We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
1 review
“Outstanding in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I recently spent five nights at the David Citadel. The hotel is perfectly located near the Old City and the Mamilla Mall. The enormous and delicious buffet breakfast was enhanced by the attentive servers. The room was beautifully appointed and spotless. The beauitful lounge had a piano player every evening and, again, the servers were charming and attentive. The best part, though, was the caring and resourcefulness of the Concierge. We felt well-cared for in every way. I would highly recommend the David Citadel without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. I will defenetly pass you kind comments to the entire stuff,including our Concierge. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay,and hope to see you again among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    238
    89
    53
    32
See reviews for
420
263
57
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family had a 6 day stay here at the David Citadel. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, & well appointed. Shower water pressure is incredible - you could probably strip furniture with it. I always look for what I call "Quality Tip Offs", small things hotels do that let you know they have their eye on the ball. My favorite aspect of our stay was the buffet breakfast served on the 4th floor - excellent - indoor and outdoor seating (overlooked the wall to the Old City). There was one waiter in particular who we befriended - a man named Yusef. He greeted us with a smile every morning and served us the best cappuccino's I've ever tasted. He even made sure we had "to go" cups when we finished eating. Thank you again, Yusef. Give that man a raise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and write such warm words. I will surely pass your comments to the entire stuff and especially to Yusef. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon, so you can enjoy the hotel and our famous cappuccino's !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its great location- near by Mamilla Avenue, 10 min walk from the Western Wall (HaKotel) and the main sites in Jerusalem. The hotel is beautifully designed and very luxurious. From the pool and your room you can see the Tower of David- amazing! The staff are very nice and polite, the cleaning and service is above all your expectations. We enjoyed our romantic vacation in the hotel. If you want to come to Jerusalem, this is the perfect hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoye your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well. Hope to see you again soon among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are staying in this lovely hotel for four nights. We are a family of four and have two connecting rooms (751 & 752). One has a king and the other two twins. We like quiet rooms so we have deluxe rooms facing the Old City and the pool. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and have everything you need. There is a wonderful variety of tasty food at breakfast and the service is very good. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is our goal to provide the best service to all our guests, famillies and couple. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the time of check in until we departed everything was at the highest standard. The room with the view of the Old City was riveting, food range and quality at the highest level, especially the breakfast, and the service and care of all staff was as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the centre of the arc of the building or even better a little to the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and post your great review.
We do strive to create the highest hospitality level,and your comments prove we are on the right track. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just returned from my first stay at the David Citadel in Jerusalem and am still scratching my head at some of the other reviews for this hotel (I actually question some of their authenticity because I find it impossible for anyone who has ever stayed in a hotel anywhere to consider this one "the most amazing hotel in the world." I booked a "new city" view so can't complain about the view of the parking lot and not the Old City since I didn't want to pay another $140 USD per night for the upgrade. And the good news is that the prison-size window off to the side of the room is so small you don't have to see much of the parking lot.

However, for $500/night I think one should expect doormen who actually open the door, concierges who are courteous and knowledgeable, an alarm clock in the room and maybe even throw in a piece of art on the stark white walls. And let's not forget the abysmal breakfast buffet where the warm food is always cold and the cold food is warm. Cold pancakes. Powdered eggs. Really weak effort, and the one night we ate dinner at the hotel was the last. I have no issue paying $500/night in NY, Hong Kong or Paris for a $500/night experience which this clearly wasn't.

The only bright lights in this hotel was one of the doormen who was truly a professional and a kind waiter who looked after us at breakfast each morning. The rest of the staff acted as though the guests were a necessary inconvenience to their day. I certainly will not be staying at this hotel again, nor it's sister property the Mamilla despite its hip, cool "W" vibe since I would imagine the same ownership/management results in the same culture and service.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here, I suggest paying out the extra money for one of the nice rooms with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I truly am sorry we seem to have fallen short on your recent stay.
We thank you for taking the time and let us know your comments, as we learn from each and every one of it.
We would welcome the chance to host you again and restore your faith in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Citadel numerous times alone when I had to stay over in Israel for the weekends.

This is the first stay with my wife it was an amazing experience the staff was great the room was very nice and all around it was the best experience of any hotel in Israel.

I will definitly continue to stay at the citadel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
My many thanks for such a wonderful review, it is so good to know our efforts create the hospitality we strive for. Thank you so much for your loyal business.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tradimax, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.