We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erev Hag dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
1 review
“Erev Hag dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It was a great erev hag dinner for me and for the family in David Citadel hotel. It was a unique experience specially with the amazing smiley waiter Bilal. Thank you, and as Bilal said to us that the hotel will love to see us again. We tell the hotel that we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Many thanks for such high compliments, and for taking the time to write it.
I will forward your kind comments to the entire staff - especially to Bilal.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    213
    84
    48
    31
See reviews for
375
246
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

What better way to enjoy Passover then staying at The David Citadel Hotel! From start to finish, this hotel is perfection. Nothing is overlooked . We had just completed three weeks volunteering on an Israeli army base, through Volunteers for Israel/Sar El, something for travelers to investigate if looking for a meaningful and special travel experience . We were ready for some luxurious pampering. The David Citadel fit the bill! The hotel is located right next to the entrance of the Mammila Mall and a walk to the Western Wall. Its locale is wonderful. The hotel is gorgeous perfection. Guests are greeted at the entrance by pipped in fragrances and welcoming door men. The entire staff are dedicated to making your stay pampered, comfortable, and friendly. Fadi at the reception desk graciously made sure that we had an over sized king room, with a sitting area, plus a magnificent view of the Old City and Western Wall. He proudly escorted us to our room, which made us feel right at home. Our stay was for 5 nights, Thursday until Tuesday, (beginning after the Seder night until the end of Passover). Fabulous, high-end breakfast is part of the hotel package, and these master chefs are to be commended for creating unbelievably gourmet dishes - simply beyond imagination. We had a delicious and elegant Shabbat dinner at the hotel. Although quite pricey, the dinner was high quality and abundant, and the service was very attentive, creating a memorable Shabbat dinner. The cuisine was so gourmet that one would not believe that everything was Glatt Kosher for Passover! One addition we opted for was the Executive Lounge, which enabled us to enjoy off- hour meals or snacks, and entertain visiting family (at a modest additional charge for guests).. Tiferet and Inbar in the Executive Lounge were always helpful and attentive to our every need, and should be commended. The housekeeping service was excellent. The bedding, towels, bathrobes, slippers and toiletries were luscious. Batya made sure that the service was perfect and that the housekeeping staff efficient. An iron and board was sent up upon request.
We truly look forward to returning to the David Citadel next year, and volunteering with VFI as well.

Room Tip: Pick Old City views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your detailed and kind review.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well.
Hope to see you again soon among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

It doesn't even come close. The hotel is nice however the rooms are dirty, requests, such as beds, are unfulfilled, and the quality of service for the absurd prices is unacceptable. If you want to fork over a ton of money and want to have a pleasant stay check out the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect .
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Save your money or spend your money somewhere else. With a wide assortment of hotels in this beautiful city, paying these prices for a mediocre room, complete with dirty carpets -but worse -dismissive customer service, is an outrage.
As a former travel agent and lifelong traveller, I'm a (self-appointed, perhaps,) "expert" and had high hopes for this hotel.
What a pity...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I regret your experience was anything short of the absolutely wonderful hospitality which is our goal.
Thank you for taking the time to send your review as this is the way for us to learn of our guest's experience.
I do hope you choose to return for a much improved stay, in the best traditions of the David Citadel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visiting from the states in March and everything was perfect starting from when I first arrived at reception. Adina and Stephanie were extremely friendly and helpful. I had a great time and would stay here again on my next visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire stuff, I wish to thank you so much for taking the time to post these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially Adina and Stephanie.
I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stay at the David Citadel with my wife and I loved it! The room was so nice and comfortable the location is amazing with th view of the old city, and a wonderful staff. Everyone in the front desk we encounter was helpful, and naturally friendly and especially Stephanie. I contacted her with special requests,and she helped us a lot.It was a pleasure to see her in day or night. and I would to thank this waiter Said, he was just helpful and we get the best service ever with him.
A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and post your great review.
We do strive to create the highest hospitality level,and your comments prove we are on the right track .
I will definitely pass your comments to the entire staff with great pride - especially to Stephanie and Said.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

From beginning to departure, everything and everyone at the David Citadel was and did beautifully -- friendly, helpful, always available, spacious, visually appealing. And of course the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Many thanks for your review and compliments; I am delighted we provided the service we believe you are entitled to, and we strive to provide.
I will forward your warm words to the entire staff.
We look forward to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.