We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Colony

Save Saved
You added American Colony to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
American Colony
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When the travel arranged hotel turned to be far less than advertised, the American Colony Hotel was able to accomodate us and our friends for our first night in Jerusalem - depsite it being during the peak holiday season.

Great service, outstanding room and very tasty food! Very personal service and definitely deserving of its five star rating. Will book here first next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    120
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
60
181
60
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice rooms with cleverly designed (partly antique) furniture. Internet functions well. Excellent breakfast buffet. The visit to the downstairs bar is a must. It has a unique atmosphere. The old town is within Walking distance and the staff is helpful in arranging larger excursions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed with my wife and i can say it is an extremely nice small hotel and we like these type of hotels. Full of history, very clean, big room. lovely bar, good service (helped us with ourlost luggage), etc. We wanted to go to the restaurant but as we did not make a reservation we did not had a place but we went to the bar and has a wonderful atmosphere. Brekfast could be a bit better, specially for the type of hotel it is. The area in which it is located is not the nicest orcleanest, but the hotel is wonderful and i strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are in Jerusalem and you are looking for a luxury and pleasant stay you have to choose between the big palace standard of the "institutional" King David Hotel and the cozy experience of the American Colony.
I had no doubt in choosing this last and my choice has been repaid.
The hotel is created in a private area ten minutes walk from Damascus Gate. Sourrondings are pretty residential so is difficult to find something commercial (included restaurants) around. But don't worry, in the hotel you can choose between 2 restaurants (one in the secluded garden is a corner of Paradise on earth) and 2 bars. All without any impression of a "resort area"..
This is because the hotel is divided in different buildings settled around luxuriant gardens with every kind of plants, flowers and trees (and a guide to the hotel flora is available in every room).
Rooms are really wide and furnished in a (of course..) colonial style. Bathrooms are even wider, with both shower and a wonderful old style bathtub and an elegant white & black chess floor.
Amenities are of the same high level and includes mouth wash. Water pressure and hot / cold regulation are excellent also if you use shower and bathtub at the same time.
Breakfast is served in the same garden of the restaurant and gives you the best way to start your day. The choice of food is on the top standard and includes everithing you may desire both sweet and salted, included dishes made at the moment.
But..there is also something not so good to say and unfortunately is a basic part of the stay in every hotel of the world: staff attitude. I have to be clear, except for just a case, I can't say about rudeness or bad manners, but I have constantly sensed a sort of lovenliness and conceit mixed with continued "distraction" (is the case in which staff seems more to chat to each other than pay attention to the client). And I think that it is not allowable in a five star hotel. If the "employee of the month" (as shown in a proud picture hanged in the premises) passes most part of the time chatting with waiters more than stay in her / his workplace and disappears for minutes in the only part of the day in which he / she have to stay in contact with clients, is licit to ask to yourself how is hte hotel policy about staff training and evaluation. And when another member of staff is even excessive in his smilings at the beginning of your stay and after you tip him with the equivalent of 4 dollars (when you arrive in the late evening after an hours journey in the desert and you really have only that money with you) literally stop to greet you (and don't answer when you greet him looking at you with a grunt)... the question is the same above..
This is the reason why the final evaluation is 4 points more than the 5 that the hotel may deserves. The staff is one of the most important, maybe the utmost, element of an hotel and in this case is not a five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

a most wonderful hotel, full of history, culture and significance - as the whole of jerusalem, really. comfortable and stylish intertior, nice and helpful staff, amazing food and perfect location for exploring, have stayed there twice and hope to return.

Room Tip: the hotel is just so special, i agree with a previous comment - choose the least expensive room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The American Colony is a beautiful hotel...the room are modern, spacious, with a simple elegance. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is the best. The hotel is within walking distace to all the sights of Old City of Jerusalem. If you stay in Jerusalem area and don't stay at the American Colony then you are missing out on a great experience. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at The American Colony last year for the first time. I loved it and so did the rest of my family. So much that we decided to give it another go this April. We stayed in the Palm House building. It has been completely redone....beautiful job !
This hotel has so much character, charm and personality. The exact opposite of most of hotels nowadays.
The decoration is discreet yet very sophisticated, the people you'll meet there are an amazing mix of cosmopolitan journalists, ambassadors, ministers and extended local families who gather for a Friday lunch.
This time I took advantage of the gym that's at your disposal. Great view on the swimming pool and surrounding gardens . The staff is very attentive, handing you a towel and bringing you water every so often. I felt like a queen !
Talking about the staff, Iike last year, they've been so attentive to both the kids and my dad. Always a kind word, always there and ready to help at any time. So nice and helpful.
Well.....something tells me I'll be back to The American Colony !

Room Tip: The rooms In the Palm House Building are brand new ! Or for more nostalgic and history loving people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Colony

Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — American Colony 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your American Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.