We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quiet away from the crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ramat Rachel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ramat Rachel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ramat Rachel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel (Givat Ram)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Ramat Rachel Hotel is on the outskirts of Jerusalem. It's a great place to stay if you want some quiet at the end of the day of touring. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby. The pool is super - large, clean and refreshing. The grounds are well maintained and you can enjoy the cool Jerusalem evening air after a day of touring.

Breakfasts are typical for Israeli hotels - plentiful with lots of variety. The same can be said or other meals if you are eating in the hotel.

There is a city bus route that starts and ends at the hotel so transportation back and forth into town is easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
15
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in May and had a pleasant stay. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool looked great as well. Our room was modern, spacious and clean. The bathroom was in good order. The breakfast and dinner buffets like any (most) buffets in Israel - plenty of selection, but pretty much the same everywhere you go. There is free Internet in the lobby and even free use of laptops if needed. The bar area is functional, not pretty. If you're lucky you may even get a bartender that knows how to do more than just pour a beer ;-) Staff was very friendly and helpful - not always encountered in Israel!
Ramat Rachel is really on the outskirts of the Jerusalem, meaning a ca. € 15 taxi ride into the Old City. However, I would not hesitate to book again as I enjoyed the peace and quiet after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at Ramat Rachel in April 2012. Was were with a group. My room was ok but other group members complainted about lots of ants in their rooms.
Food was great!
Theoretically there is a bus line 7 going from the hotel to somewhere in the city center but I have never seen this bus. The only way you can get to the city center is to take a taxi, the price varies from 60 shekels (16 USD) on Saturday to 40 shekels (11 USD) on other days.
The hotel is located in Talpiot, I went for long walks in Talpiot, it is a residence area, nothing but houses. The only attraction is Agnon's house-museum which is open only in the morning (10-13).
I would not recomment this hotel because of its very unconvenient location unless you have a car or have some business in Talpiot. The seminar I attented was in a building in Talpiot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
861 reviews 861 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just stopped here for lunch. Lunch was set up as cafeteria style, hot meal, salad bar, and sandwiches. The staff was friendly, but they didn’t tell us that if you got some salad with your hot meal you paid double for two meals. The food was basic and average for lunch. Place was very busy with large tour groups and very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The first room we were given had a very noisy bathroom fan. We complained and were given a new room. I wanted to take a shower at 5 pm when I checked in, but there was no hot water, so I took a tepid shower in a cold bathroom. The main room was a bit cramped and uncomfortable and there were no kleenex. There were 4 light switches in a group. The switches on the right controlled the lights on the left and vice-versa. The switches on the top controlled the lights on the bottom, and vice-versa. You ended up pressing every button to turn on or off a light. It was very frustrating. I would not stay there again. The elevators somehow faced away from pedestrian traffic and were hard to find. They also needed a coat of paint because the paint was dirty and scuffed up. The building and grounds were beautiful and breakfast was delicious. Staff was helpful. I complained to my tour guide and was told this hotel was a great value in the Jerusalem area. Give me a Comfort Inn any day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The room was modern, spacious and clean, of good standard. Hotel breakfast and dinner buffet was very good. We found it over expectation. Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Ten years ago my husband and I were married at the Hotel Ramat Rachel and were very excited to go there with our twin five year olds. Although winters are cold in Jerusalem, we were looking forward to spending time in the heated pool and enjoying all the hotel has to offer. We arrived on a cold Friday afternoon. The room was absolutely freezing. We then noticed cold air was coming out of the air conditioner. We called the front desk and asked someone to come check it. We waited for over half an hour and still no one came, so we thought we'd take a nice, hot bath. To our dismay, there was no hot water. We called the front desk again and they said they would send someone. About ten minutes later, a man finally arrived. He checked the shower and said, "It's a big hotel. That's what happens when many people take a shower. There isn't enough hot water. I can't tell other people not to shower" (Well, being a hotel, wouldn't you think they'd try to solve the problem?) He then went to take a look at the air conditioner. He tinkered with it for a while, brought another man who helped them, messed around with it, said it was okay, and left. It wasn't okay, we froze all night. It was only fixed the next day, about an hour before we checked out.
The pool is within walking distance of the hotel, but there is no connecting corridor which means that in the freezing cold of Jerusalem, you have to walk outside for about 10 minutes. The pool itself was FREEZING as well. Our girls wanted so much to splash around that we finally gave in and went for a swim. After about 20 minutes, their lips had turned blue from the cold. Then, in the freezing cold, we walked back to the hotel.
And now for the pièce de résistance: When we got to our room on the first day, there was only one chair. Since our twins both wanted to sit and color, I asked the lady at the front desk if we could have another chair. She looked at me and said without flinching, "I'm sorry, but we don't have any more chairs in the hotel." I was so flabbergasted that I didn't even argue with her. (um, I saw lots of chairs in the lobby, in the restaurant… a bit of good will and imagination could have quickly solved the problem, but she couldn't care less.)
All in all, it was a freezing nightmare. We were sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ramat Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramat Rachel

Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Givat Ram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramat Rachel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibbutz Ramat Rachel Hotel located south of Jerusalem's city center and in close proximity to the city's historical sites and cultural attractions - the hotel overlooks Bethlehem. Each of the hotel's 164 spacious rooms features breathtaking views of the capital, and each comes with cable television, a lounge area, kettle and bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ramat Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ramat Rachel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.