We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I would Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The King David to your Saves list
The King David
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel (Yemin Moshe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“The only place I would Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a picky shopper with my hotels and sometimes will pay three star and sometimes 5+ depending on where I am. Three people had recommended the King David as the only place to stay in Jerusalem so we decided to pony up the $$$ and go ahead. Great choice!

When we arrived, they had our bags organized in 3 minutes. Check in was friendly and effortless. We had booked old city top floor rooms, newly renovated, and they were beautiful. We had one communal suite and this was also lovely with the same sweeping views over Jerusalem old town. Comfy beds, a little living room area, and a lovely bathroom with great water pressure! Baggage came up in 5 minutes with a complimentary glass of wine. Everyone smiled and everyone was friendly.

The hotel is old world and has a wonderful feeling of such. It breathes history if you will. We enjoyed having evening cocktails in the bars and relaxing in the lobby. Just walking around the hotel and looking at photos etc was a fun experience.

Breakfast was VAST.....however only milk based as the hotel is kosher. I counted over 12 kinds of cheese and many dried fruits, omelettes and delicious fruit shakes. So much to choose from I was at a loss. All Delicious and fresh and service was excellent.

This hotel has a feeling about it, a warmth and kindness that pervades. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and do not hesitate to recommend it to everyone as the ONLY place to say when visiting. It is pricey but for our trip, was worth every penny.

Safe travels to all!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the old city cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    138
    62
    29
    12
See reviews for
260
318
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The breakfast buffet (including the wait staff) is out of this world, and deserves 5 stars. You will feel like royalty at breakfast. The rooms are nice, though not exceptional. The concierge was extremely disappointing. We had trouble with our itinerary - specifically, we had rented a car to travel around the rest of the country, and when we went to pick it up we were told it was a national holiday (not a holiday we have in the US, so we didn't expect it), the car rental office had closed early, and we could not get our car. We talked to the concierge at the King David, and he told us that all rental agencies would be closed for the next several days for the holiday, and that there was nothing we could do except stay at the King David or pay a driver to take us on the rest of our planned itinerary (this option would have cost us thousands of dollars). The King David arranged a driver to take us to our first stop on the Dead Sea, and when we got in the car, we explained to this wonderful man (an Israeli Arab) our situation. He immediately told us that he could get us a car, and took us to an Arab rental agency in East Jerusalem, where they provided FANTASTIC service and were able to rent us a car. I don't understand why our driver was able to get us a car (against his own interest, because he was losing the opportunity for a big fare), and the concierge at the King David could only tell us that "all rental agencies would be closed." In my opinion, it reflects an extreme closed mindedness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Athalia L,
Thank you for posting about your experiences of your recent stay with us, here at The King David hotel; it is only through guests' feedback that we can fully understand the true feelings of our valued guests.
First and foremost, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our world-famous breakfast. Our wait staff, most of whom have been loyal to the hotel for decades, always work effortlessly to pamper guests, who we feel should naturally be treated as royalty.
With regards to lesser happy incidences during your stay; we would like to assure that our guests requirements are of the utmost importance in every department, especially at concierge. Any envisaged drop in service standards on this occasion is most unusual and certainly not the levels of service we look to provide our guests. Our concierge has a list of car rental agencies, both Israeli and international chains, that they tend to work with. These agencies appear on the concierge's list because of their strict adherence to insurance policies instated in order to protect the consumer; our guests. Furthermore, these agencies offer multiple car drop-off locations throughout the country, for added convenience, as well as 24/7 roadside services in the event of a breakdown. It is regrettable that all of these companies were closed during the national holiday. We were happy to hear that you did indeed enjoy a safe journey to the Dead Sea.
While a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, we have all learnt from this incident and have adapted policies in order to incorporate this recommendation should the need arise in the future.
Moreover, any disappointment with your room is most regretful and we'd certainly like the opportunity of treating you as the royalty you deserve in the whole hotel on your next stay, as well as a room that exceeds your expectations.

With best regards,
Joshua Merl
Guest Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As part of a tour, we were relocated to the beautiful, historic King David for 4 nights, as a result of our scheduled hotel (same chain) being overbooked.

I had a New City-facing room on the 6th floor and, even though it's considered to be a lower room category, it was lovely, The view was of the beautiful YMCA building, right opposite. This proved to be our dining venue on several evenings too ... excellent food, not cheap but then nowhere is in Israel! After a long day's sight-seeing, it made for a relaxed venue, rather than the elegant formality of the hotel.

The bed was huge and comfortable. The room had a free mini bar (soft drinks). Excellent bathroom ... large, deep bath, excellent walk-in shower, heated towel rail, TV screen embedded in the over-sink mirror, BUT when viewed from the bath, ie well below eye-level, the picture is distorted!
No iron and board, but on request it arrived in minutes and remained for the duration.
Noise disturbance ... the hotel is on a busy road and I found the traffic a problem even with the window shut.

As per my review of the Dan Pan in Tel Aviv, staff attitude/manner also varied at the KIng David. Reception staff were polite, pleasant and helpful, particularly very patient with some WiFi difficulties I encountered. However, some of the dining room waiters were brusque and arrogant. One made a drama out of taking my omelette order ,,, and it never arrived!! I reported it to the suited waiter on the door ... surprise, but no movement from leaning on his elbow, let alone an apology!
A waitress on the terrace struggled to cope with giving 5 of us 3 separate bills, and even when they arrived, there was an error!

The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. The fresh fruit and juices were especially good. The omelette, when I DID get one, was excellent! Only boiled eggs available on Shabbat.

The pool is beautiful ... clean and warm, and I had it all to myself one morning!

Overall, a lovely, world-famous hotel, avoidably let down by a small minority of its staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Want to thank the staff at The King David Hotel in Jerusalem again for making our stay better than perfect.
We had booked a top floor room with an Old City view and on check in because of our credit card (Amex Centurion) we were eligible for an upgrade. We decided that would be great as long as the view was the same. Later we were told it was the Jerusalem Suite, room 626. This is the presidential suite of which Barack Obama had recently stayed!

The suite had everything you would need if you were a head of state in Jerusalem. Two bathrooms (steam room and jacuzzi bath) a treadmill room with tv in the mirror. Amazing boardroom, kitchen, beautiful sitting room with fireplace. The list goes on and on.

The bed itself was huge and I thought it was so comfortable it was a shame we were only there one night!

The view was of the Old City and because of the bullet proof glass it was a fantastic quiet place to watch the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem.

The pool in the gardens was great, but as we were so excited to be in the suite we didn't stay long!

Room Tip: Ask for an Old City View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear John C,

On behalf of the entire Management and team here at The King David, I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your enthusiastic feedback. We were additionally impressed and grateful for your numerous amazing Instagram posts sent during your stay.
It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to upgrade you, as it is not always available, and thus enhancing your stay in this iconic landmark that much more.
We'll be looking forward to the next time to welcome you as it was a sincere pleasure having you as a guest, come back soon!

Sincerely,

Joshua D Merl
Guest Coordinator
The King David, Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel has a nice aura, but it is quite old and in need of renovation. I had problem with lights and the jaccuzi in the bathroom was not working. Besides that it was ok, the breakfast was great and hotel has nice location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. The hotel was beautiful and the room was fantastic. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area.
The 'star' tiles in the lobby area was a nice touch and liked to see what famous people have stayed previously.
Overall a very nice hotel and would love to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel again!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in a suite at the king david overlooking the old city. It may have been the most memorable view we have ever had. The room was beautiful, the pool was beautiful , and the food awesome. I can't say enough about this hotel. It was very expensive but we felt since we were only coming once , this was the way to do it. It was worth it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 631. Wow! but be prepared to mortgage your home to pay for it. If you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.