We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky and Expensive. Wifi not included.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added David Citadel Hotel to your Saves list
David Citadel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Rehovot, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tacky and Expensive. Wifi not included.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's expensive and then they make you pay for wifi. They also wouldn't give me a box to take breakfast up to eat with my Mom who is sick. They told me to call room service. Location is great. Beds are comfortable. But it's a tacky hotel. What decent hotel expects a guest to pay for wifi in the 21st century and won't let you take food from the dinning room to eat in your room. They squeeze you for every extra cent they can, even asking for deposits on things that should have come with the room in the first place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
I'm pleased you enjoyed some aspects and regret the ones you did not. We have many luxuries to offer and you’re welcome to enjoy them on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    238
    89
    52
    32
See reviews for
419
263
57
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay and loved the location.
We were especially happy with the service we received from Monir and the reception desk staff.
They gave us great touring ideas and Manuell was very helpful with some ticket issues we had.
We will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your compliments. Munir and Manuel do exemplify the superb service which is our priority and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

i've stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago in a Superior room that was not as superior as i expected. the room is very small. so small that after the security staff member opened the connecting door for us- we had no room to place the couch!
however, the hotel has a great location and an amazing spa.

i was dissapointed with breakfast - when i've had an early breakfast it was great, but the next days when i came later, at around 09:30 the pastries were all dried out and not fresh. when i complained i was tols that it was baked much earlier and there is nothing they can do at this time.

also, some staff members are much nicer then the others. When i came to check-in i've had to wait for a few minutes for a bell-boy to take my luggage while the security guy at the front keeps asking them to send a boy over. nothing happend so i took it in by myself. nevertheless, the doorman did not bother getting up and open the door for me. the secutity guy noticed it the last minute and helped me. when i told the doorman it was rude of him, he answerd that he is not a young person and that he cannot get up from his chair for every single guest. my question is - WHY HIRE HOM FOR A JOB THAT HE IS NOT CAPABLE TO DO?!
eventually, i preffered tipping the security team rather then the concierge.

Also - WiFi is with extra charge. this is 2012, wake up! i just went to the Mammila mall, paid for a cup of coffee and got free WiFi. much better.

in coclusion,
nice hotel - could be much better with some thaught. (and some of your staff might need a wake up call).

[sorry for my bad english]

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I’m so sorry we fell short of the outstanding service we strive for, and hope you choose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in our hospitality. Thank you for your detailed review, we much appreciate guest feedback and are considering your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from another stay at the David Citadel Hotel in Jerusalem. This is the best place to stay in the city. Location is perfect, an easy walk to the old city and restaurants. Our family has been there at least once a year for the past 10 years. The best is the welcome we get each time from the front office staff. Munir Salmon and his staff make us feel as if we are returning home each time we arrive. During our stay they help to make sure that all our needs are taken care of. Looking forward to visiting them again next March.

Room Tip: the alcove deluxe room is worth the upgrade. very spiritual view of the old city, especially at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to provide a home-away-from-home for our returning guests and the reward of such warm words is well worth the effort. We too are looking forward to March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ata the waiter was a great help. every meal he was there working as hard as he could to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. the hotel was a great and so were all the amenities but my family looked forward every morning to go down stairs for breakfast which in this interesting city was always the most relaxing and enjoyable part of the day. i advise if you plan on staying in the david citadel to locate Ata and request his service. he made what is usually a stressful trip with the young kids into a trip that we will never forget.
Mr. Sasson

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Sasson,
How nice to hear you enjoyed a wonderful experience! We make every effort to provide especially memorable visits for families and are richly rewarded by your warm words and compliments for Ata. We do look forward to welcoming you back for many more splendid vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my family stayed one night in the hotel. We were 4 persons, two adults, a baby 1.7 years old and a kid of 4.5 years old and we ordered mini-suite room, located on the executive floor, the 9th floor.
First of all we found out, that there is no water heater in the room... so we called reception and told them we have a baby girl and we need an access to hot water, so she can eat her food...Guess what? Reception explained us that it's not possible and if we need a hot water we can call room service... What can i say? It's sounds like a joke, i mean imagine your baby cry at 04:00am, since she is hungry, then parents suppose to call room service and order a warm water for her. Reception also told us a good news " you will get warm water for free, just tip the waiter" :) may be hotel expects, the baby to give tip, i don't know..
I don't know if it's "normal" in Israel to stay in the hotel that doesn't offer a water heater in the room, personally i never experienced that in any European hotel i stayed, but hey...for the money you pay for a mini suite room, you might expect it to be over "normal".
Another weird thing, was the fact that baby bed was so small, that it's almost impossible to put asleep there 1 year old child... may be 1 month child - it's fine. Finally, our baby slept with us in our bed, since she coudn't fit in the baby bed that hotel offered.
We complained when we left the hotel, this time when we almost left, we got an answer that it's possible to have water heater in the room. Not sure what this "possible" means, may be they want money for this, anyway it's not what they told us when we entered hotel for the 1st time.. I want to say, that i am not sure what happens in other hotels in the area, may be it's worse or better.
Now about the hotel itself. It's located in very nice location, but 5-10 minutes by walk there are also nice hotels, which are twice cheaper. It seems to me that all hotels in Jerusalem are so-so. After all, people there not suppose to stay in hotels too much, i mean you have so many day-evening-late evening attractions, that it's probably normal to spend small amount of time in the hotels. The David Citadel is certainly good hotel, perfect location, good rooms and good food... but don't expect that if you pay much, you will get super class hotel - because you don't. The carpet in our suite room was very old and not so cleaned well, the mattress of my kid was in terrible terrible condition, like the hotel found it on some garbage, a lamp was not working, TV was not working and we asked room service to fix it...i can continue with it, but i'll stop at this point.
You want good hotel, best located - go for this one, you will pay a lot and will probably get the best value relative to Jerusalem. But you have also many other twice cheaper choices for hotels, which are only 5-10 minutes away from this hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in this area, so you don't depend on the food/breakfast that hotels provide.
Having said all this, i still tend to advice to stay in the hotel, but i gave 2 stars so the hotel will understand that family with babies need special requirements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I do wish I had met you during your stay! Everything you mention would have been easily and quickly resolved; we certainly have superb accommodations for families with young children. I look forward to welcoming you back for the wonderful family experience we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel was in a great location and the room was nice. We enjoyed breakfast looking over at the old city every morning. Also the restaurant in the hotel was very good. The only complaint was the desk staff were not overly helpful but certainly met minimum requirements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review; I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon and provide our full outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David Hamelekh Street, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tradimax, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Citadel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.