one's own thing, which I really like. Plenty of parking, although driving in Jerusalem generally is bedevilled truly awful traffic at almost any time of the day or night. The area in which the hotel is situated, just east of the East/West "seam" is like an oasis of calm, within easy walking distance of the Old City and East Jerusalem shopping area. If you're looking for a bling-bling experience this place is not for you; this is the kind of place to relax and reflect, with a really old-fashioned refinement, and the rates are extremely reasonable for the luxury one gets. The bookshop, with an excellent stock of historical literature and fiction, is a major advantage; the assistant I met was knowledgeable and engaging. All in all, I can't fault the place, and am already planning a longer holiday there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    123
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
63
190
64
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Jerusalem is where my wife and I were born and when we enter the American Colony, it feels like we have come home!
From the moment we stepped in, the staff recognized us from our previous visits and the oriental hospitality and warmth was always there wherever we went, from the breakfast staff, to the valet, to the taxi drivers even the proprietors of the bookstore and the gift shop!
Our room overlooked the pool and was light and airy. Having breakfast in the courtyard was delightful and every morning we looked forward to this treat. One morning while having breakfast, we started to chat with one of the landscapers who had designed the courtyard gardens, he went out of his way to give us a detailed tour of the herb gardens in back of the Palm House explaining us the history of some of the olive trees that were about one thousand years old.
We had dinner at the hotel for a couple of nights and the quality of the ingredients and the flavors of the food was excellent. The American Colony is an oasis of tranquility in Jerusalem and needless to say, we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When the travel arranged hotel turned to be far less than advertised, the American Colony Hotel was able to accomodate us and our friends for our first night in Jerusalem - depsite it being during the peak holiday season.

Great service, outstanding room and very tasty food! Very personal service and definitely deserving of its five star rating. Will book here first next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice rooms with cleverly designed (partly antique) furniture. Internet functions well. Excellent breakfast buffet. The visit to the downstairs bar is a must. It has a unique atmosphere. The old town is within Walking distance and the staff is helpful in arranging larger excursions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed with my wife and i can say it is an extremely nice small hotel and we like these type of hotels. Full of history, very clean, big room. lovely bar, good service (helped us with ourlost luggage), etc. We wanted to go to the restaurant but as we did not make a reservation we did not had a place but we went to the bar and has a wonderful atmosphere. Brekfast could be a bit better, specially for the type of hotel it is. The area in which it is located is not the nicest orcleanest, but the hotel is wonderful and i strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are in Jerusalem and you are looking for a luxury and pleasant stay you have to choose between the big palace standard of the "institutional" King David Hotel and the cozy experience of the American Colony.
I had no doubt in choosing this last and my choice has been repaid.
The hotel is created in a private area ten minutes walk from Damascus Gate. Sourrondings are pretty residential so is difficult to find something commercial (included restaurants) around. But don't worry, in the hotel you can choose between 2 restaurants (one in the secluded garden is a corner of Paradise on earth) and 2 bars. All without any impression of a "resort area"..
This is because the hotel is divided in different buildings settled around luxuriant gardens with every kind of plants, flowers and trees (and a guide to the hotel flora is available in every room).
Rooms are really wide and furnished in a (of course..) colonial style. Bathrooms are even wider, with both shower and a wonderful old style bathtub and an elegant white & black chess floor.
Amenities are of the same high level and includes mouth wash. Water pressure and hot / cold regulation are excellent also if you use shower and bathtub at the same time.
Breakfast is served in the same garden of the restaurant and gives you the best way to start your day. The choice of food is on the top standard and includes everithing you may desire both sweet and salted, included dishes made at the moment.
But..there is also something not so good to say and unfortunately is a basic part of the stay in every hotel of the world: staff attitude. I have to be clear, except for just a case, I can't say about rudeness or bad manners, but I have constantly sensed a sort of lovenliness and conceit mixed with continued "distraction" (is the case in which staff seems more to chat to each other than pay attention to the client). And I think that it is not allowable in a five star hotel. If the "employee of the month" (as shown in a proud picture hanged in the premises) passes most part of the time chatting with waiters more than stay in her / his workplace and disappears for minutes in the only part of the day in which he / she have to stay in contact with clients, is licit to ask to yourself how is hte hotel policy about staff training and evaluation. And when another member of staff is even excessive in his smilings at the beginning of your stay and after you tip him with the equivalent of 4 dollars (when you arrive in the late evening after an hours journey in the desert and you really have only that money with you) literally stop to greet you (and don't answer when you greet him looking at you with a grunt)... the question is the same above..
This is the reason why the final evaluation is 4 points more than the 5 that the hotel may deserves. The staff is one of the most important, maybe the utmost, element of an hotel and in this case is not a five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

a most wonderful hotel, full of history, culture and significance - as the whole of jerusalem, really. comfortable and stylish intertior, nice and helpful staff, amazing food and perfect location for exploring, have stayed there twice and hope to return.

Room Tip: the hotel is just so special, i agree with a previous comment - choose the least expensive room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Colony

Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — American Colony 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LHW, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your American Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.