We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prima Palace the Faulty Towers of Jerusalem” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prima Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prima Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Prima Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Pines Street, Jerusalem 91280, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Prima Palace the Faulty Towers of Jerusalem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ever wonder why Faulty Towers came to an end after just a dozen episodes? its because it moved to Jerusalem and took the new name Prima Palace. The truth is comparing the two is an outright insult to Basil Faulty. I have never in my life encountered in any hotel or establishment such surly, unhelpful, mistrusting, patronizing, slovenly staff. and that's just first impressions! on the second day of my stay my smart phone was stolen from my room and the hotel could not have been less helpful. in fact they deliberately tried to keep me from reporting the theft to the police and only began to act as though they cared when the police showed up and began to ask them uncomfortable questions.
I stayed for close to a week and never, ever got to see or speak to the manager. In the end I began to wonder if there even was a manager or whether the staff at the desk were just pretending to pass messages to him.
the hotel itself is uncomfortable. the rooms are small. the aircon is temperamental, the walls paper thin so that you hear EVERYTHING through the adjacent rooms.
In short an absolute disaster. I have given it a few days before writing this review so as to be as objective as possible - but that is just not possible. I am still traumatized.
During my stay I was too ashamed to tell people the name of the hotel I was staying at because whenever I did they looked at me with a combination of derision and pity. oh, and to top it all off the hotel is situated on Pines st only the way its pronounced in Hebrew is inappropriate for polite company....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWjerusalem, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel .
Thanks to our very experienced and trustworthy staff , our hotel is a home in Jerusalem for many guests that keep returning for many years and generation after generation .
By the way,the name of the street we are is the name of a well known writer and early proponent of religious Zionism.
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
27
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently held a convention at the Prima Palace, and we can truly summarize that it was an amazing experience, first we would like to salute The manager Motti and his staff for his warm welcome and for making sure everything ran smoothly, Mrs Monique for her great help. The great accommodations, the clean rooms, the food and the service, we recommend staying at the Prima because it's a home away from home, they really make you feel welcome and itsa great atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, General Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Wow!
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words.
We hope you will return and stay with us again soon.
Prima!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was disappointed in the Prima Palace Hotel this time around. The reception desk was poorly manned, and the manager rude. The magnetic cards did not work at times and I needed to ask for new cards (8) I had 2 rooms and the receptionist kept confusing the charges (1 room had 1 and the second 2) and stayed 6 nights. I had a confirmed reservation with room rate but the receptionist wanted a different amount and I had to argue with her to accept the reservation price. She kept saying that "its a mistake"... on my reservation page. The ref leaked, the safe had no instructions and did not close, and the cleaning crew only made the beds. The phone did not have instructions and the carpets in the hall smelled of disinfectant. There was no ability for taxis to park and load and unload passengers safely. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, General Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns about our hotel.All coments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests. All contractions work finished, the street is open. we hope to give you better service on your next visit to Jerusalem.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wow where to begin - we were made to wait at the front desk for checkin for no apparent reason. After three times of being told to wait the manager finally decided to check us in and demanded full payment up front. That is fine but when we were checking out they started tacking on other fees that were not told to us before!
When we booked our room we paid for breakfast only to find out that there is no breakfast on Saturday!!! When we demanded a refund for it they insisted that we should have asked about it before we paid for it!!! What?? They then explained that the price that you pay for breakfast goes toward some sort of late lunch that took place while we were out touring the city... And we were supposed to know that breakfast is at 4pm how??
At 8:30 am I went down to the kitchen to try to get some sort of cereal or the like, only to be greeted by the lovely yells of the matre de screaming about something in a language other than Hebrew or English or else I would've understood what he was saying!
Oh and the rooms are trash. Just sayin

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. As per our phone conversation and as a neighbor of the hotel, we agreed that some of your complains were a result of misunderstanding. I am sure that on your next visit you will be satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Prima Palace for a second time, and were once again impressed by the hospitality and comfort of this small gem located right in the center of Jerusalem. The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly .... kudos to the General Manager, Motti, for running such a pleasant andscomfortable facility. The location is just great, right by the Jerusalem light rail, and a few minutes walk to Mahane Yehuda, or Ben Yehuda Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWjerusalem, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for writing this nice review.We hope to see you in the near future among our guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

comfortable place to stay with decent size room and bathroom. Good location and friendly, helpful staff. Even though it was an Orthodox Jewish hotel we weren't expected to adhere to their customs and in fact it was very interesting to view their culture as we were there for shabbat and also a Jewish wedding. One of our party also left items in the room which were there on our return visit several days later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel.One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay. We hope you will be returning to stay with us in Jerusalem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Since our flight arrived in Tel Aviv at 3:30 am we wanted to make sure that we could check in early. The hotel advised us that we could do so with a $50 surcharge. When we arrived exhausted at 5:30 am the guard (who did his best to help us despite lack of training) told us that despite our reservation the hotel was full. We asked him if he could call another hotel which he did. The other hotel, also another Prima Hotel, told him that we would have to pay a rate substantially higher than the rate we reserved. We asked the guard to call the hotel manager which he did. The manager advised him to tell us that a room would be ready at 7:30. After repeatedly checking in with the front desk and being given erroneous information we were finally able to go to our room and go to sleep at 8:30. From then on the hotel was on the whole satisfactory. The positives include good beds, towels and linens, good room good air conditioning, good breakfast and walking distance to the Old City. The negatives include a generally surly front desk staff, poor (for a fee) wifi, the immediate area of the hotel isn't particularly appealing and the rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel as we are always working to make our guests' stays better. Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked and we did our best to give you the room as soon as we could. In order to ensure your room ready at 5:30 A.M/ you should reserve the room one day before the arrival. We hope to see you again among our guests on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prima Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Palace Hotel

Address: 2 Pines Street, Jerusalem 91280, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Palace offers a unique blend of modern surroundings with traditional atmosphere, catering specifically to religious, observant visitors. It is within walking distance of the Kotel and the Old City. The hotel is glatt kosher. • 76 Rooms • In-room Netilat Yadaim sinks in most rooms • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel cable TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Separate mens mikve • Banquet halls • Glatt Kosher - by Badatz Agudat Israel • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prima Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Palace Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prima Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.