We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services make up for the lack of amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alcazar Hotel to your Saves list
Alcazar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Almutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 20534, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent services make up for the lack of amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have been there last week for two nights.
Pro:
hotel reception very pleasant adn impressive.
very very freindly and heldpful staff who provided us complimentary fruit, water, coffee and tea on our arrival
provided lots of info on how to move around the cuty and the country
breakfast was very varied and comprehensive
if you arrive from Jordan border, the shuttle bus from the Allenby bridge can leave at the hotel's doorstep

Cons:
not located in the best area of Jerusalem though we didnt have any sort of problem. Basically you have to add up 30 shekel to get a taxi to DAmascus Gate each time.
rooms are quite dated and tired. needs renovations.

in conclusion for the price we paid we believe it is a good choice.

Room Tip: high floors rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stopped in this hotel a week ago. Best points - just 15 min away from Damascus gate, super friendly and helpful staff (thanks for pomegranates, my kids enjoyed them!), lovely filling breakfast, unlimited coffee and tea. The only bad point really is that the hotel is dated and tired, and the beds could be better. In general, we spent days sightseeing and on excursions, so it was really just the place to sleep. Tip - ask for a room at the rear, as can be bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room, they are quieter. If your excursion is early (breakfast served from 8am) they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Recanati, Italy
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent here 5 days during christmass time. It is 10 minutes away from the old city(walking) and it has no bar or restaurant nearby. Th room was poor and definitly far from normal cleaning standards. I got towel changed once in a week.The staff was really great though always kind and helpful, breakfast also was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel is a bit run down and in need of renovation, but that is more than reflected in the price. That being said, it was well run and the staff does try their best to ensure you feel at home. For example, I was sold a phone card at the front desk because I had to call someone in the West Bank, but could not get through with the card they sold me. They not only bought back the card, but managed to get through on a private cell phone and did not charge me. I realize that they may have only saved me a few bucks, but it is extra service like that (and there are other examples) that really made me feel like my well-being was important to them.
One thing you should know though is that most people in the neighborhood only speak Arabic, although some speak English. The neighborhood itself is not very fancy but I never felt in danger, even at night. Jerusalem is a small city and you can do a lot of walking--I walked from Yad Vashem to this hotel--a bit of a hike, but certainly doable.
If I ever go back to Jerusalem, and it is a beautiful city so I hope I make it someday, this is the only hotel I will consider--even if the rooms look like they have not been redone since 1960, the staff and their welcoming attitude more than make up for that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We selected this hotel because we wanted to stay in the Arab section of Jerusalem. The hotel is old, decor is definitely early Salvation Army. But the staff is friendly and helpful and everything is very clean. Hotel is in a residential area, no restaurants or shops within 10 or 15 min walk, so not the most convenient location. Free coffee, tea and fruit available in the lobby, generous breakfast. And the price is right!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Based on TripAdvisor recommendations my wife and I stayed at Alcazar for 4 nights. Here's what you need to know:

1. It's a great price for Jerusalem. At least $20 lower than comparable hotels.
2. It is a little run down, but it is clean and totally adequate where it counts. For a young couple on a budget, it was perfect. We didn't spend much time in our room, but were happy and comfortable while we were there. Rooms are small-ish. Adequate storage space. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was dated, but everything worked. Other rooms have upgraded bathrooms.
3. The staff are all very helpful and kind.
4. The location is good in the sense that it's quite close to the old city with easy access to other sites by car. The neighborhood can look a little rugged if you're not used to East Jerusalem. We felt perfectly safe at all hours. Being a pedestrian is a little scary in that area (narrow crowded streets) but that's just the nature of the city.
5. Internet in the lobby (although it was not working one of the days we were there).
6. The breakfast is decent. They also will serve soup in the evening sometimes.
7. Bring earplugs. The call to prayer can be heard from several close mosques starting at about 4:30 A.M.

We would stay there again without hesitation and have recommended it to friends who agreed that it's a great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Revivim, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We've stayed here a couple of times, once in 2009 and once in 2010. The service was excellent, the staff polite, price was good, breakfast was very good! It's a bit of a walk from the Old City but a good way to keep you fit (I believe there are also busses...)! Rooms are a bit tired, could do with some refurbishing, but for the price... no complaints!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Address: 6, Almutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 20534, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcazar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.