We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerusalem location affordable, walk to old city, shopping, dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palatin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palatin Hotel to your Saves list
Palatin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agripas Street 4 | Center of Jerusalem, Jerusalem 94301, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jerusalem location affordable, walk to old city, shopping, dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Palatin Hotel Jerusalem gives the feel of a family owned B&B, very personalbe. The price is very affordable given the excellent location, near the pedestrian district Ben Yahuda St. and a 20 minute walk downhill to the Old City Jaffa Gate. Buses and taxis are plentiful. Restaurants and shopping are near.
The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The room was what we expected: small, comfortable, functional, cool, with a strong shower. They have a city map in English and Hebrew on which they recommended numerous restaurants and attractions. We used that map all week. And each restaurant was excellent food. You will eat well in Jeruselem. Which brings me to the free breakfast which had bread/toast to eat with a good variety of cheeses, meat spreads, egg spread, tuna, hard boiled eggs, mediterainian spreads. They also offered yogurt, cereals, jams, and great coffee. Israels like pickled fish for breakfast. But I found plenty else to eat.
The front desk and kitchen people were kind enough to put my knee cold pack in the freezer each day for when I returned before dinner limping from Jerusalem's endless hills and stairs. This willingness to be accomidating impressed me. The front desk person also helped us interpret how the taxis were over charging us. The drivers hide the meter in the glove compartment. Bargain a price with you and then put on a show of "not knowing how to reach your location." Each taxi driver has GPS on his phone. Don't get in the taxi until they agree to the price you tell them through the window.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    55
    22
    20
See reviews for
27
89
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The Lonely Planet guide mentioned this hotel in the midrange section, which we booked direct at the last minute from having seen it in the guidebook. From what the guidebook had said, and from the almost aggressively reasonable price, I was expecting a rundown motel and was very pleasantly surprised.

It is at the end of Agripas Street, which runs close to the Jaffa Road (this feeds in to the Jaffa Gate, which is a good starting point for almost anything you care to do in Jerusalem old city), in a pedestrianised zone. It is a three storey or so building, which looks a little run-down at the entrance but as you look up, you realise that the clean stone walls and balconies above you are all part of the hotel too.

It is a ten to fifteen minute walk from both the city centre in one direction and the Mahane Yehuda market (which we missed but seems to be the slightly bohemian area and apparently has the best food, fruit and cafes in Jerusalem) in the other.

It is a modest establishment for a city, having only 29 rooms. In some places the decor looks a little tired, but it was spotlessly clean and the staff bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was as pleasant as possible. The breakfast wasn't as splendid as the full traditional Israeli breakfast but was perfectly adequate, with fresh fruit and cheese, yoghurt, toast, cereals and eggs.

When we arrived, the receptionist (also an owner I believe) dropped into flawless English, organised our keys, had a chuckle with us and whipped out a map to show us the best ways to walk to the most interesting places.

The bedroom was clean as a whistle, with a brand new HD TV, old but clean and fully functional shower ensuite, though the curtains were a little old and the shutter a bit temperamental. The bed was two twins pushed together, but so well made up with sheets as a double that it wasn't noticeable. NB - some places in Israel give even true double beds two single duvets - presumably this prevents the 'but I'm too hot!' argument!
;)

They have free fresh tea and coffee at all hours from the machine in the dining room; the staff are available at all hours if you need someone and they are welcoming, caring and reassuring to the tourists in their care.

For somewhere only ten minutes walk from Central Jerusalem, this place was a little jewel I am very glad we found and may very well be staying there next time we go to Jerusalem (hopefully next year!)...

Old but well-loved, clean, good value and extremely efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

1) Location is just superb, you are close to everything which may (or must?) interest a curious tourist in Jerusalem – 15 minutes of cracking pace to the Old City, 5 minutes walk to the Mahane Jehuda market (a very picturesque bazar), 10 minutes walk to Mea Shearim quarter, 20 minutes walk to the central bus station, lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. If you wake up early like I did, you see a real Jerusalem not crowded by tourists.

2) Rooms are not big (typical for Jerusalem) but clean and cozy. There is a TV, fan and everything necessary for proper existence. There is no lift in the building (mind it is old!), but it's even good to keep one in shape. :) Anyway, the stuff helps to move luggage up so it's not a great problem. It can be loud at nights due to the hotel's central location, but just close a window and you'll sleep like a log.

3) Breakfast is very good with cereals, yogurt, cheeses, fish, fruit, salads, tea and coffee. Tea and coffee are also offered around the clock which adds cosiness to the place.

4) Stuff is really very friendly and helpful: we were advised on some good restaurants and nice things to see.

Generally, if you want to get a real flavour of the city (which is welcoming, noisy, warm, controversial altogether) and not just a sleek stay in a European-style place, the Palatin hotel is the right place for you.

I will definitely stay in the hotel when I'm next to Jerusalem.

Shalom from Moscow and a nice stay in Jerusalem!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

If you're looking for a nice clean place in Jerusalem city to lay your head, this is the one for you. Hotel is renovated and clean. It is located at the tip of the pedestrian zone, so walking distance from most bars, restaurants and coffee shops in the heart of the city. The "shuk" (Machne Yehuda market) and the old city are close by as well.
Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

If you are young (or if your mind is), this is an excellent choice. Clean, affordable rates and friendly people at the reception. Excellent location, a few steps from Ben Yehuda, inexpensive restaurants, coffee shops, a lot of stores and at a walking distance (20 minutes) from the old city. Internet is free in your room and in the "lobby" if you bring your laptop. Rooms are clean and not too small. Breakfast (included) is decent.
The rest is not so good. First of all, no elevator so beware if you have some walking disabilities. The bathroom is basic and small. The furniture is quite old. The real issue, though is the noise. This area is noisy until midnight and again from 6 a.m. until... Also, it is impossible to park in the area unless you go to the parking lot which is convenient but very expensive (the equivalent of 4 USD an hour). If you arrive late at the parking (after 5pm?), you pay a flat rate of only 5-6 USD until 7a.m. the following morning. Beware, though if you leave at 9 a.m for example you will pay for the extra two hours at 4USD per hour.
As a conclusion, one can consider the Palatin to be a "luxury hostel" or a budget hotel. If noise is not a problem for you , this remains a good choice...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We received pretty good, but hands off service. This is probably because we requested not to have the room visited or cleaned during our short stay. We stayed in a room on the main lobby floor. When we first arrived in our room, I laid down on the bed, and realized for some reason, there were a lot of hairs in it. Perhaps a burly maid? I asked the front desk to change the sheets, and they did immediately while we were out at dinner. The room was very good sized with a queen or double bed (I no longer remember) and 2 armchairs to rest in, a television, and a very large closet. The restroom had a sink, shower, commode, and although tiny, it was plenty big enough for everything one might need to do in a bathroom while traveling. I was grateful for the massage shower.

This hotel is located in downtown Jerusalem. Very close to lots of places to have dinner, both fancy, and a little "down-home". Lots of bars, restaurants, places to shop, convenience stores, souvenir shops, camera shops, coffee shops, and most delightfully, coffee shops.

The Palatin also offers free wi-fi and there is a fridge in the lobby where you can be beer, soda and water to take back to your room with you. This was actually one of my favorite things about the place. Yes, you could get a beer at the convenience store down the street for a few shekels cheaper, but this way, you didn't really need to think about it. Or worry about storing it.

The Palatin also offered a very good breakfast of fish, yogurt, cheeses, bread, spreads, coffee, tea,olives, etc. It is the same spread every morning, so maybe by the third or fourth day, you will venture out into the coffee shops for breakfast. :)

The least pleasant part of the experience was finding hair in our sheets, but that was quickly remedied. The best parts were the beer and water in the fridge in the lobby and the location. You are close to EVERYTHING you will want to see in Jerusalem. I will get the spellings wrong, but mea shearim, mehane yehuda, old jerusalem, etc, with the convenience of being close to all the things you will need to survive (good food, convenience restaurants) and there is an excellent pedestrian promenade a street or two away.

Overall, I highly recommend the Hotel Palatin.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Most important is the Palatin Hotel’s location. It is ideally located at the all-important crossing of Jaffa (Yafo), King George and Ben Yehuda Streets. The Mahane Yehuda markets are a few blocks away. Zion Square and all the varied restaurants, cafes and crafts shops in the narrow alleys are 10 minutes away. The Old City and all the major hotels are within easy walking distance.
The hotel is adequate. Rooms have A/C, ceiling fan, flat-screen TV, light-blocking shutters, wall sconces. Different rooms have different bathrooms, some nicer than others. Plenty of hot water. Linens were super clean. Breakfast is simple: cereal, vegetables, cheeses, smoked fish, bread, egg and tuna salads, fruit, hot and cold beverages. You probably can’t get anything better for this price in West Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palatin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palatin Hotel

Address: Agripas Street 4 | Center of Jerusalem, Jerusalem 94301, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palatin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Palatin Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem. Since 1936 we are known for making our guests feel at home. We offer a variety of rooms, which can host singles, couples, and families. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable, equipped with free high-speed WiFi, air conditioner, LCD cable TV and a private bathroom. All guests have a free 24/7 access to the business center, and coffee and tea. A large Israeli buffet breakfast is served daily. We are located close to many sites, including Mahane Yehuda market which is only a three minute walk away, and Mamila mall that is just 7 minutes away by foot. We are a minute walking distance from Ben Yehuda Street and Jaffa Street, with their many cafes, restaurants and shops. The light train station is around the corner, and it will take you to the old city and Jaffa gate in less than five minutes. The entire hotel is built from traditional Jerusalem stone, and was recently renovated to fit the guests' needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palatin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatin Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palatin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.