We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best- David Citadel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Gates Mills, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best- David Citadel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Best place, best service. Great Hotel. Breakfast very good. Great views. We spend 4 nights there and there was nothing to complain about. They were very busy but it did not matter, the service remained superb. The Mall is great and modern and then you can also see the Old City. I would stay there again in a heart beat

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    213
    84
    48
    31
See reviews for
375
246
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Everything about the David Citadel is par excellence...from luxurious bathrooms to dining to wait staff. Said was our breakfast valet for our recent visit; he is attentive and friendly. Believe it or not, he was our wait person 3 years ago when I visited the hotel! Beautiful man. Our meals were tasty and plentiful, location cant be better and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for such high praise, we are proud to have earned it.
I will definitely forward your warm words to the entire staff,especially to Said .
We are delighted you enjoyed your trip and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is exellent! The hospitality and the service, especially the house-keeping (Annan), guest relations, information service and breakfast service were really excellent!!! The quality of beds and of the food in restaurant, of the swimming pool and sport facilities are very high.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and post your great review.
We do strive to create the highest hospitality level,and your comments prove we are on the right track .
I will definitely pass your comments to the entire staff with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here, and were impressed with the hotel and staff, despite the fact that the hotel is about to be updated as it is 13 years old. We found the rooms spacious and the beds comfortable. Separate bath and shower and no problem with hot water.

It is across the street from the new Mamilla Mall, which is built in keeping with the old city, and faced with Jerusalem stone. Many lovely shops and restaurants.

David Citadel is only about a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa Gate and the Arab quarter.

The breakfasts at the hotel were outstanding, and we especially want to mention Yousef, who looked after us so very well and always had a smile on his face.

Great place to stay in Jerusalem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
Thank you also for your nice comments regarding the service, and especially the service at breakfast , you received from Yousef. I will surley forward your comments to the entire stuff.
Hope to see you soon among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were recently in Jerusalem for a family wedding which took place over three days at the David Citadel Hotel. Our room was spacious with a king-sized bed, and a small balcony that overlooked the swimming pool and the walls of the Old City, including the Jaffa Gate. Other rooms could also see David's Citadel in the Old City. It was magnificent. The housekeeping was overall good and appeared to occur more than once in a day. Beware of the small fridge because there is some type of magnet under each bottle that automatically assumes you drank something if you remove the bottle from its appointed position. This information is sent to reception to be added to your bill. Also, the room didn't have a kettle, which is standard in most hotels. We really would have preferred an empty fridge in which to store some juice and a kettle for first-thing-in-the-morning coffee. We didn't want to be dependent on room service both because of the inconvenience and the extra cost. The set up for the wedding was beautifully done and the banquet food was better than we expected, although there were a few serving glitches (e.g. the side salads arrived after we had all completed the main course). Still, the waiters did try very hard to keep up with the large crowd. The rest of our meals were held in the Four Seasons Restaurant which was open on all sides to the air and the food there was delicious. The variety of choices for the breakfast and lunch buffets were staggering and the presentation was clearly done with care and creativity. Each dish was colourful, fresh and tempting. The food was arrayed on counters, in stainless steel warmers, and on shelves along the wall. As a result, every time we turned, we suddenly discovered new foods that we hadn't noticed before. The desserts were magnificent to look at and the best parve pastries we had ever eaten. But for us the highlight of each meal was being served by Ata Bayah. He is a true professional and a very charming and kind man. He takes his job very seriously, to the point of providing us with items we wanted before we even had a chance to order them. It was a matter of great pride to him to ensure that all our needs were met and that his service was as five star as the hotel. His skill in dealing with people makes him excellent front line staff. The hotel is in a wonderful location, within walking distance of the old city, Teddy Park, and the shopping and restaurant area of Mamilla. The reception staff and others were very pleasant and accommodating. All in all, we would recommend this as a lovely place to stay in Jerusalem for those who can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to host you all again; we make every effort to see that all guests, groups and individuals, are comfortable and well cared for.
My many thanks for your review and compliment, that will be forward to our entire staff- and especially to Ata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 7 days at the hotel and cancelled a return to Tel Aviv because we loved it so much.

The service was AAA+++

The room was clean and bright.
Restaurant food was delicious.
You will love it!
The front desk was special Jay was the best.

Room Tip: There are some beautiful rooms looking over the Old City. That adds a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for such a rewarding review.
We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it is really good to hear we have succeeded, all the more so from loyal guests. We eagerly await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There is no hotel that has a better location in Jerusalem, a 5 minute walk to the Old City, 2 minutes to extraordinary Mamilla Mall, and close to the famous Ben Yehuda. Many of the rooms have an unforgettable view of the Walled Old City, which is also framed at the beautiful pool, and the terrace which offers an exceptional Israeli breakfast. The rooms are good size and will be excellent after the renovations which are about to start are completed. The lobby is a buzz of activity and VIPs, dignitaries, and politicians are often present. The staff are amenable and special commendations go to Manuel, one of the assistant managers, Medina (pubic relations), and David Tucker (sales manager)....they make good things happen.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, rooms overlooking the Old City (with balconies) are part of the allure of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for such high praise, we are proud to have earned it.
I will definitely forward your warm words to the entire staff and management .
We are delighted you enjoyed your trip so much and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.