We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View of the Old City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dan Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Jerusalem
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best View of the Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great place to stay on a group or a family getaway , a great view of the old city and walking distance to the train into Ben yahuda or the open air market . But my favorite was a drop off at Jaffa Street into the Old City where you can see where Jesus Walked and taught , and lots of places to shop and make great deals . The Food is amazing lots to choose from all the different Quarters . This was my favorite vacation ever:)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room or a court yard room the back door opens to your own court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Graybarnett,
It is wonderful to hear of your enjoyment during your recent stay with us, thank you for sharing. We are extremely pleased to have been part of your favourite vacation ever. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    210
    98
    45
    35
See reviews for
199
161
32
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This huge, East Jerusalem hotel was previously a Hyatt Regency. My room was very nice, with a balcony overlooking Jerusalem. The buffets were excellent, with exceptional variety. My only complaint was the cleanliness and maintenance. It seems like the hotel is going downhill. The rooms and public areas need a thorough cleaning. The lack of attention to detail in cleaning and maintaining the facility detracts from the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are nicer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear NYWrldTrav,
Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to share and provide valuable feedback. We take enormous pride in the standards offered to our guests, particularly true of our brand new Executive Wing, which I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed. All your comments have been taken on board, with thanks. I would be delighted to welcome you back soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel as we needed a room for 4 people. We went to Israel during Passover so we expected to pay higher than normal, but this hotel was not worth it at all! We arrive and you pass what we think is a greeter or a bellman desk before you get into the hotel and they do not say hi, or ask if you need help. Then you walk into the hotel and you can see that they are doing renovations on a whole floor above you. Wires sticking out everywhere. We get to our room and we have a bed for my husband and myself and a pull out couch for my kids that was so hard! The bathroom door was warped from water damage at the bottom. The breakfast was good, but not consistent. First 2 days they made fresh juice but not our last 2. First day someone was there to make you fresh eggs, but not the next three. There was no free wifi in the rooms, but you could go to the lobby and use the system. There were taxi's at the front to take you where you want to go as this hotel is not walking distance to anything. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were part of a Holy Land tour group - on arrival our room keys were ready, a brief introduction to the facilities was provided and a welcome drink was served. Overall service was excellent: request for extra towels and hangers was satisfied in less than 5 minutes. Buffet breakfasts and dinners were expansive - something for everyone. Rooms were clean, we had a quiet courtyard view. Only complaint is the somewhat mysterious operation of the air conditioning - not sure it was working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Tjstjs,
Thank you for your incredibly kind and thoughtful review. We take pride in ensuring that each individual member of our groups feel comfortable and at home at all times during their stay; therefore your feedback is truly valuable. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return to our hotel, and we look forward to that visit indeed.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Despite the mixed reviews on Trip Advisors, we stayed here with our kids and another family on a recent visit to Jerusalem because the Dan Jerusalem had quadruple rooms for a decent (for the notoriously expensive Jerusalem) price. The location afforded nice views and peace and quiet, but required taxis to get anywhere, or the excellent tram, which is just a short walk away. The lobby and 4th floor lounge looked updated but the rooms above the lobby were all under construction - kind of an eyesore. Our room was outdated and shabby. The air conditioning did not work - ugh. Breakfast was included and actually very good. Most disappointing was the service. Housekeeping left dirty tea mugs in our room day after day. Failed to replace two empty toilet paper rolls the first day, then left them on the sink for me to replace when they finally arrived. Concierge was spotted at his post maybe twice during our four day stay. Daniland kids' playroom room was usually closed. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kelliemurfsi,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experiences following your recent stay with us; it is always through guest feedback that we are able to monitor and develop our services.
Throughout the hotel, it is our teams constant priority to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction; it is thus always a regret to hear when a guest feels that we have fallen short.
Whilst it comes somewhat too late to rectify for you on this occasion, we have been sure to take on board your comments for immediate attention by the reelvant managers; thank you once again for highlighting these necessities.
We'd certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back for an experience more in-line with our aims to delight our guests; as such, should you desire, please do contact me directly so that I may monitor your reservation personally.
with kindest regards and many thanks,

Leora Last
Guest Relatons Manager
Leora. last@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Although location is not the best (however a tram station located 2 minuts walk from the hotel & takes you to Jaffa gates in few minutes) the hotel offers great value for money.

Rooms are quite big, dinning room offers really rich open buffet both for breakfast & dinner, front office & F&B staff are very helpful & polite.

The newely renovated Executive rooms (with free access to the business lounge) are amazing!

Only thing I really found as missing is free Wifi...

Room Tip: Great service, adding free WIFI would improve the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Kfir,
Thank you for sharing. I am glad that you mentioned the tram; this together with our complimentary shuttle to the centre of town allows our guests to enjoy several easy options to explore Jerusalem. I am very pleased to read of your wondeful experience in our Exeutive Wing. Regarding your wifi mention, our lounge offers computer stations for your convenience, moreover, we offer complimentary wifi in our 4th floor Lobby. I hope you return for another visit soon.
With regards,
Leora Last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the last week during the Passover holiday. Since we last saw this hotel it was before the Dan hotels network took over, we had our doubts, but in our expereince with other Dan hotels, we trusted they take things seriously. This trust proved right as we enjoyed a great week over there.
To start with, the hotel building is one of the most impressive in Jerusalem and Israel. It sits on a slope of a hill and as such the lobby is above most of the floors. Many of the rooms were entirly renovated as was ours. It was very modern in design and very comfortable with a huge window opening in the terrace overlooking the old city. Quite a sight in the morning :-)

Where our most pleasant surprise was on the service side. From the cashier, Rami, who helped us patiently to reoslve a bill difference.on to the concierge, Ron, who was very helpful and resourcsful in buying show tickets and the houskeeping people who always greeted us with a smile.
A very special note should be given to their executive Chef, Zachi (after a week in the hotel you learn people's names :-) Who really gave us a "home away from home" welcoming feeling - always attentive and caring - he made our stay! (i am sesitive to Gluten and he took care that from the first meal, in every meal i was served with special gluten free bread without even requesting. This is caring!

The food was top class and we didn't exepct less after already visiting all the hotels in the Dan network over the years. The Breakfast buffet was very rich (even with the limits of the Passover) and included among others assortment of salads, smoked fishes, eggs. This is a meal that can hold you all day..
Our room was very clean and tidy, and houskeeping was quick to respond on additoinal needs.
The external swimming pool is nice and the water is quite cold during this time, but there is a warm indoor pool inside the spa, for which they charge extra (30 ILS i think), but i think it's worth it, since it allows entrance also to the Gym, Jacuzzi and Hamam ( which needs some renovation..)

There are still works of renovation done in some wings, but they are trying to limit the disturbance and during the holiday we couldn't feel it at all.
During the Saturday there was a free guided trip from the hotel to the surrounding Mount Scopus which was very interesting and suitable also for children.

One of the nice things is that the hotel is located on a road that leads directly to the old city and if there is no prominanat guest around (for which all the roads in Jerusalem will be closed!) It takes 5-10minutes drive to the old city. 40 minutes (easy) walk time to the old city walls.
Parking is free for guests and sheltered (important in hot Israeli Summers) with direct acces to the Lobby.
I hope they will keep up the high standards and continue to invest in their good service.
Thanks and we will definately be happy to return..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.