We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in central Jerusalem, right off the light rail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prima Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prima Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Prima Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Pines Street, Jerusalem 91280, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in central Jerusalem, right off the light rail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to be close to central Jerusalem (it's less than a block away from the Davidka light rail stop on Jaffa Road, and less than a 5 minute walk to Mahane Yehuda, Ben Yehuda, and Geula. It's a quick train ride (3 stops) down to the other end of Jaffa Road by Jaffa Gate and Mamila, and from there it's an easy enough walk through the Old City if you want to get to/from the Kotel (Western Wall)

Yes, it's a religious hotel, and during the holidays it does cater to a mostly religious clientele, ranging from yeshivish to Chassidish. There is a charedi synagogue in the basement, as is typical of most hotels in Jerusalem. However, it has a separate entrance from the hotel itself so it's pretty much independent.

That said, my wife and I (who fall into the more modern end of things on the spectrum) never felt out of place, and were made to feel welcome by the staff. Breakfast (which came with our rate) was a full Israeli-style buffet, with fresh cheeses, fruit, vegetables, eggs made to order, and breads/pastries, as well as coffee/cappuccino and juices. The kosher supervisor (mashgiach) was very attentive and made sure everything was cooked and served properly.

The elevators are set to run automatically on Shabbat and holidays, which can be disconcerting to someone not familiar with the concept. However, there were no shabbat clock (timers) on any of the lamps in the hotel rooms, which I found somewhat odd. Considering that the hotel went to the trouble of installing ritual hand-washing sinks in each room (and not in their bathroom) - I found the lack of shabbat timers somewhat odd. However, the staff was helpful with guests who needed lights switched back on after housekeeping serviced rooms. Beds were comfortable and A/C was cold as ice (a good thing in Israel especially during the summer months)

There were a couple of small minuses that kept me from giving the hotel a full 5 out of 5:

Parking: The parking lot for the hotel is small, even for Israeli-sized cars. If you're renting a car and planning on staying there, make sure you can get a space. Otherwise you'll be paying for parking on the street or in one of the municipal lots (there is one within a few blocks' walk by Mahane Yehuda)

In-room safe: We had two separate stays on our recent trip, one for 5 days and another 2 days. Both times, the in-room safes were not working.

TV service: Only a few channels are offered - no Fox, Sky News, or CNN. While it's true that some guests don't watch TV, there are quite a few who would.

Internet: not easy to connect to, and pricey compared to other locations nearby.

All in all - a really good place to stay in Jerusalem, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: First floor most convenient especially on Shabbat and Yom Tov
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant with lots of details review. We take pride in the design of our hotel, the location and we are glad you found everything to be comfortable. We hope to see you again soon among our guests.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    36
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
31
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an unpretenscious hotel that served well our needs. The managment was helpful and friendly, the rooms were quite and clean and the AC worked very well.
We left inadvertently money and an expesive camera in the room and after the room was cleaed nothing was missing.
Will use it again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Prima Palace and that you would recommend our hotel to friends. It seems as though you enjoyed your stay in Jerusalem and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a Hotel for religious people - Kosher Hotel - but we didn't feel "strange" there.
We loved staying at a tipical kosher hotel, because it is another way to know other culturs.
Convenient location near shopping street (Jaffa St.) and tramway line. We can walk to the Old City (about 5 minutes) down the way.
The hotel parking is tiny and you may have a fine ticket if you park in the streets.
The internet is not free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Prima Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel. One of the nicwst things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope you will returning to stay with us in Jerusalem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We were there for 3 nights
best locatin-the new tramp 3 station to the old city
hotel was good very good staff. rooms little small but have what you need.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Not being Orthodox Jews (but rather Reform Jews), we felt unwelcome and uncomfortable from the moment we arrived. The room was so small, there was literally no place to put luggage. The housekeeping crew was unbelievably noisy at 8:30am, waking us from a dead sleep to clean the room across from ours (we HAD put a "Sleeping" sign on our door, so they had the opportunity to be quieter if they had chosen to be.) The breakfast was mediocre. We stayed at their sister hotel, the Prima Royale, last year and loved it, so we thought this was a safe bet. I don't plan on ever staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having arrived at about 06h30 following my flight from JFK to TLV, the charming front desk staff enabled me to check in early, just as they allowed me to check out late on my day of departure.

The courtyard of the hotel is very attractive, as is the lobby, as are the accommodations.

Breakfast at the hotel is copious, fresh, quite varied & delicious. Unfortunately I'm unable to say as much about the food served in the banquet rooms on the hotel's lower level (i.e., cheap, unattractive, tasteless food, criminally overcooked, that my dogs would disdainfully refuse to eat).

But as man lives not by bread alone, the substandard banquet food did little to detract from the joyous celebration of a Bar Mitzvah at the Kotel (aka Western Wall) & a non-stop stream of wonderful activities organised by the Bar Mitzvah boy's parents for all four generations of celebrants hailing from Belgium, Canada, Israel, The Netherlands, the UK & the US.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms in the Prima Palace are equally comfy & well appointed. As such, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, the Ultra Orthodox center to one side and the night life to the other. Most of the people working there really care - which is why I couldn't give them a lone star.

Expedia lists this hotel as one with free parking. Upon arrival I was told that parking is on a first come first served basis. Fair enough, only there are only 5 parking spots they told me. 5 spots for a hotel with 76 rooms!

I was about to lose it when the worker informed me, ever so kindly that if I come back down at 11PM (that was 8PM) she can guarantee me a spot. Imagine my surprise when I see the hotel employee pulling out of the complimentary spot at 11pm. I can't think of service worse than this.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel do not expect to find parking - even around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prima Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Palace Hotel

Address: 2 Pines Street, Jerusalem 91280, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Palace offers a unique blend of modern surroundings with traditional atmosphere, catering specifically to religious, observant visitors. It is within walking distance of the Kotel and the Old City. The hotel is glatt kosher. • 76 Rooms • In-room Netilat Yadaim sinks in most rooms • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel cable TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Separate mens mikve • Banquet halls • Glatt Kosher - by Badatz Agudat Israel • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prima Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Palace Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prima Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.