We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre facilities, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Little House in Bakah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A Little House in Bakah to your Saves list
A Little House in Bakah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Yehuda St., Jerusalem 93627, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre facilities, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel worked well for us because we were visiting family in the area, but the hotel is nothing special. We chose to stay in an inexpensive room in the 3/4 basement, which influences our rating. (We did not observe rooms on other floors.) The room could definitely have used remodeling and more maintenance. The faux wood flooring was squishy and the bathroom door didn't stay open. there was no bureau for storing clothing. The wall-mounted TV box stuck out at head height. The bed was OK but not particularly comfortable. We could hear the clanking of dishes from the kitchen from our room. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant, however, was helpful and friendly. Parking is free on a narrow neighboring street or in a nearby synagogue's parking lot (move your car if you want to use it on Shabbat!). The included breakfast had set choices and plentiful servings but not much variety. (This is a not an Israeli buffet breakfast.) This location is walking distance from cafes on Bet Lechem and Emek Refaim, which are popular eating streets with American ex-pats and the Rakevet (a new converted railway walking path), and is down the hill from the Tayelet promenade with its spectacular views of Jerusalem!

Room Tip: We don't recommend the basement although it was isolated from road noise by an enclosed garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Guest Relations Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Chilmont,
Thank you for writing us your feedback.
We are glad you found our staff to be welcoming and nice :).
Regarding the rooms we are currently renovating them and so i am sure by the next time should you choose to return they will be much nicer.
In any case we do recommend taking the regular rooms rather than the economy as they are nicer and the difference in price is not to much.
Also regarding the variety in the breakfast, i am happy to inform that you can also use our vouchers in 2 other coffee shops close to us so you should have a lot of options.
Thanks again and we do hope to see you again,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    87
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
63
60
39
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is small. staff very friendly; they keep the rooms perfectly clean. It is convenient to buses; restaraunts are 15-20 mn walk to German district. Four good choices for breakfast. Price was perfect for our group. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shalom Paul :)
Thank you for leaving a review.
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient.
You are more than welcome to come stay with us again.
Best regards,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to Jerusalem to visit our daughter, and lived at Little House in Bakah for two weeks. This is a delightful hotel in a great location in the city. We walked to Frist Station, Emek Refaim restaurants with ease, and often. Meals at Polly's next door were always yummy and pleasant, as were the alternate breakfasts at Bagel Bite down the street. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff were generally warm and helpful. The outdoor seating was pleasant, although too often used as a refuge for smokers day and night.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shalom Allison :)
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your visit to Israel and the stay at our hotel.
We're sorry to hear you were bothered by smokers. Did you try the back garden? It's usually a bit more secluded.
In any case, it was lovely having you here and we do hope to see you again soon,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed to attend a family wedding at nearby Olmaya on the Haas Promenade, and my boyfriend's sister-in-law booked us a room in this Little House for the night before. What a lovely venue, beautifully restored and updated, and situated near both the Promenade (spectacular views of the Old City) and the picturesque "New" Old Train Station (reminiscent of NYC's High Line park, with wonderful restaurants like the Colony, named for the German colony that was once here). A half hour walk brought us to the Montefiore windmill, the historic King David Hotel, and the main shopping "drag" in the "New" Old City with its shops and light rail. But back to the Little House on Bakah: Friendly super-accommodating staff, and yes, the restaurant (called Polly - I swear its logo features Orson Welles in "Touch of Evil" but they say no) serves an amazing breakfast: I was expecting maybe coffee and a roll and instead was served with my free voucher a full order of shakshuka and salad! Again, I am sorry we did not book a second night -- but we will be back.

Room Tip: First floor front was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shalom Carolyn :)
Firstly, Mazal Tov! I hope you enjoyed the wedding.
We are glad to hear you liked the hotel and found the location comfortable.
You are always welcome to come back,
We hope to see you here again soon,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very pleasant hotel in lovely old building. Wonderful breakfast, good location; a short walk from First Station - a converted railway station which has several classy bars and bistros.
Staff were friendly and helpful and there was a computer on the first floor which was useful.
Nice seating area outside, though back garden looked a bit neglected.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shalom :)
Thank you for leaving a review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient.
Since we are currently renovating parts of the hotel the back garden does get put aside but hopefully next time you come we will be done renovating :)
We hope to see you here again soon,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I very much enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the location easily accessible by public transit. The breakfasts were very good, and eating outside when the weather was warm was a plus (except when smokers were present, which was not often.)

Room Tip: I chose a room that was described as small and without windows because of the price. In reality the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shalom StephenJay :)
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time you come visiting be sure to check out our little garden, it's more secluded and very comfortable.
We hope to see you again,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Our room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. This is not a luxury hotel but a very comfortable place to stay. The air conditioner worked well once we figured it out with the help of the desk attendant. The staff was very helpful.
It was lovely to be able to relax outside in the small garden area.
We enjoyed an excellent meal in the Polly Trattoria which is the restaurant attached to the hotel. Although we did not have time for the full breakfast, they cheerfully packed up some freshly baked rolls for us to take with us

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side in keeping with the Israeli norm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oded N, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Shalom momoboys_12 :)
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
The air-conditioner remote is a bit tricky but I'm glad it all worked out :)
We hope to see you here again soon,
Esther Friedman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Address: 1 Yehuda St., Jerusalem 93627, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 33 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Little House in Bakah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.