We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at A Little House in Bakah” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Little House in Bakah

Save Saved
You added A Little House in Bakah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Yehuda St., Jerusalem 93627, Israel (Bak'a)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“First stay at A Little House in Bakah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found the Hotel to be clean, the staff was courteous, and we had a pleasant stay. We found shopping, restaurants and synagogues within a couple of blocks. We would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
49
57
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from 7 days and the place perfect for us.The staff (Arvi and Adva)were extremely helpful the restaurant had variety and tasty food.We caught the buses everywhere with the help of the staff giving us the correct bus numbers,and the restaurants and shops around the area were wonderful.We often walked to the Old City which took about 25 minutes and the scenery was awesome.We had 2nd floor with balcony overlooking the garden a bit noisy with all the cars blowing their horns but we didn't care.We would definitely stay here again especially the price was amazing.Rose and Renato

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel in the old german colony area of Jerusalem. Near many attractions. Charming, tidy, clean hotel with balcony in our room. Service & attitude of staff impeccable. Made arrangements for box breakfast for our 6:00 am departure. At price of $150/night a tremendous value. Restaurant next door excellent. Will definitely repeat!

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Set in a beautiful arab mansion this well located little gem is affordable, friendly and clean.

Well located in the charming southern neighbourhood of Bakah, a stone throws from Betlehem, and right on the public transport lines to the new city and the old.

Friendly staff make this hotel a real pleasure to be in

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have some views, and some have little verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is great value for money...the building is beautiful on the outside. Inside I stayed in the cheaper ground level rooms, which are small and a bit dark, but have everything that you need and are clean. The bed is comfortable. But don't even bother with the TV, that is very old...however you don't go to Jerusalem to watch TV in your hotel room, do you?
The location is great, with easy bus links to the city centre that take you there in 15 minutes, and walking distance from lovely Baka and Emek Refaiim areas. In short, highly recommended for a budget trip.

Room Tip: If you can, I guess the best room are on the top levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I came for three days of business meetings and found great comfort and a feeling of 'home' in this sweet hotel. The little tea/coffee corner that is available 24 hours, the fantastic breakfast at the Polly restaurant (included in price) and the clean and well designed room with high ceiling in the beautiful building made my stay just perfect.
The staff is always available and was very helpful accommodating all my needs. My room was facing the back side of the building and was very quiet.
Always found a parking spot on the hotel's street and didn't need to use the parking lot.
Warmly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely old building. My daughter chose to stay with us, and the additional charge was small and well worth it for a roll-in bed and an additional breakfast. Breakfasts in the little restaurant next door are wonderful!

We had a week of the worst weather in more than two decades. Rain and high winds made some tourist destinations off-limits, so we spent more time in the room than usual, and it's not that great a room for that purpose. The winds made something in the vents clang constantly, all night long, and it was cold and damp. Still, it was clean, had free internet and cable and the heat worked, so not much to complain about.

Walking distance of the old city and a straight shot for those of us who tend to get lost. A great bakery around the corner and good restaurant (Colony) a few blocks away. All-in-all, I would stay there again and I would recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Address: 1 Yehuda St., Jerusalem 93627, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Bak'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 35 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Little House in Bakah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.