We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to like it...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here with a tour group. Lobby was beautiful. Rooms were well decorated, but not very clean. Customer service was unresponsive. Food was acceptable, but there was very little variety in the 4 days we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
15
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here in the Spring of 2011 and were grateful for the brilliant customer service. We were on a tour with our Church and the hotel staff accommodated our needs in the dining room and with conference facilities. Jerusalem can be confusing to those of us used to straight streets that run north- south and east-west but I know people in our group were able to walk to the Jaffa gate easily. The rooms were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel and gladly return

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I just came back from a four night stay at the Ambassador Hotel. If I had booked the hotel myself, I probably wouldn't have booked this one, but I am very glad I stayed there and would do it again. It is in East Jerusalem, the palestinian side, which puts many people off. It is absolutely safe and in a very upscale area. In my estimation, the east Jerusalem hotels and restaurants offer much greater value and are far more appreciative of your business than in West Jerusalem.
The room had two very comfortable twin beds with white clean duvet covers. It was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The service couldn't have been better. And the food!! the best mid eastern food I've had anywhere probably 30-40% cheaper (and with no attitude) than in West Jerusalem. It's about a 20 minute downhill walk to Damascus Gate and a ten minute taxi ride to the top of Mt. of Olives (technically is is on part of Mt. Scopu-- the Mt of Olives).

Room Tip: I didn't make any special request
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Reasonable hotel marred by too many noisy tour groups and chaotic service. The staff can't cope when the hordes invade for breakfast. Located about 20 minutes walk from the Old City and handy for a few good local restaurants. The rooms are clean and tidy, not hugely well equipped but comfortable. Food is pretty good and the Palestinian Taybeh beer on draft is excellent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The ambassador is in a really quiet residential area of east Jerusalem, full of embassies and nice houses. It is a 10/15 minute walk from the old city, we wallked there at night and felt really safe in spite what some israeli biased guides tell you.
The room was very spacious, it a very nice view over the city. Breakfast which was included was really abundant with a great selection of fruits, cold cuts, bread, eggs etc.
The rate was really reasonable for what it is and the staff really tries hard to please.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed at the Ambassador with my boyfriend in the summer of 2008. I found the hotel to be ideally located and very clean. I had a balcony room (large balcony) and loved the restaurant downstairs, which had a beautiful breakfast every morning and a lovely garden area.

Additionally, the hotel is very close to the Old City and a simple bus ride or cheap taxi will get you there quickly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious, service is good and the food served in the restaurant is worth a try. In spite of what they claim on the website, you will need to walk for at least 25/30 minutes to reach the old city, so you end up taking a cab or the bus.
From an European perspective, expect a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.