We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meals are good, the rest ... not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dan Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Meals are good, the rest ... not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As an E-Dan member I was suppose to receive the best room in class and a welcome gift. I received neither of these. This hotel is too expensive for what you get. The meals were quite good, but that's where it ends. The room itself was run down. We stayed there four nights and the air conditioner never did work despite calling the front desk and complaining. Our room had an adjoining door to another room and sound had no problem transferring through those cheap doors. We could hear every word spoken by the guests in the next room. The hotel even stoops to charge their guests to use the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Granitepeaker,
Thank you for taking time to post your review; it is through guest feedback that we are able to monitor and develop our offerings.
Throughout the hotel, the team take great pride in our efforts to create the perfect guest experience, so it is disappointing when our guests feel we have fallen short.
Whilst it comes a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, all your comments have been taken on board to ensure improvements are made in these areas.
We thank you too for the commendations for our food service and offerings and have been sure to pass on your delight to our food and beverage team.
For reference, the hotel's luxurious Spa offers a heated indoor swimming pool and various other extra treats; it is entrance to the indoor spa which is at a special discounted rate for our guests; Moreover, the huge outdoor swimming pool in the courtyard of the hotel is always free of charge for guests and open in the summer season.
I hope you choose to return for an improved impression of our hotel in the future; as such, should you decide, please do contact me prior to your arrival so that I may monitor your reservation personally.

With regards,
Leora Last
Guest Relations Manager
Leora.Last@danhotels.co.il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    199
    93
    43
    34
See reviews for
189
156
31
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great place to stay on a group or a family getaway , a great view of the old city and walking distance to the train into Ben yahuda or the open air market . But my favorite was a drop off at Jaffa Street into the Old City where you can see where Jesus Walked and taught , and lots of places to shop and make great deals . The Food is amazing lots to choose from all the different Quarters . This was my favorite vacation ever:)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room or a court yard room the back door opens to your own court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Graybarnett,
It is wonderful to hear of your enjoyment during your recent stay with us, thank you for sharing. We are extremely pleased to have been part of your favourite vacation ever. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This huge, East Jerusalem hotel was previously a Hyatt Regency. My room was very nice, with a balcony overlooking Jerusalem. The buffets were excellent, with exceptional variety. My only complaint was the cleanliness and maintenance. It seems like the hotel is going downhill. The rooms and public areas need a thorough cleaning. The lack of attention to detail in cleaning and maintaining the facility detracts from the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are nicer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear NYWrldTrav,
Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to share and provide valuable feedback. We take enormous pride in the standards offered to our guests, particularly true of our brand new Executive Wing, which I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed. All your comments have been taken on board, with thanks. I would be delighted to welcome you back soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel as we needed a room for 4 people. We went to Israel during Passover so we expected to pay higher than normal, but this hotel was not worth it at all! We arrive and you pass what we think is a greeter or a bellman desk before you get into the hotel and they do not say hi, or ask if you need help. Then you walk into the hotel and you can see that they are doing renovations on a whole floor above you. Wires sticking out everywhere. We get to our room and we have a bed for my husband and myself and a pull out couch for my kids that was so hard! The bathroom door was warped from water damage at the bottom. The breakfast was good, but not consistent. First 2 days they made fresh juice but not our last 2. First day someone was there to make you fresh eggs, but not the next three. There was no free wifi in the rooms, but you could go to the lobby and use the system. There were taxi's at the front to take you where you want to go as this hotel is not walking distance to anything. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were part of a Holy Land tour group - on arrival our room keys were ready, a brief introduction to the facilities was provided and a welcome drink was served. Overall service was excellent: request for extra towels and hangers was satisfied in less than 5 minutes. Buffet breakfasts and dinners were expansive - something for everyone. Rooms were clean, we had a quiet courtyard view. Only complaint is the somewhat mysterious operation of the air conditioning - not sure it was working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Tjstjs,
Thank you for your incredibly kind and thoughtful review. We take pride in ensuring that each individual member of our groups feel comfortable and at home at all times during their stay; therefore your feedback is truly valuable. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return to our hotel, and we look forward to that visit indeed.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Despite the mixed reviews on Trip Advisors, we stayed here with our kids and another family on a recent visit to Jerusalem because the Dan Jerusalem had quadruple rooms for a decent (for the notoriously expensive Jerusalem) price. The location afforded nice views and peace and quiet, but required taxis to get anywhere, or the excellent tram, which is just a short walk away. The lobby and 4th floor lounge looked updated but the rooms above the lobby were all under construction - kind of an eyesore. Our room was outdated and shabby. The air conditioning did not work - ugh. Breakfast was included and actually very good. Most disappointing was the service. Housekeeping left dirty tea mugs in our room day after day. Failed to replace two empty toilet paper rolls the first day, then left them on the sink for me to replace when they finally arrived. Concierge was spotted at his post maybe twice during our four day stay. Daniland kids' playroom room was usually closed. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kelliemurfsi,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experiences following your recent stay with us; it is always through guest feedback that we are able to monitor and develop our services.
Throughout the hotel, it is our teams constant priority to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction; it is thus always a regret to hear when a guest feels that we have fallen short.
Whilst it comes somewhat too late to rectify for you on this occasion, we have been sure to take on board your comments for immediate attention by the reelvant managers; thank you once again for highlighting these necessities.
We'd certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back for an experience more in-line with our aims to delight our guests; as such, should you desire, please do contact me directly so that I may monitor your reservation personally.
with kindest regards and many thanks,

Leora Last
Guest Relatons Manager
Leora. last@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Although location is not the best (however a tram station located 2 minuts walk from the hotel & takes you to Jaffa gates in few minutes) the hotel offers great value for money.

Rooms are quite big, dinning room offers really rich open buffet both for breakfast & dinner, front office & F&B staff are very helpful & polite.

The newely renovated Executive rooms (with free access to the business lounge) are amazing!

Only thing I really found as missing is free Wifi...

Room Tip: Great service, adding free WIFI would improve the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Kfir,
Thank you for sharing. I am glad that you mentioned the tram; this together with our complimentary shuttle to the centre of town allows our guests to enjoy several easy options to explore Jerusalem. I am very pleased to read of your wondeful experience in our Exeutive Wing. Regarding your wifi mention, our lounge offers computer stations for your convenience, moreover, we offer complimentary wifi in our 4th floor Lobby. I hope you return for another visit soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.