We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondwerful experience at Dan hotel Jerusalem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dan Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wondwerful experience at Dan hotel Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked 3 nights at this hotel and loved every minute of my stay.
The service while checking in was welcoming, warm,and efficient. My room (located at the 6th floor) was pleasing comfortable and clean. Breakfast is well prepared - fresh bread from the bakery and special pastries which I just loved!!!
the Spa is great and relaxing I used the indoor pool on the mornings.
The hotel is only a few blocks from the light train station - which makes a tour to the center of Jerusalem easy and comfortable.
the lobby bar in the hotel has a good selection of light meals and the view from the deck towards the old city is remarkable.
I used the King David lounge for a meeting -beautiful- yet quiet- with personal service, tasty refreshments and drinks.
It was one of my best vacations, and will visit again!

Room Tip: renovated nice rooms on the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    171
    88
    37
    29
See reviews for
160
135
27
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dan Hotel is a classically beautiful hotel with an elegant layout, tiered gardens, quiet location and an attentive and professional staff. It's located near the Hebrew University and not far from the Old City.the breakfast is excellent. Nice access to running on quiet streets. Set above the city, it has a great view. A more formal hotel for quiet guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great experience. Excellent room, food, and Service. The concierge, Ben, is wonderful. We stayed 11 days. Never any problems. Great value. Five plus stars. The location is great For visiting old Jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.
The breakfast was amazing: for example fresh smoothis, great salads and great variety of everything you can think off.
Our room was huge with two bathroom and an espresso machin.
The spa of the hotel is very nice.
The room service was only ok not more than that.
The stuff was very helpful and professional.
Me and my partner had a great time over there and we recommend to everybody who considering to stay there, cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here this weekend for two nights, and it was a wonderful experience from check-in to check-out.

The reception desk is on the top floor, as was our suite. The staff was friendly and helpful, and check-in was easy. During check-in, our assistant was rudely interrupted by another guest, but she dealt with it like a true professional.

Our suite was in a newly renovated wing, and everything was brand new. We got a living room with couch, armchairs and a coffee table, with a view onto one of the internal patios. The bedroom was equipped with a giant bed. Both the living room and the bedroom had its own large bathroom (one with a large shower, one with a bath/shower). There was also a television in each room. The suite had high ceilings thoughout, with floor-to-ceiling window in the living room. It also had an espresso machine, which was a nice touch, which we got full use from.

The breakfast on the first morning was phenomenal – with a fantastic selection of salads, pastries, fish, omlettes made to order, fruit smoothies, fresh bread, and much more. On second morning, Shabbat (Saturday), there are no smoothies or omlettes and a few other things are missing, as it's not kosher to cook or use a blender on the Jewish day of rest. This is almost universal in hotels in Israel. However the remaining more kosher food is still great.

We used the spa – the Turkish style hamam is especially nice with its hot marble. There's both an indoor and an outdoor pool. We booked a couples massage which was excellent.

There's public transport to the city centre nearby, in the form of the tram. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The executive rooms on the 6th floor of Wing A are newly refurbished, everything is new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I just returned from a 10-night stay at The Dan Jerusalem. My one-week stay was extended by 3 nights due to Hurricane Sandy. It appears that this hotel was once one of the more deluxe hotels in Jerusalem. It’s also obvious that with all of the current renovations going on, Dan is trying to restore the hotel to this former position.
The hotel staff was all very accommodating and friendly, from the front desk, to the restaurants and lounges, housekeeping and the spa.
We stayed in a newly renovated Executive Room on the 5th floor. It was so new that we were actually the first guests to stay in the room since it’s renovation. The room and bathroom were both spacious and comfortable with modern amenities. The decor was very contemporary with browns and earth tones throughout. Each room has a private balcony or patio, with most of them offering dramatic views of the entire city of Jerusalem. These rooms also provide access to the King David Lounge. This space was a very pleasant and comfortable room that offered complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day. It was a wonderful place to relax before or after going out.
The main restaurant was a buffet that offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only used it for breakfast. It offered a very large, varied and delicious buffet. The restaurant was quite busy and hectic, especially before 8:00am when most of the large groups were dining.
The hotel also has a spa on the ground floor, which offers the normal services as well as an indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, a well-equipped gym and a sauna and steam room. The gym and indoor pool were often crowded in the morning and evening as it does offer memberships to local residents.
The hotel is a large property with a very unique architectural design. It sits on Mt. Scopus and offers stunning views of the old and new city from most of its public spaces and many of the rooms. The immediate neighborhood includes the Hebrew University and residential apartments. There really is not much to do in the immediate vicinity. However, it’s a very quick and easy walk to the light rail station as well as to bus stops. The only other option to get around is to take a taxi. Under normal traffic conditions a taxi to the old city is not expensive. However, while we were there, the traffic was almost always heavy, resulting in higher than normal fares. While some people may find this location a bit removed, I found it to be a perfect spot. It was nice to return to a more resort like hotel after a day of sightseeing.
The only constructive comment I have on the hotel is the Wi-Fi service it offers. If you’re willing to pay a daily fee, you can have access in your room. Otherwise, they offer free Wi-Fi in the 4th floor lobby. However the bandwidth provided is very limited and it was often very frustrating to try and get connected. You would see numerous people walking around with their devices trying to connect.
Overall, I found the Dan Jerusalem to be a wonderful hotel choice in Jerusalem. As it continues with their renovations, it should only become even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Firstly, it is obvious that you took the time to write your review - please know that all your kind feedback is heartwarming and extremely valuable, so thank you. We have indeed spent much effort in creating perfect harmony in our brand new executive rooms and lounge. It is therefore truly pleasing to read of your appreciation for all those finer details. Equally, your positive feedback regarding our service, expansive food buffets and decor put only smiles on our faces. I hope that you got home safely and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back upon your next visit to Jerusalem.
With regards,
The Guest Relations Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much, we were exhausted after a very full day of touring and the Dan was a wonderful way to end the day. The hotel was so quiet, didn't hear a peep all night long. The room was actually a suite and was very nice. It took us a few minutes to figure out the cooling system but when we did the room was oh so comfortable! Food in the restaurant was average, it is a kosher restaurant so no meat with milk and vice versa. It is a ways off of the beaten path so if you want to be right in the center of Jerusalem, I would look elsewhere for a room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lehi Street, Jerusalem 97856, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.