We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home in Jerusalem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alcazar Hotel to your Saves list
Alcazar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Almutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 20534, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Buderim, Queensland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Your home in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is my third visit to Jerusalem and the third visit to Alcazar Hotel. It keeps getting better. Nader Yunes and his team are efficient, very friendly and most helpful with all your needs, be it tours, general information or ideas for your travels. Reception is open day and night and no query is too difficult for the person attending you.
You will love the best breakfast buffet in Palestine and the kindness of all the staff, you are served cold water, tea, coffee and fruit complementary. The rooms are spacious and clean. What you will like best is the welcome, you feel that you are in home which happens to be a hotel also.
For info about buses to Bethlehem, Ramallah, Hebron, Nablus, the Dead Sea, Masada, just ask Nader or Youself, they will sort you out the best way it suits you. There is definitely no pushing for tours.
Enjoy your stay and come back!

Room Tip: there are twin rooms and double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff were all very helpful and friendly- which really made our trip. We were only on a B&B package but as it was very hot, several evenings when we got in, they brought out some refreshments such as ice cream, melon and satsumas- which was a very welcome surprise. We particularly enjoyed the time our host spent with us over breakfast or in the evenings in conversation. We used local buses to visit other towns and the staff were always helpful with advice and local knowledge. The room was very adequate and clean. The breakfasts were excellent. It was a 20 min walk into the Old City, we tended to stay out for the day. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked this hotel in a hurry just as I was about to leave Tel Aviv and, contrary to my usual custom, chose it because it was the cheapest on offer! Without GPS in the car it would have been just about impossible to find! However, find it we did, and we were all glad to have done so because the welcome offered by the staff here was without doubt the warmest we received in the whole of Israel/Palestine. The gentleman in charge of reception is exceptionally helpful, cultured and friendly. In fact, we surmised that he must be an erudite professor of philosophy at the nearby university, so charming and cultured was his demeanour. He also speaks impeccable English and, while his colleagues don't, they more than make up for this in their generally approachable attitude and eternal willingness to help guests with a smile.
As other travellers have noted, the breakfast here is astounding! I don't think I've ever seen so much variety of fresh produce at a buffet in my life. One can sit and eat and eat for hours. Tea and coffee are available free of charge all day long, fresh fruit and bottled water are provided in the room, and the gentleman at reception will assist you to order food (meat, salads, soft drinks) on the telephone from a local restaurant with a delivery service for lunch and dinner. It is then perfectly ok to sit and eat this in the hotel dining room or large seating areas on each floor.
It is true, as other travellers also note, that the hotel is a bit run down. The rooms are in pretty dire need of a coat of paint and some new furniture, and the bathrooms certainly need attention with some sort of blast cleaner.
However, on balance, weighing the old-fashioned and somewhat tatty rooms against the incredibly friendly and helpful service and the unparalleled breakfast -- not to mention the excellent price -- I would recommend this place (although not if you are a very picky person!).
The location is also very convenient -- a short walk to the Old City. The neighbourhood is not Jerusalem's richest, but it seemed very safe: we walked around at day and at night and no harm befell us at all. We also should not forget the figures that suggest that average per capita Arab income in Israel/Palestine is less than 10% that of average income for Jewish Israelis; it's hardly likely, then, that this would be a 'rich' area, but one gets the impression that it's just a totally regular neighbourhood of the city where people go about their life just as anybody would do. Indeed, visitors may consider it a privilege to stay here and to witness another side of the country from the majority one. I certainly did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The person at the reception is just superb, I Think his name is Tony and he is very very co-operative. We had booked for three days but didn't like the rooms , so we were transferred to another Hotel Seven Arches by the Guy at the reception. Super Beauvoir.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is very aged and in desparate need of renovation but the staff were absolutely fantastic; friendly, helpful and keen to help out where they can.

The location within the city is excellent as it's not far to the Old City but the actual streets that it is on and near are not so pleasant. Don't let this area be your judge of Jerusalem though as it is a wonderful city

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have been in Alcazar hotel twice and there are 2 things that stand out about this hotel:
the customer service and the breakfast! Staff is super friendly, very helpful and they always go out of their way to make your stay in Jerusalem memorable.

I must admit the rooms desperately need renovating but the good service make up for lack of amenities. Breakfast is rich with loads of options (I have stayed in better hotels but personally breakfast here is the best!). 24/7 coffee and tea. The only other thing is that there are no nearby restaurants so you need to walk about 15 mins to get something to eat.

The lobby has been refurbished and it looks very nice and impressive. wifi access is super fast
It is about 15 - 20 mins from Damascus gate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Selected this hotel based on value, which I found to be very good. The rooms are a little shabby but clean, the breakfast was very good, and there was fast WiFi in my room which was great. It's about a 15 minute walk to the old city Damascus gate. There aren't any convenient places to eat close by which means you have get out and walk 15 or 20 minutes to get something.
There was a small patio room next to my room with view and comfortable chairs.
Overall, I would stay here again?

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Address: 6, Almutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 20534, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcazar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.