We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
“Magnificent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The overall hotel is wonderful. In specific , the morning breakfast workers treat you like goddesses (specifically my personal favorites- Said and Abed). Wonderful experience. Foodcould be better but everything else is great

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for taking the time to post these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Said and Abed.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    239
    89
    53
    32
See reviews for
422
264
57
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Look for Mr. Siaid when having breakfast at the hotel restaurant. An old timer who values service Siaid makes sure your coffee is served and table cleaned before you ask for it. He is a keeper. The Israeli breakfast is complete with salads cheeses eggs to order and lots more.".. Mr Abed is also a great manager who will make your wishes come true. Personalized service.

Room Tip: Get the larger rooms facing the Kotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this kind review. We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will forward your kind comments to Said and Abed at breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future, and provide an even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Despite spending a lot of money for the night and being told from guest services to ask for what I need, my general feeling over my short stay was very POOR service. At every request the response was the same: I CAN’T…. a guest should not have to complain, persist and insist.

I have traveled to many places and have stayed in many nice hotels and what truly sets them apart is the desire to accommodate their guests….

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect.
As we learn from all comments, I would appreciate it if you can send us an e-mail so we can discuss your comments.gmoffice@tdchotel,com.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are spending Shabbat in an apartment. We made reservations for Shabbat lunch at the Citadel. Beautiful surroundings. Fair service. Had to ask repeatedly for water. Extensive salad and fish selection included cooked and raw. Outstanding chopped liver. Main was outstanding. Included carving station with lamb. Among mains were duck, tongue, lamb,  beef,  and chicken. Included cholent with kishka. These were big hits. Only kugel available was yerushalmi. Desserts were fair. But abundant.

Bottom line: great meal in pleasant setting. A repeat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for taking the time to post these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to the Chef and his great team.
I am happy you enjoyed your meal, and hope to host you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

David citadel is a great hotel we have been there last month all the family we had dinner it was

Fantastic Buffett Abig selection of salads the same hot food the service was very good our waiter said we enjoyed his service we will come back thank you said

Room Tip: It was only dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
My sincere thanks for such very lovely compliments.
I will pass your comments to our staff with great pride- especially to Said at breakfast.
Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

A new hotel just opened around the corner with a more recognizable name synonymous with top-shelf hospitality; it's aesthetics are both pleasing & opulent. The most obvious and glaring difference: service! It goes without saying that to stay at a quality hotel with comparable global amenities, you can expect it will be on the pricier side of trips you've taken. That said, when you walk away anything less than completely satisfied, your disappointment is greatly magnified, & now some may even feel cheated. (That's how I would feel!) I've stayed here many times over the course of the last 10 years & I can say that they've had their ups and downs- who hasn't? However, they have constantly been learning, improving, listening, and growing more consistent in the product they deliver. From the top down: Mr. David Tucker is the quintessential host- one who worries about the slightest detail to ensure satisfaction for every guest. Munir, is the greatest reservations manager in any hotel, in any country, period. Attentive, accommodating, practical, generous, sincere, & above all gracious. Said, Abed, Yoram & Sarit bring your dining experience to a new level!!! It's true that the way to a persons heart is through their stomach; these individuals go WAY above and beyond their duties to provide service that the new hotel next door could only dream of!
They are currently undergoing renovations on their rooms & I was privileged enough to stay in a newly renovated room during this trip. A modern, contemporary feel that is very trendy and felt quite serene. Very comfortable and warm- deep, rich colors in earthy tones with very thoughtful accents. I look forward to returning to family away from home- very soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for such a rewarding review.
We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded.
I will pass your comments to the entire staff ,especially to those you have mentioned .
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my sixth time at the Citadel, and each previous time was great. But in the past few years, the Citadel has really declined. We booked 4 months ago, through a travel agent (our first mistake). The first room they gave us was right next to the outdoor dining room canopy, which made it dark and claustrophobic. We asked to change, and they told us the only other available room would cost us $600 more for the 3 nights. On check-out, we learned it cost $600 extra for each night, or $1800 extra. The room we stayed in (since no others were supposedly available) had a ratty stained carpet, a moldy shower, and a construction crane 50 feet from the balcony. The noise from the construction next door is constant, no matter what floor you are on. We would've walked immediately but then we would have lost what we had already paid through the agent.The executive lounge is tucked into a dark corner of the 4th floor and is not worth paying extra for. It was a constant challenge to get extra towels and the internet coverage kept going out. Food generally was mediocre. I worry about complaining too much, but 4 other friends from L.A. staying in the hotel shared similar complaints. The construction adjacent to the hotel has completely cut off what used to be beautiful views from the pool deck. When we freaked at checkout at the extra $1800 room charge, the front desk staff couldn't cared less, and the manager, Natalie, similarly was smarmy and rude to us. Left us with a very bad taste and a vow never to return to what used to be a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Until they finish the construction nex door, there is probably no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and hope you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tradimax, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.