We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can not wait for my next holiday in this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dan Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I can not wait for my next holiday in this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The review refers to a vacation in 11-13/8/2013. We booked the executive room.
My wife and I decided to take a short vacation in Jerusalem. We chose to stay at a good hotel to enjoy life and a short vacation. But Dan Jerusalem hotel was for us more than just a good hotel.
The room was large and well maintained, with spectacular views of the Old City of Jerusalem. In the king Daivd Lounge there were two nice girls (Mor & Sandra) Which did not allow us a minute and they always asked if we want something more from wonderful and delicious cakes from the buffet or if we want some free drinks served to guests i the lounge (for the Executive Room guests). The paper was waiting at the door every morning for us.
Staff was kind and always ready to help any questions.
The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.
In conclusion in the next vacation I'll be back to Dan Jerusalem hotel For sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    222
    101
    46
    34
See reviews for
208
168
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel LOOKS wonderful - beautiful location (though not close to downtown Jerusalem at all), welcoming lobby, beautiful pool. But everything inside was a disappointment.

Musty smell in the corridors. Minimal air conditioning. Dismal housekeeping (it took THREE DAYS to get an extra sheet for the bed; one day they took away all our old towels and didn't leave new ones!) NO available power outlets for charging phones, etc., and massively expensive wifi access (would you believe $28 a day?).

At one point I visited the "premium" rooms. In the hallway was a small pyramid of flaking ceiling material. And that's the premium rooms.

There have to be better options in Jerusalem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Don,
Thank you for sharig your experiences and feedback following your recent stay with us; these comments are invaluable in our constant efforts in monitoring and developing on service delivery.
Throughout the hotel, every effort is amde to ensure the highest levels of guest experience in all areas; so it is always a regret if a we hear when a guest has felt let down. While a little late to rectify for you this time, we will ensure your comments are forwarded to the relevant department and management for immediate and thorough follow up; thank you for highlighting these areas to us.
We'd hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to ensure of an improved impression,
with kindest regards for the time being,
Avital Harel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Breakfast service very bad.
You can ask everything but will never receive it.
The rooms are renovated, clean but with a bad odor in the bathroom.
The warm water has problems.
One of the concierge not very helpfully
Food in the lobby not good and very poor service, again you have to wait for everything .
Will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Goldie,
Your feedback is most appreciated, thank you for taking the time to share giving us the opportunioty to improve further.
We certainly make every effort to create special and memorable experiences for our guests, and always regretful to hear when a guest feels that we let ourselves down.
Hopefully, we may have another opportunity to show you that we can do so much better,
with best regards,
Avital Harel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Dan Jerusalem Hotel (formerly the Hyatt) on French Hill next to Mount Scopus is a luxurious place -- large, spacious rooms, an enormous three-storey lobby, magnificent views of Jerusalem and the Judean Hills, and a large swimming pool within a courtyard. The food in the restaurants was excellent. The service, however, left much to be desired. I usually stay at Dan Hotels when in Israel and have written laudatory reviews for several of them. This time, alas, I cannot be so complimentary. The front desk staff, with one or two exceptions, was inefficient and not very cordial. So too Guest Services. We had to call three times over a period of an hour and a half to have our laundry picked up one morning. The breakfast room staff was generally unhelpful and sullen. This was in marked contrast to the wonderful staff at the smaller and more business-like Dan Panorama on the other side of Jerusalem where we frequently stay when in town and where we shall surely stay again next time we are in Jerusalem rather than at the Dan Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The overall look is old. It hasn't changed much since the 90'.
Parking garage signs are confusing. Entrance to the hotel from the parking is locked from 11 PM. We couldn't find the way in at night time and it was quite a bad experience.
Tap water is not for drinking because of strong chlorine taste but they don't provide bottled water.
Dinning room is huge, but not enough staff is available to cope with so many people.
The top of the building is decorated with many cellular antennas - which could be potential health risk for top floors residents. Air condition control is unavailable. Hotel location could be better. The price is terribly high, in my humble opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We received a room in the banquet floor, which has not been renovated since the hotel was built (about 25 years ago). The carpet in the room and corridors reeked of mold and food. The bathroom was old and unclean, our pijamas were tossed on the disgusting carpet by the housekeeper. The TV`s reception was blurred. The bathroom door was peeling and a bunch of hair was scattered on the old marble floor. Only one towel for the two of us. Only one reading lite for a double bed (that was actually two beds pushed together gradually separating throughout the night). AC was either on or off - it was freezing, but we could not open the window because we were on the ground floor. Mattresses were terrible! The reception argued with us that the payment does not include taxes even though the invitation said "taxes and fees included". Very very Bad.
This was once an elegant hotel, I used to visit often when it has just opened - no renovations since that time. Money for nothing!

Room Tip: Try to find out the category of rooms that they have. Floor 4 is actually partially located on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I, my wife, and our teen-age son, stayed two separate 3 day stints at the Dan Jerusalem during our two week vacation that ended August 9. The Dan group has done a tremendous job upgrading and updating the hotel, and it is clear that Dan Jerusalem is becoming increasingly popular, not only with tour groups, but also as a venue for high-end events and conventions. (Several Maccabia teams were staying at the hotel, a real estate brokers convention was just ending when we checked in the first time, and a "welcome" sign indicated an upcoming doctors' convention.) During both our stays the hotel was busier than I have ever seen it.

We were greeted by the front desk for check in and we were redirected to the King David Lounge for an "express check-in" because we had booked an Executive Room. (Use of the King David Lounge, which features quiet seating, a light breakfast, and beverages, is a privilege accorded to "executive" room guests.)

The rooms were comfortable, relatively spacious, and very clean, during both of our stays. The breakfast buffet in the main dining hall was the best of any of the hotels we stayed at. We took advantage of the omelet station and the "smoothie chef" blending custom smoothies and yogurt parfaits. The staff looked a little overwhelmed, no doubt because of the sheer number of guests, but there were no real issues.

The only real opportunity we noted during both of our stays was with respect to the 4th floor lounge. The waiters need to be more attentive. We were constantly having to approach them with a request for drink orders.

To the writer, below, who had issues with the air conditioner: this is a "green" feature, that has the not incidental effect of saving money. We have seen this in hotels all over Europe. Obviously, this will come soon to the US when gas hit $5.00/ gallon. Just something we all need to get used to....

The hotel is conveniently located near the Hebrew University, Hadassah Hospital (Mt. Scopus), and is convenient to the new train, which, in my opinion, is the best way to get to the Old City, Mamila, downtown, Mahane Yehuda, etc., and not have to fight for a parking space.

The Dan Jerusalem is now a world class hotel and I don't hesitate to recommend it. (No, I am not affiliated with the hotel in any way or with anyone there - it is just a really good hotel.)

Room Tip: The upgrade from Standard to Executive is not expensive, and you can be assured that the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.