We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The King David to your Saves list
The King David
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
13% Discount for 7 Nights
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
omer,Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel I know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday with a weekend in Jerusalem.The highlight of this weekend was this hotel. We knew that this hotel is the best, but we didn't know what to expect.
The room was much bigger than what we thought, the view was fantastic, the bed extremely comfortable,the facilities were on a very high level.
As we enterd the room we saw a birthday cake and a blessing card- I was mooved .
The staff were also great .
We think we'll make this a tradition on my birthday every year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are thrilled that you so enjoyed your birthday stay with us at The King David . Many of our guests stay with us to celebrate special occasions and we love surprising them with the little touches from our refined in house bakery; thank you for noticing and appreciating, it means the world to us.

We look forward to celebrating many special occasions with you of all different kinds in the future, just let us know when.

With Kindest regards,
Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    129
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
244
293
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bejucal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The King David is an integral part of Jerusalem's modern history. The hotel is located within a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa Gate entrance to the old town. The hotel is a grand affair, the hallway leading to the elevators is signed by the famous people who have stayed there and the list is extensive. Check in staff was professional and courteous. Stayed in a room with an old city view and was upgraded to one with a fantastic size balcony with a wonderful view. The room itself was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious but the shower was leaking water to the rest of the bathroom when in use. Hotel food was on the mediocre side. It's definitely worth the cost to stay here while visiting Jerusalem to experience this city in a very unique and sophisticated manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Pinguero,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at The King David, thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Whilst we're delighted that you enjoyed most of the highlights of your stay, we are apologetic that there seemed to be an issue with the shower; thank you for highlighting this, we will ensure to introduce further checks of the seals in the bathrooms.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, so you get to experience the grandeur and elegance of the King David Hotel at its best.
With thanks,

Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Israel. The King David Hotel has a magical feel to its historic setting. The hotel is grand, and the outdoor grounds are elegant and well-manicured. The rooms are a bit small and underwhelming, but the common spaces are beautiful. We enjoyed having coffee on the patio out back, and sat by the pool even though it was closed for the season. The food was not on par with the five star reputation of the property. We had dinner and lunch in the main restaurant, and both meals were expensive and unmemorable. All in all, the hotel is in a terrific location and is the perfect place to stay - just eat elsewhere; there are fantastic restaurants within walking distance!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear LadyBren85,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thorough and useful feedback; it is through comments such as these that we are able to monitor and develop our service delivery.
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time in Israel, and that you so enjoyed your stay at our special and historical hotel.
We look forward to your return to The King David when we are sure that your dining experiences will live up to the magic that you felt in the other areas of the hotel.
Should you wish, please do contact me directly prior to your next visit so that I may ensure as memorable a dining experience than everything else.

with regards,

Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
dror.danino@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the King David hotel last year, and it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

The service was fantastic the staff were great. The breakfast was the best I have ever seen. There was so much food there it was amazing, and this was just for breakfast.

It was within walking distance to the places we wanted to go to, and it was safe. We felt safe where ever we went. Including the tours to the other side of Israel.

We felt the people there were very nice and polite, and as I mentioned earlier we felt no fear. I would highly recommend Israel as a fantastic country to visit , as well as visiting all the religious sites.

We are travelling back there in December to visit the rest of Jerusalem that we did not see. As the hotel we stayed in last time is booked out we have selected a different one, and I am looking forward to staying there as well.

Room Tip: Look on there site on the Internet, the rooms are the same. All rooms are very good have everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is such a pleasure to hear that your stay with us at The King David has left you with such warm memories, and that you were so well cared for by our team. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards,
Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I traveled with a small group for a two day stay in Jerusalem and although we arrived late drinks cakes and fruit were provided for us. The bedroom was sheer luxury with double aspect windows one looking out over the city and the other with a view of the YMCA. The bedroom was a good size and the bed extremely comfortable with ample pillows provided. Plenty of wardrobes and drawers and the bathroom had fluffy big towels as well as bathrobes and slippers (lots of lovely smellies too).

Loved the feel of the place and the signatures in the marble strip in the lobby area were very interesting they range from Winston Churchill 1934 to Clinton and all the other great and the good that have stayed there.

Breakfast was extensive lots of variety and plenty to chose from the different types of warm fresh bread was a temptation too far! The food in the restaurants is very good but some of it a bit exotic for my taste but that could have been because they were catering for the group I was with and their invited guests.

The staff were polite and helpful the ambiance was to my taste I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Ms Janet C,

It was an absolute pleasure to read your kind words of such a special and memorable stay with us here at The King David Hotel.
Thank you for showing such appreciation for everything , from our very interesting history .... to the helpful service provided by our dedicated team and for giving us the opportunity to give credit where it is indeed due.
Looking forward to welcome you back,
with regards,
Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A must visit hotel for tea. Stately and historic. Rooms are very good some with beautiful views of the old city. Meals are mediocre though good breakfasts. Good location for tourists. Relaxed though formal ambience.

Room Tip: Better view = more cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear SEGooner,

Thank you for your heart-warming review.
It is a special honor for us to be acknowledged for "excellent afternoon tea" and "good breakfasts" by an English guest.
Next time you may also like to try our gourmet restaurant La Regence , as it is considered one of the best in Jerusalem.

Hoping to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Best Season's greetings,

Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

hotel is filled with elegance and charm that no other hotel in jerusalem can provide. beautiful, excellent service, and all our needs were met. the staff was helpful, although sometimes i had to wait a bit too long at the front desk for assistance. we enjoyed meals at both the restaurant and the main dining room and they were delicious and promptly provided. we love the hotel, its furnishings, its location and everything about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.