We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“e loved it and will be back in October 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ramat Rachel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ramat Rachel to your Saves list
Hotel Ramat Rachel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“e loved it and will be back in October 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The kibbutz hotel is located at the South end of Jerusalem, convenient by car and by the #7 bus. The amenities are first rate, the hotel staff is very friendly. The breakfast is above average for Israel. The rooms are nice and confortable.
If you look out the back you can see then,lights of Bethllehem in the distance..

The convention facilities are first rate

Room Tip: he rooms with the best view are facing the back ol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
17
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emlichheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed the previous years in many hotels in Israel and Jerusalem. For us the best choice in Jerusalem is since a few years Ramat Rachel. The hotel has a quiet surrounding, but it is still Jerusalem with a beautiful view over the Judean hills toward Bethlehem. The hotel rooms are modernized and comfortable. The breakfast and dinner buffets are realy fine and best of all, comparing with other Israel hotels, the attitude of the staff is helpfull and friendly. Large pool and enough free parking space. It is not close to the Old City, but there is a busstop in front of the hotel that helps out. Free Wifi in the lobby. An absolute good choice for a reasonable price. We'll be back there.
Henk en Aartje Dijkema NL/D

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Pros:
Our Room was comfortable and it had extra super long (as he width of the room) sofa next to the window on which 2 children can sleep.

We also got great extra bed for our baby which exceeded all expectations. (Babies younger than 2 years old are 4 free as far as I can remember).

The are other rooms in the south flank which are entirely new and the whole south flank really looks fantastic for a 4 star hotel. Ask only for the south flank if you can.

The wi-fi internet is for free in is active in the lobby and even in the sports center. (For travelers with no laptop there are 3 computers for use but not for free)
The accessories in bathroom were excellent and new (from the Israeli brand “Hamat” which are considered very good), there was a great comfortable dispenser with liquid soap which can be used in one hand both in the bath and near the sink.

The receptionists were very polite although the hotel was almost full.
In the 6th floor they enabled an access to the external roof which had a stunning view over several parts of the Jerusalem (unfortunately not to the north direction, so you cannot see the ancient city), and there was also a room on the roof for the winter.

The hotel is surrounded with nice gardens, and you can have a pleasant walk in the evening.

Dinner was excellent besides the deserts (Which was Kosher thus cannot include any milk based desert – quite understandable for a jewish hotel though.)

Most of the lobby & surroundings is handicapped friendly

Both pools (children & elder) in the sports center are great and they also have there a nice big bubble tub and tennis courts.

Cons:

I phoned the hotel before making the reservations and there were few things that I was told which were not accurate:

Since I made my reservation on the last minute, I got an exceptional promise (Something which they generally not do) to get refurbished room. My room in the bottom most floor near the dining room was half-refurbished (Opposed to the new south flank). The furniture (Table, closet & chest of drawers) was old and worn out and safe inside the closet was not working properly (But I didn’t complain about it).
Since it was the jewish Sukkot holiday, I wanted to eat my dinner in the sukkah, and I was told over the phone that it was no problem. In practice, when I entered the hotel, I asked about it and they told me that all seats are reserved in advance and it is not possible. I came late for dinner, and asked if I can sit in the the sukkah instead of people which were already gone, and the waiter denied me, and only on the 3rd time he checked if it was possible. After returning with a negative answer he did not do any effort to find me a place during the dinner although lots of people from the sukkah returned to their room and the waiter did not look very busy to me.
I also saw an old handicapped person making a very long and slow travel from the food counters to his seat in the sukkah with a food plate in one hand and a cup of coffee in his other hand. Non of the “not so busy” waiters rushed to help him and after a minute or saw I got up from my seat and helped him by myself. He was very grateful for this.
Bottom line, I would expect the service over the phone to be more credible and the service in the dining room to be more sensitive and considerate.

The room furniture was partly worn out as I sad earlier and in addition, there was absolutely no information flier inside about the services the hotel provides, besides instructions for the safe which was broken anyway. I even had to guess the reception number in order to phone them. (remember: it is ‘0’).
In the bathroom, the toilet button had no economy mode as most of toilet buttons have already for years, so there was no information about how to flush only half the water amount as I am used to.
The Wi-Fi connectivity failed to work in my room, and the receptionists told me that it is supposed to work only in the lobby.

The breakfast was average with no pastries (such as croissant/burekas) and no one was making omelets for you per your request as they do in most Israeli 4/5 stars hotels. But maybe all this was because that the hotel is pretty religious and it was the eve of a Sukkot jewish holiday

The sports center demands a 3 minute walk outside the hotel (Although there is a forbidden direct access from the 3rd floor as I discovered in a travel I did).
Inside the sports center there are a lot of stairs so it is not handicapped friendly, the gym is very big but entering it for the hotel tenants costs additional 25 NIS, the pools are external and do not fit the winter (they started to build a new internal pool which will only be ready at least a year from now to my estimation), there is a water slide for the children (weirdly planned far away from the pool) which was not active.

The hotel location is far away from Jerusalem city center, so you must use public transportation to get to the old city.

Bottom line, despite all these cons, the hotel is pretty nice and as long as you don’t expect too much, it gives pretty much good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburb
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We worked on an Archeological project at Ramat Rachel. We stayed and ate in the hotel during the dig. The staff is very helpful. The bar has the best coffee around. The meals are wonderful. Although the part of the hotel we stayed in is the older section, it is comfortable and we were there for almost three weeks. Wonderful balcony overlooking the spa and pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

It is difficult to find a hotel accomodating 2 adults and 2 children in israel. Ramat Rachel's deluxe room gave all four of us comfortable, clean space and plenty of extra room to spread out. The bathroom was big, clean and a great shower. We had a lot of fun at the pool and loved the big Israeli breakfast including in our stay. Definately highly recommended for your next Jerusalem visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I was the guest/travel companion of a friend who was staying at the Ramat Rachel for business. She seemed fine with the accommodations. I, on the other hand, would have moved to another hotel if I was paying. With the exchange at that time, I think the rate was around $165. As an earlier commenter posted, that's too steep for what is essentially a motor lodge. If the room had been clean at least, I could easily forgive the property's other weaknesses (dirty upholstery on lobby furniture, mediocre paid breakfast, far from city center (but a bus stop right at hotel, points for that!!). They are remodeling but we were in one of the older rooms. The rug had several large stains (I refused to walk barefoot on it) and my bedcover had spots of some dried substance on it. One of the two blankets in the closet was filthy (my roommate's pronouncement). We left those two items on the floor with a note asking for clean replacements. We returned to the room to find housekeeping had stuffed them into the closet and did not replace either, ever. I let my friend use the clean blanket and bedcover and I slept in my long underwear and was warm enough. The bathrooms were haphazardly cleaned. There is a blow dryer but all amenities are dispensed from containers in the shower. A couple positives: the water pressure and temperature were excellent! And our room was quiet. After my friend returned to the US, I stayed another week in Jerusalem lodging in the Old City at the Ecce Homo Convent and the Christ Church Guest House. Both were an improvement over Ramat Rachel. Spartan but clean, well located, atmospheric (hearing the muezzin calling) and excellent price. Plus breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Considering they charge half of most Jerusalem hotels, this is a good experience if you want to stay at a Kibbutz. Everything is just ok and if you're there on a sabbath, don't expect room service. Good to be away from hustle and bustle.

On the upside, we watched the sheep graze on the hills outside Bethlehem. That was worth the stay. There's a wonder to this Holy Land, you wonder constantly if you are looking at the same hillsides as Mary and Joseph.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ramat Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramat Rachel

Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramat Rachel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibbutz Ramat Rachel Hotel located south of Jerusalem's city center and in close proximity to the city's historical sites and cultural attractions - the hotel overlooks Bethlehem. Each of the hotel's 164 spacious rooms features breathtaking views of the capital, and each comes with cable television, a lounge area, kettle and bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ramat Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ramat Rachel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.