We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class. It took the hassle out of...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The King David to your Saves list
The King David
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
13% Discount for 7 Nights
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
“World class. It took the hassle out of...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010 via mobile

World class. It took the hassle out of Jerusalem . Concierge so helpful it saved our time so we could spend it on the wonder that is Jerusalem. Loved the hotel history channel and felt the pride this hotel takes in it's story and the care it took in us. Location easy walking distance to old city and new. View of old city beautiful. We loved the pool after a dusty hot day out. Truly a professional outfit with heart. Definitely come back home to the David .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    130
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
245
293
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Warm staff; classy surroundings; great location;
It's an historic hotel that combines the sweep of history from its windows and balconies and yet roots you in the bustle of modern Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

This was our third stay at the King David. I organize a group every year or so and insist upon this hotel. There is no place like it. The lobby is welcoming, the food amazing, the service is outstanding and the staff is more than hospitable. I have had 2 wonderful rooms and an average one. I will say that wonderful is definately better, but just staying in the hotel is good enough for me. There are other 5* hotels in Jerusalem, but I cannot imagine any being better than this historical and charming hotel. I would suggest to anyone coming to Israel that their trip would not be complete without the King David Experience..near the Old City, near restaurants and shops..what could be better!!! I am already planning the next trip and I cannot wait to arrive at the King David...my dream hotel. I often say that if I could, I would live in this lovely place. Great Shabbat dinner and amazing buffet breakfasts keep everyone happy. All around, the best hotel experience imagineable. Everyone should treat themselves to a stay here, there will be no regrets.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The King David is hands down the best hotel in Jerusalem. The hotel's superb staff, excellent location, beautiful rooms, and unique history make a stay here truly unforgettable (...almost as unforgettable as the hotel's amazing breakfast buffet...). From the moment we entered the lobby until the moment we left we were treated like family, and we cannot wait to return.

Try to get a room with a view of the old city if you can, and make sure to try the hotel's grill room, La Regence - it is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The King David is a gorgeous hotel in a fabulous location. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a garden terrace room. The room had been refurbished and was beautifully decorated, large and with a very comfortable sitting area. The bathroom was very large with 2 sinks and very well appointed. The real treat was the terrace which was very large with 2 chaise lounges and a table and chairs for dining, plus very pretty plantings. The view was sensational looking out at the Old City and over the swimming pool area and gardens of the hotel.

The dining room is very elegant, and the casual outdoor- terrace restaurant was great for lunch. The swimming pool area is exquisite and a lovely place to relax for a few hours between all the sight seeing.

The staff was professional and wonderful--especially the concierges. Housekeeping was also very good--the room was always immaculate. Plus , every day fresh fruit or small cakes were left in our room.

I can not wait to return and this is the only place I would want to stay. One thing to inquire about is that as of our trip, not all the rooms had been remodeled. So, be sure to reserve a new room upon booking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Thank you for the outstanding warm and grecious hospitality.
As Jerusalemites who currently do not reside in Jerusalem, and who often come here with distinguished Italian leaders and friends, we could not have thought of a better hotel that could have shown the most beautiful face of Israel in the most beautiful place in Israel, as the King David Hotel does.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in the King David and thoroughly enjoyed our few days there. Our view was facing the YMCA across the street. The lobby was always busy. Loved looking at all the signatures of famous people on the floor tiles. The concierge was helpful when needed. Breakfast is a huge deal. We sat poolside one afternoon...lovely setting. Had a delicious dinner one evening downstairs. Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.