We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Save Saved
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service Problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. It is beautifully designed and equipped, and very well located. However, when it came to service there was a lot to be desired. In the main breakfast room, (breakfast included in price) one had to repeatedly request coffee, etc. On the outdoor dining area the service was much better. One server, Samir, was excellent. If only housekeeping, the doormen, the concierge had been as well trained. They all acted as if they were doing you a favor - if they responded at all.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I truly am sorry we seem to have fallen short on your recent stay. We’d welcome the chance to host you again and restore your faith in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    682
    190
    77
    38
    28
See reviews for
337
213
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The David Citadel is a great and wonderful hotel.

I would like to give a special thank you to Selim for his warm and courteous service, his friendly and pleasant approach made our visit successful one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review and compliments for Selim; I’m delighted he provided the service we believe you’re entitled to. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have stayed at the David Citadel Hotel ever since 1997 and consider it our home in Jerusalem. It is magnificent in structure, best city views, centrally located, and most of all, staffed by the most professional staff in the world of hotels. Abed leads a warm and hospitable wait staff in the dining room, and Samer is prompt and personal in his attention. This hotel is 5 star plus and our home whenever we are in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The views from the east facing rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It’s our pride and pleasure to provide you with a home in Jerusalem; we look forward to hosting you for many more wonderful experiences. My many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I deeply recommend on this hotel, his location is fabulous, the maintenance of the hotel is behind great, the roomes are amazing and the food is to die for.

But the most Important the hotel team is the best I ever ran into (and I've seen a lot). since the moment we arrived until the moment we left they did their best to fill each and evry thing without even requesting,
we are definitely coming back.
BIG THANK TO SALIM, guest manager, who was so kind and helpful. always with a smile willing to help. HE'S AN ASSET!!

Room Tip: **all the room is quite, book the room with the view high floor with view to the **OLD** city - amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review and praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Traveling to Israel and staying at The David Citadel in Jerusalem is synonymous with a 5 star vacation. For us, the hotel is our home away from home.We are welcomed "home" by all the staff from the doorman to the bell captain, to the concierge to our dear friend and front desk manager Munir and Medina. From the wait staff to the hotel manager David, we are greeted by name and with so much affection.The hotel, grand in stature but small enough to enjoy a feeling of intimacy, is perfectly located on King David street at the edge of the majestic Old City, a stone's throw away from the Mamilla shopping street which is always bustling, and a 5 minute walk from the hub of downtown Jerusalem. The view of the ancient walls of the Old City of Jerusalem, visible from our preferred hotel room, the Executive lounge and the sprawling balcony where breakfast, lunch, and dinner is served, is majestic by day and magical by night. Yoram, the charming omelet chef, remembers our food choices from year to year and we are greeted with warmth and love by Abed and the other managers at breakfast. Everyone is gracious, courteous and so accommodating. And the breakfast is not only a gastronomical explosion but a feast for one's eyes.The bathrooms are spacious and the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and large. All in all, being a guest at The David Citadel feels like coming home time and time again with the added bonus of being pampered and taken care of with grace and warmth. B'shana ha'ba'a bi yerushalim and yes! back to the David Citadel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
How wonderful that our pleasure at providing you with this experience is abundantly evident. We look forward to so many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

David Citadel.

Whenever we travel to Israel, the question is not whether we stay at the David Citadel, but how many days. The entire staff, from the front door, to food services, to housekeeping are always polite, welcoming and accommodating.

The location is excellent, across the street from the Mamilla shopping corridor, a five minute stroll to the old city and walking distance to a plethora of wonderful cafes and shops

So in essence, we feel " at home" at the David Citadel, not because of the bricks and mortar, but the warmth and kindness of the entire staff.

Room Tip: A room facing the old city, especially the view at night is a life long special memory
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff – it is our privilege and pleasure to host you every time. We appreciate your loyal business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. The waiter in the dining room every morning was fantastic. His names is Samir. The location is perfect. The breakfast had more than enough choices for anyone. The Shabbat dinner was perfect. The view from the East is magnificent.

Room Tip: You want a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;