We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price/Location/Valve Good Choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Walls Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Walls Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultan Suleiman St | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 97200, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Price/Location/Valve Good Choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I spent ten nights at this hotel. When we drove up to it at night, we initially thought we had made a bad choice. You had to climb upstairs to the second story. Once we got in, however, everything changed and we felt secure and safe. The lobby was very attractive, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very cozy with a double pane window to the outside which made the room very quiet. We had a view of the walls of Jerusalem just a couple hundred feet way. They did have a lot of tour groups both Christian and Palestinian staying there also, so the one night we ate at the restaurant, it was quite noisy but the food was good and plentiful. Breakfast consisted of the same items but was ample with a varied selection of dishes and the coffee was good. Although the rooftop restaurant was not open, the weather was so mild that we would go up in the evening and enjoy a beer or some wine. It was very close to the Damascus Gate, one of the main centers of the city. Taxis and shops were always to be found.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
25
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Don't let your intitial impression of this hotel put you off. It is next to a bus station and surrounded by markets. The Hotel is well managed and the staf are very friendly and helpful. Clearly they enjoy their work and meeting guests. The public rooms, bar area restaurant etc and nice, spacious and comfortable. Our room was smallish and somewhat faded in appearance, beds a bit hard, however I understand that those on the 3rd floor have been renovated and are much nice. There is a pleasant roof top area with views of the walls and parts of jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

... that makes this hotel a first choice. Directly located at the border to the Old City near the Damascus Gate. If you plan a trip to Jerusalem including a visit of the Old City, it is highly recommended. The price is fine, the service is good, the rooms are small-sized, the beds a bit narrow (ok, this could caused by myself ;-), the breakfest is ok as well. The guys at the desk are really willing to help you and recommend or describe good restaurants nearby. Depending on the reason why I have to come back to this wonderful city, I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This Hotel is a very nice place. It is situated just outside the Jaffagate to the Old city
You walk in a few in minutes in de old city. and in 15 minutes you are at

The staff is very kindly and the hospitility is very good.
The meals were good
At the roof there is a big and nice Roofterrace with a view on the City walls and so what every night fireworks.
The rooms are clean an comfortable

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

By comparison Israel hotels generally are quite expensive. We chose this hotel for the location, and I have to say we were not disappointed. being right outside the old city. The hotel is fairly old but clean, and is located on the upper floors with only an entrance at ground floor level. There is parking but this is in a shared yard at the rear of the property. Access is fine in the evening but if you want to use your vehicle in the day then you may find your self blocked in. The staff were all very attentive and friendly,amd nothing was to much trouble for them.
The hotels offer buffet style dining. Our package included breakfast which had a lot of choices. Not my kind of food but really ok.
There is very little in the way of dining options nearby. You will have to either have a vehicle or use taxis. All in all not bad at all and yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel couldn't be in a better location. There was some some trash on the streets, but that was no problem. The staff were wonderful and helped us many times--we needed a lot of help with directions around the city. They also opened up the breakfast buffet early for us--we were leaving for the Dead Sea and we needed to get some food in us before we went. The rental car was a small issue--there is only a very small parking area behind the hotel. The staff would keep the keys and move the car for us if someone asked that it be moved. We had a great stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Location lolcation location. The Golden Walls Hotel is superbly located in ARAB EAST JERUSALEM.. The accommodation is excellent as is the food and service. The management and staff could not be more helpful. It is also convenient for travel to Bethlehem.and Galillee. No matter the problems faced by the indigenous Arabs, foreigners need have no fears. NB free use oif Internet. Oure room opened out onto a delightful Roof Garden

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Address: Sultan Suleiman St | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 97200, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Walls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.