We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience of my life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The King David to your Saves list
The King David
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
13% Discount for 7 Nights
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Want to thank the staff at The King David Hotel in Jerusalem again for making our stay better than perfect.
We had booked a top floor room with an Old City view and on check in because of our credit card (Amex Centurion) we were eligible for an upgrade. We decided that would be great as long as the view was the same. Later we were told it was the Jerusalem Suite, room 626. This is the presidential suite of which Barack Obama had recently stayed!

The suite had everything you would need if you were a head of state in Jerusalem. Two bathrooms (steam room and jacuzzi bath) a treadmill room with tv in the mirror. Amazing boardroom, kitchen, beautiful sitting room with fireplace. The list goes on and on.

The bed itself was huge and I thought it was so comfortable it was a shame we were only there one night!

The view was of the Old City and because of the bullet proof glass it was a fantastic quiet place to watch the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem.

The pool in the gardens was great, but as we were so excited to be in the suite we didn't stay long!

Room Tip: Ask for an Old City View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear John C,

On behalf of the entire Management and team here at The King David, I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your enthusiastic feedback. We were additionally impressed and grateful for your numerous amazing Instagram posts sent during your stay.
It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to upgrade you, as it is not always available, and thus enhancing your stay in this iconic landmark that much more.
We'll be looking forward to the next time to welcome you as it was a sincere pleasure having you as a guest, come back soon!

Sincerely,

Joshua D Merl
Guest Coordinator
The King David, Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    130
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
245
293
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel has a nice aura, but it is quite old and in need of renovation. I had problem with lights and the jaccuzi in the bathroom was not working. Besides that it was ok, the breakfast was great and hotel has nice location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. The hotel was beautiful and the room was fantastic. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area.
The 'star' tiles in the lobby area was a nice touch and liked to see what famous people have stayed previously.
Overall a very nice hotel and would love to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel again!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in a suite at the king david overlooking the old city. It may have been the most memorable view we have ever had. The room was beautiful, the pool was beautiful , and the food awesome. I can't say enough about this hotel. It was very expensive but we felt since we were only coming once , this was the way to do it. It was worth it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 631. Wow! but be prepared to mortgage your home to pay for it. If you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This famous hotel is honestly quite old fashioned. Not only the atmosphere, but the furniture, carpets and everything aout it are old. It boasts of course all the famous names that ever stayed at the hotel. On the positive side: we got a very large and quiet room, excellent bed and good tv. The terrace in the hotel is very nice and offers a great view of the old city. Hotel is only a short walk to the old city, which is nice. For the rest of it: breakfast is extensive but does not stand comparison to other 5 star hotels in the rest of the world, restaurants nothing special, strange kitchen smell in the corridors, old furniture, dirty carpets and in urgent need of a total renovation.
For people looking for modern facilities would recommend nearby King David Citadel.

Room Tip: ask for an old city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at The King David, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed thoughts following your recent stay with us, here at The King David hotel; it is comments such as these that assist in the development of guest experience.
We're most delighted that you found the room comfortable with pampering amenities, and thank you for raising other points for more attention. It is a sincere shame that we did not manage to meet you while still in house to learn of your discontentment, as we would have liked the opportunity to better accomodate you. While a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, we have been sure to take on board your comments in a bid to enhance our offerings in your eyes for the future.
Built in the late 1920's, The King David is indeed an old hotel. With such age and stature, it brings with it much history, nostaligia, and grace, all the while striving to merge that Old World elegance with modern hospitality and charm.
It is always regretful if a guest leaves anything less than 100% satisfied and we'd hope we have another opportunity to welcome you, please be in touch with me personally so I may allocate a more modernized room that might be more in tune with your taste.
With very best regards for the time being,
Joshua Merl
Guest Coordination Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a suite on the fifth floor facing the western wall area.

The room was extremely nice with wooden floor, tv with numerous channels satelite(was able watch nba finals).

Breakfast is over the top. They everything imaginable from fresh dates, to a fresh juice bar. Will make your egg how you like it. Pancakes, french toast etc.

The pool is excellent but keep in mind jerusalem can be slightly windy and colder in the winter months.

I happened to be staying there when De Niro, Streisan , and a few kings ( Moroco, and Albania) where there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caracas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I recomend this hotel for every trip to be made to Jerusalem.
We always have a wonderful stay there.
The breakfast is excellent.
The consierge is the very best in the world.
All the staff has a culture of excellent service and atention to all the needs you can have.
Its located 10 minutes walk for the old city.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with view to the main street and the rooms with old city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.