We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply amazing!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
1 review
“simply amazing!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Just stayed at the Citadel for a week and as always a wonderful experience. The food was great, the executive lounge is great the staff is very courteous and Monir as always was exceptionaly helpful and went out of his way despite traveling on short notice

Chaim & Bruria Bodner .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Bodner,
Many warm thanks for your continuous business and praise, and special thanks for complimenting our devoted staff. We do try to provide the best home-away-from-home we possibly can, and I'm truly delighted that you find our hotel so enjoyable and pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    214
    85
    49
    31
See reviews for
377
246
53
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights, in three different rooms. Each room was amazingly clean, new, the two suites were large in size, bathrooms were great, service was amazing, and thus the highest possible rating I know how to give! See photos!

We absolutely loved the food at the hotel, but mostly ate the catered meals for an event we were at for most of the stay. We did try the Scala restaurant on our first night there and actually hated it! Very rubbery chicken, salty food, poor service; overall a very bad experience with Scala... especially as the hotel claims how wonderful it is supposed to be.

My wife used their services to have her hair done and she loved it!

The pool was simple and did not seem to be in a very sunny area. The water was clean, and lots of towels and people working there to serve you.

We would absolutely stay there again, and look forward to it, and recommend it to everyone that would listen! The price may be high for Israel, but is modest for any high quality hotel, and thus definitely worth it. The location is walking distance to the Kotel, shopping, malls, happening Jerusalem, etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
How wonderful to know you so greatly enjoyed the results of the effort we make to ensure superb hospitality, beginning with location and room comfort, through service, pool and hair salon. I appreciate your taking the time to post your comments in such detail, it's very helpful for us to know our strengths and where improvement is due.
I'm so sorry for your experience at the Scala restaurant; I look forward to welcoming you back and I do hope you give us the opportunity to provide you with a much improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The David Citadel is a magnificent hotel with a staff to match. From the top people at their front, Like Munir Salman who is by far one of the best hotel people we have ever dealt with to their dining room staff and through out the hotel. There wasnt anything we sk for we didint get with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
I couldn’t have asked for a greater compliment. We do indeed strive to serve our guests with the highest service quality possible, and it's very gratifying to hear of our successes. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I live in Jerusalem and my parents stayed at The David Citadel hotel a few months ago.

The reason why I'm writing this review is the dinner we had there with my parents. We were a little surprised when we heard what my parents paid for us to join them, But I have to say - this was one of the best meals I've ever had at a hotel or restaurant. A lot of variety and amazing flavor. The desserts were out of this world, especially the macarons.
The location is one of the best in the city.

My parents should come to Jerusalem more often.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Many thanks for such high praise. We take special care in providing these meals and it's wonderful to know you've so enjoyed them. I shall convey your comments to our very well deserving kitchen team.
And I agree – your parents should come more often, you're always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Just returned from eight days at the hotel. The facility is quite nice and the location is excellent. The room was nicely furnished, very comfortable and we enjoyed good night sleeping. The breakfast in the AM is very good. The service we experienced in the hotel was good but not quite the level of excellent service hotels. The service was good for Israel however where service is not necessarily a priority. At the breakfast it is sometimes difficult to get the wait staff to pour coffee. There was always a supervisor walking around but it was not clear the supervisor was trying to drive service. We did not eat other than breakfast in the hotel. The reception desk staff was fine. We enjoyed our time at the hotel and would definitely stay there again. The hotel is expensive but Israel is expensive. At the David Citadel you're paying for nice facility, great location and average service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiraLauer, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
I appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. It’s good to know that you enjoyed the hotel – location, rooms and breakfast. We strive to provide a superb experience and I assure you that excellent service is absolutely a priority for us. We continuously train our staff to uphold a high level of service, with special emphasis on our breakfast service.
I’d love to welcome you back to enjoy an improved hospitality service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is a great location...nice hotel........great brunch........not a cheap place.....not awesome but very good

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiraLauer, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
I’m happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

just a super hotel - location is terrific, room (on top floor) was very comfortable and spacious, bath was excellent. Desk staff was very helpful but seemed "busy". Very nice room clean up and very pleasant attitude- provided lots of very high quality bath products. Try the Friday night Sabbath dinner - make a reservation ( we did ours via email to the hotel general manager) it was a high point as the service, food and restful feeling was terrific way to celebrate the Sabbath. Don't miss the YMCA up the street from the hotel - great place for a coffee on the terrace and free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiraLauer, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
I’m so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the many details we take special care with in order to ensure a truly wonderful experience. Friday night dinner is very important to us, and it’s lovely to know we succeed in creating the wonderful atmosphere we aspire to.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.