We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The King David to your Saves list
The King David
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel (Yemin Moshe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow! I were in KD with my sister for having party in Jerusalem, and it was just excellent starting point! The bellboys and roomservice were exemplary in service, especially Muhammad, a trainee, that gave us limonade to the room, he'll have a career! At check in we were met with finest hospitality by the man at the reception, he smiled a lot and made sure we felt welcome, we were also upgraded to deluxe room, thank you KD! I am used to 5 star but this is an experience in itself, you feel indulged in the King David atmosphere. Last thing, loved the KD channel, its like watching History channel (without the boring parts)...When in Jerusalem KD is a must, already planning the next visit! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    139
    62
    29
    12
See reviews for
260
319
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The king David hotel is more than one of the worlds most prestigious hotels, the king David is a National institution.
There is so much of the worlds History in the walls ceilings & floors of the king David, it is as if you are walking thru time with world leaders & royalty.
You look at the walls you can see everyone from golda Meir to Margaret thatcher, jimmy carter, Goerge bush 1 & 2, bill & hillary clinton, steven speilberg to the dali lama.
Whether Bono, the black eyed peas or Madonna everyone who's anyone stays at the king David.
There is something magical about having breakfast in the same dining hall as Moshe Dayan did decades ago, or sleeping in the same royal suite as the president of the United States of America.
The hotel staff is as accommodating & endearing as people come.
Most of all the king David is a stones throw from the Holiest place in the world to all main religions, the wailing wall.
When in jerusalem, There is no place to stay but the king David hotel!
Made for a King & Queen, be a part of history!

Shyne
Moshe Levy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I just spent a night at the King David. The hotel is lovely, but when I sat with a colleague in the lobby and wanted to order a coffee, it took 15 minutes of waiting and a phone call to the hotel before we could get any service. Even then the waiter seemed to act as if we were bothering him. During the same visit we ate in the Garden restaurant, 3 times the waitress came back to the table as she couldn't remember what exactly was ordered. The rooms were lovely though and the hotel itself is rich in history so it's an interesting and expensive place to stay.

Room Tip: facing the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant, in the King David Hotel, was a real disappointment. The hotel has an upscale restaurant and this one, a dairy and fish restaurant, is not as fancy or as expensive but was recommended as being quite good. There is a terrace, but it was too cold to sit there the night we went for dinner. The interior dining room is OK, but lacks atmosphere. The tables and the table settings could have been anywhere. The service was friendly, but sort of clumsy and amateurish, as if everyone was new. The food was OK, but quite ordinary. In the middle of the meal a cleaning person came into the restaurant, squirted cleaning solution onto the glass doors leading to the terrace and proceeded to clean them. All in all a very ordinary meal in what is supposed to be the best hotel in Jerusalem. For a better experience nearby, try the Cinematheque.

Room Tip: Eat on the terrace if you have to go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear PrinceConsort,

We truly appreciate your focused review and constructive feedback, thank you for taking the time to share.
As noted, The Kings' Garden is a dairy restaurant, serving light meals and traditional local dishes, all day. It has become a favorite meeting place for locals and guets, boasting an exquisite view of the pool Garden and blooming rose bushes, over to the Old City walls. That being said, please be assured that your remarks have most definitely been taken on board as they were contrary to the usual high commendations we receive.
For your next visit, there is also our Gourmet restaurant "La Regence" for a more fine dining experience; It is a splendid alternative for exclusive meals and a very special classic atmosphere.
Hoping to welcome you back soon for an improved experience,

Sincerely,

Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
e-mail: maya.morav@danhotels.co.il
tel: 00972-(0)2-6208888
cell: 00972-(0)57-2218391
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a great example of a capital city hotel that has moved with the times and indeed, helped define the times- just about every visiting states-person has stayed here and the staff will regale you with stories of kissinger, Beghin etc most of the staff seemed to have been there when the hotel was built. The rooms are opulent without being trendy. The food was good for us gentiles too (despite being in the passover season) and there was an abundance of fresh local produce. The pool area is a real bonus. the only downside was that some of the guest were loud litterbugs- cant blame the hotel for that. Overnight everything was cleaned spotlessly again. Pretty handy for local wanderings. a great base for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at the King David for many years and it is truly a great property in a wonderful location. The staff are very gracious - especially the waiters who have been there forever! However, their prices have now entered the stratosphere. I am not normally surprised by high prices and i always seek the best i can get but the King David has overdone it. We had a suite that was tiny with an even tinier bathroom. So so view on a low floor. It is not one of the recently renovated suites and is looking a bit tired. So when i saw the suite i found it VERY hard to reconcile with the $1,500 a night price tag!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear MasterHarper,
Thank you for takikng the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your acknowledgement of the King David's objective advantages: graciousness of our senior staff, splendor of our historic property.
As regards to your remarks about the price; like airlines, hotels work on a demand basis and it does seem like you visited Israel in a time of high demand; the hotel was working on an overbooked status and therefore prices were at the higher end of the spectrum.
We'd certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during a lesser demanding period when hopefully the prices will be more to your expectations.
I'd be honored, should you desire, if you'd contact me directly prior to your next booking so that I may assist in accommodating you in the most suitable room for you requirements and be able to monitor your reservation personally.
Looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back,

Best Regards,
Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Maya.Morav@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in a truly luxury hotel for our trip to Jerusalem and we could not be more pleased. We only have standard rooms, but they are beautiful The decor is sumptuous and the bathroom large, with marble fittings. There is a TV in the bathroom mirror! There are complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. On arrival , we were shown to our rooms and brought a glass of wine as a welcome whilst we unpacked. There were fresh grapes and a canister of cookies. Yum, yum! Although we are in standard rooms the view is of a beautiful ancient building now used by the YMCA - so no drawback there. Can't speak highly enough about The King David and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.