We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, good breakfast, and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Addar Hotel to your Saves list
Addar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 St. George's Street, Jerusalem 97200 , Israel (Christian Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spacious, good breakfast, and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Israel for a holiday in mid July 2014, but we felt safe throughout our stay at Addar Hotel. Clean and spacious room. Though they allocated us to a one bed apartment; not sure if this is the case with all the rooms at this hotel or if we were just lucky, but definitely value for money. Friendly staff who advised us on where we could go, and how to get to the old town (not far), and generally reassured us anxious foreigners.
To get to old town, take a right when leaving the hotel, and walk for about 15 mins pretty much in a straight line, you should soon see Damascus gate. Generally was a safe area during day time, though I can`t speak for night time, as we made sure to be back at the hotel before the hour got too late.

The breakfast was very nice. Not sure if that is the standard in Israel/Jerusalem, but being used to the old continental breakfast (aka stale croissant and a packet of jam), this breakfast was good. A good amount of choice, though no massive buffet by any means. Eggs, something resembling tzatziki, hummus, pita, breads, cereal, juice, etc.

I would recommend Addar Hotel, value for money and professional. They can also arrange transport to the airport, which was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    50
    11
    21
See reviews for
42
66
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel classified as 3 stars but its mote of 3 stars. Its more of a family hotel. Staff is the biggest positive especially Mr. Abraham Shemmessian the front office manager who acted as the glue for this hotel. He was simply outstanding. His friendliness and wealth of experience and knowledge of Jerusalem assisted us immensely in whatever we wanted to do. Location is great, only a walking distance to the heart of Jerusalem and its major tourist attractions.The room itself was spacious with a beautiful balcony and nice view. House keeping kept the room clean and tidy. Towels were always clean. The shower area is small due to the narrow bath tub. Rooms still using the old style conventional key unlike the industry keyless access (cards). Breakfast was moderate and adequate but not lavish.
Addar was the cheapest hotel in the area and we enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and to stay there at our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in an excellent location, 10-15 min walk from the Damascus gate and all of the main historical highlights. Close to a light rail stop (~3 min walk).

Had a deluxe room with balcony and was pleased that the room was huge and quiet. The bed comforter wasn't big enough to cover the whole queen mattress. Wifi was so-so (~1 MB/sec) and cut out one of the days.

Things to improve is breakfast. If you don't arrive before 8:30am, the free breakfast is ransacked by all the tourists getting an early start and they didn't keep it replenished for latecomers. Otherwise it was pretty decent.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived to the hotel at the reception we have to wait for the manager to finish talking by phone... about 5 minutes!! the we have a room without air conditionning (it did not functionned). Then we have no INTERNET nor in the room neither in the lobby. They lyed us telling that the interbet were going to be repaire in 30 minutes (but never happened), the they told us that the maintenance guy for the aa will solve the problem before 0500PM.... never happened. We finnaly got a lower cathegory room but with the aa working properly. The breafast was poor. SABENA (Such a Bad Experience Never Again!).

Room Tip: Do not take the room #55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is well located - a 5-10 minute walk from the Damascus Gate of the Old City and near to the tram line. The neighborhood is a little dark and not ideal for strolling after dark. Nearby are ATMs, restaurants, and convenience stores.

The lobby presents a very quaint and welcoming image in a British imperial style. Downstairs is access to a computer, telephone, and a dining room where complimentary breakfast buffet is served. There is also an elevator which came in handy to access the upper floors. The breakfast buffet was quite basic, but the coffee was fresh.

The room I had was spacious, with a nice balcony and big bathroom. There was AC in the room that was loud at night, but effective. The room had some damage to the walls where light fixtures used to be located, but had since been removed. Everything was clean, but the room seemed like it had seen a lot of guests.

My two biggest complaints were with the reservation system and the WiFi. I arrived after midnight and the hotel attendant had no record of my reservation. I had to call the company through which I booked to have them straighten things out - luckily the attendant let me use the hotel phone to make the international call. I'm not sure if the error was with the booking company or with the hotel.

WiFi did not work with either my phone (Android) or my laptop (Windows PC) despite numerous attempts. I ended up buying a cheap (60 NIS) SIM card with 3gb of data in town.

Overall the stay was pleasant with a few hiccups. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and looking for someplace clean and safe, but willing to forego some amenities.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expensive for the only fair service. Our room was small and hot. AC did not work and the paid-for "balcony"opened onto ground floor so we couldn't leave it open for air. Asked to change rooms which they did, under protest of being "fully booked." Not sure we believed it. WiFi never did work on my new tablet which they blamed on the tablet but it is fine everywhere else. Trouble getting our phones connected with weak service and everyday there were people at the desk asking for help with their phones. The suite we were moved to (at no additional cost) had ants and the television needed to be serviced. Reading light at bedside hung from wires. The local people we met said they never recommend Addar. Save yourself the trouble at stay at St. George's Guest House just one block away. It is marvelous.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I could not sleep the last three nights, from april 23 to april 26, due to the hotel hosted young footballer which participated in Jerusalem Youth Football tournament. They roamed in the corridor shouting and banging all night every night during these 3 nights and the receptionist couldn´t do anything to control the situation. And the reception manager,Mr. Ibrahim, was very unattentive and rude. I requested the receptionist to convey my complaints and a demand for compesation to the hotel manager for no avail. Instead he advised me to write to tripadvisor. What shall I do?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Addar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addar Hotel

Address: 10 St. George's Street, Jerusalem 97200 , Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Addar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Addar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addar Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.